We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped comfortable cottage with great view”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ridsdale, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart J
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well equipped comfortable cottage with great view”
Reviewed 25 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We had a lovely week at Wanney Cottage - the cottage was comfortable with plenty of space and we particularly enjoyed spending time in the sun room that overlooks the garden and a beautiful view across the valley. In fact we spent hardly any time at all in the adjoining living room.

The kitchen was very well equipped, with everything we needed for cooking and we were able to walk from the house on several days, with a footpath just outside the door and quiet roads out of the other side of the village for pushing a pushchair.

The hosts live nextdoor so were available for any queries and shared some tips on local places to visit - Kielder forest is a pleasant drive away. We were also given delicious scones, cream and jam on arrival.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you very much for your review. We are striving to make our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. It is always rewarding to learn that our guests had a good time and found everything needed. Thanks again for choosing Wanney Cottage for your holiday and we are hoping we can welcome you again sometime in the future.
Gaby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne J
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing with outstanding views .”
Reviewed 15 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Gaby and Ian are wonderful hosts making sure your stay is exactly what you would like it to be.
The Cottage is well equipped and comfortable, a real home from home.
The views from the Cottage are amazing. Lots to do in the area, Gaby and Ian can recommend lovely places to visit and explore, pubs where to dine if you wish to eat out.
Lovely, relaxing break. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2018
We are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghug
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy and warm with everything you need, sweeping wild views!”
Reviewed 9 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We spent nearly 2 weeks at Wanney Cottage during a mostly cold, damp and grey snap, and yet had a very relaxing time away from it all, with sweeping and everchanging views (depending on the amount of fog, sun, light) right to the Cheviots. Many things to visit nearby, and the roads are mostly empty and always picturesque. The cottage has everything you need, and a huge spread of scones with jam and cream was waiting for us on our first day. Gaby and her husband clearly take pride in making their guests as comfortable as possible. Highly recommended! Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your comments on your stay. We are so very pleased when our guests had a memorable time and enjoyed their stay. Gaby and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
175SueR
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb!”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Lovely cosy cottage, that had everything. Stunning views from every window and great walks from your door.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Hi Sue
Thank you very much for your review. It makes it all worthwhile when our guests enjoy their stay. Many thanks again for choosing our cottage for your holiday.
Kind regards
Gaby and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAIREN007
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views from sunny comfort”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spend a delightful week in this comfortable and really well and thoughtfully equipped cottage. Nothing was missing. It is a short distance up a rough track and therefore very quiet, with stunning views over the valley and hills, especially from the sun lounge at the rear or the back garden. Gaby and Peter could not have been more welcoming or helpful. The National Park and Hadrian's Wall are easily accessible, but we also made day trips to Cragside and the Farne islands without difficulty. No hesitation in recommending this cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vickmil
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything one could wish for in accommodation in a perfect setting.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was far down the end of a drive through a closed but not locked gate which we found out later was to keep the sheep from wandering. The location was so peaceful and beautiful we were instantly impressed. It got even better when Gaby showed us the cottage; she had made us homemade scones and there was whipped cream and jams (this was all polished off before nightfall and was delicious!!)

We enjoyed our stay in Ridsdale at the cottage very much and a big part of this was the fact we had all the comforts of home in a cute cottage in a beautiful area of Northumberland. Sitting in the back garden looking at the fields with grazing sheep and hardly a sound was amazing and we live in what we thought was a quiet village in Hertfordshire. The cottage was well kitted out with equipment and even things like loo roll and washing up liquid - the things I normally would have had to go out and buy the next day were there, Gaby is a fantastic holiday let owner she thinks of everything.

Nothing to do with review but for the car driver, the most local petrol garage is at Bellingham, but if you are watching the pennies, it is at time of writing about 143p a litre, over ten pence more than going rate of 132p - but we found another even dearer, the border riever, at Knowsgate which was asking 151p a litre!! (we passed). The best combination of price and distance was about 15 miles away and was Bishops Garage at Corbridge, or Dale Garage near Waitrose at Hexham,. (there are not that many petrol garages in the area).

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you have enjoyed your stay and were happy with the accommodation and facilities we offer. I would be delighted to welcome you again at our cottage some time in the future. Thanks again for choosing Wanney Cottage for your holiday.
Kind regards
Gaby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: there was nothing we didnt like
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
5 Aug 2013
We take pride in providing a place to stay which is comfortable and relaxing. It is great when guests have enjoyed themselves and the loveley views from our cottage over open countryside and surrounding hills.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing