We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gun Inn residents force you to buy drinks on a toilet stop with yound child”
Review of The Gun Inn

The Gun Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gun Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ridsdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I was travalling to keilder with my yound daughter who had a water infection and was deparate for the loo. While she used the toilet I had to buy us both drinks as recommended by the locals for use of the loo. Cost £3.50. Nuff said on that pub I think.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
5  Thank Pete186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

We have stayed at The Gunn Inn on numerous occassions and have always been made to feel part of the family. As well as being a pub with restaurant and accommodation, it is also a family home.
We always have the large family bedroom which has TV for the kids and tea and coffee making facilities and is very comfortable.
The Inn is st is such a beautifully rural position that when Liz serves you a traditional English breakfast, you look out of the picture window in the dining room and fell elavated over the gorgeous scenery.
We always feel that the pub is the centre of lots if interesting places to visit. Drive one way and Shop at the Metro in Gates head or Multiplex cinema for children or drive up toward Scotland to the beautiful town of Jedburgh. Where cafes serve an amazing Steak and Ale pie. We have had days out at the Kielder Dam and a large stone Maze. We have evn driven across to Carlisle.
Liz and Micks will always give you direction to what is currently the most interesting place locally to visit , We often get back to the pub exhausted and eat a meal from the large choice that Liz has on the menu. She will always try to accommodate. Once the chilren are in bed it is great to have a night cap and have a chat with the people from the village.
My sons are of a similar age to Lizs and have spent many happy times exploring together.
We have already rang and booked for ourselves to visit The Gunn Inn in 2010, whilst our sons are at summer camp. I am counting the weeks down to what we know will be a smashing break for us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RussellYarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed two nights at the Gun Inn. Liz, Mike and family made us really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Our bedroom was clean, bright and comfortable. Excellent food (nothing fancy, but then neither are the prices), with a stunning view across beautiful, wild Northumbria from the restaurant. The pub section has a friendly, happy atmosphere and there's a good selection of beer and malt whisky.
The Gun Inn is a short drive from Hadrian's Wall, which is a must-see. We also went to Alnwick, where the Castle Gardens are stunning. Two days wasn't enough to explore the lovely towns and villages in the area, so we'll be back to the Gun Inn soon, with friends.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruisedpilgrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ludwig3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Gun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gun Inn

Address: Ridsdale, Ridsdale NE48 2TF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Ridsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ridsdale
Price Range: £66 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gun Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Gun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing