We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Convenient but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The good news first. This hotel is very convenient because we use it to make visits to ISU. The accommodations are lovely. The rooms are nicely sized and comfortably furnished. All the staff members we encountered were friendly and welcoming (shout out to Elice, LaShon and Brittany). Our major complaint, though, is with the food. It just isn't very good. We ordered room service for breakfast and to be honest, with the exception of the bacon, everything tasted as if it was made from freeze-dried ingredients. There are plenty of restaurants in the area but for the rate we paid, we expected higher quality food. We also wish that the hotel would consider becoming pet-friendly. We plan on making frequent visits to our ISU student and we want to include our dog. This will now be a major factor in future plans.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We too noticed some concerns with our culinary team and we now have an entirely new management staff in the kitchen. New menus are on their way and our prior executive chef has returned from the Walnut Room at Macy's to take us back to our prior greatness. As a dog lover and owner I wish I had better news about pets, but maybe in the future full service Marriotts will make the change as a brand and we will be able to accept them.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    100
    33
    20
    8
See reviews for
102
32
16
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Location, location, location! Uptown Normal offers several restaurant and shopping options and across the street from ISU -- there's no better location for ISU parents when visiting campus. The rooms are comfortable although not overly spacious (haven't seen rooms with pullout beds, for example) -- but two queen beds is enough for most families. The lobby, pool, restaurant and fitness center are also better than many other properties in the area. The staff are always professional and polite. Parking deck is very convenient and connected to hotel. My only frustration is that the room price fluctuates by as much as $80-100 depending on when you visit so be sure to pay attention to the rate. At times it is quite high which may prohibit some from staying here. It also fills up quickly when there are popular events on campus so be sure to book early if you want to stay here for parents weekend or Homecoming!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Great picture and great review. Thank you for taking the time to review us. The big ISU weekends definitely fill us up and fluctate our price, so great advice to those looking to stay on the big weekends.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel tries to promote itself as a convention center but their provide internet service is atrocious. I've spent the last two days in one of their ballrooms and we have only been able to get half the amount done that we should have accomplished purely due to how slow the internet connection has been.

Guest room was very nice although two lights were out and one of the fire alarms kept clicking like an old clock.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremycurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response. Internet in the convention center is based on your group and we have up to 40MB available in the conference center at any given time. It sounds like you may have been trying to connect to the complimentary internet in the lobby that bleeds over a little into the convention center. I apologize for any inconvenience you may have had, make sure at the next meeting to ask the event planner if they have internet available for your group and I'm sure you will be amazed at the speed and reliability of our internet.

Sincerely,

Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

You had a chance to win a convert from Sheraton this weekend, but you blew it. I usually stay in Sheratons when I travel but decided because of location driven circumstances to stay in a Marriott this week.


You have a great property, but your organization needs a refresher course in customer satisfaction. You left me with a lot of questions about your business practices and regard for your customers.


You charge $4 for cheap Nestle water I could have purchased for pennies anywhere? You place it in the refrigerator with a small tag and even tinier price. This is pure and simple trickery.


You charge for Wi-Fi in the rooms, even though the Town of Normal has free Wi-Fi?


You don't inform your customers where to park for free and therefore they are charged $8 in a town the size of Normal. Really?


You don't honor government rates for municipal employees but you do for federal employees?


All of these concerns could have been easily rectified even after the fact, but what I have observed is what appears to be an endemic corporate culture that values the quick profit over the potential for life long loyalty.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your frustrations in the hotel. The in-room bottle water is a convenience for the guest. Our coffee shop or even the CVS next door offer bottle water as well if needed. The wi-fi is complimentary at a much greater bandwidth than the towns wi-fi which is not available in most rooms due to strength of signal. In room is at charge if you need larger bandwidth. The parking should have been pointed out at check in, my apologies if was not. The hotel does lease the space from the Town of Normal for parking as we do not have our own parking deck. Your government rate is as frustrating to us as it is to you. The legislature has not raised the State Per diem but only a $1 in the last 20 years. Hotels throughout the state, except Chicago where the per diem is more than double ours, are quickly eliminating the state rate. Your letter will be most helpful for us as we try and pass the current bill in congress for it to mirror the Federal Rate.
Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Lake Beach, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Usually don't stay at a Marriott, but this one was well worth the money. Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. I definitely will stay at this hotel again if I'm ever in Bloomington.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJ1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for letting others know about your stay with us. We take great pride in the upkeep and friendliness of our employees.

Sincerley,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Ms. Williams was great. We needed help with the Wi-Fi setup as well as the microphone her and her staff accommodate us right away. We have another conference in Bloomington we will definitely stay at the Bloomington Normal Marriott Hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
LaShone is a great asset to this hotel. She genuinely cares about every customer and loves to make sure your stay is a great one. Thank you and i look forward to seeing you during your next conference.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This is my 2nd year staying at this property. My daughter has a cheer competition near by and this is our hotel of choice. From the front desk associate to the bartender, everyone was very helpful and displayed great customer service. The bellman helped us find some local restaurants. I can not say enough about this hotel. My daughter and all her cheerleader friends had a great time in the pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carloscgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
The annual cheer group is such a fun weekend here. I am glad to hear you have had two great years in a row. I hope your team did great in the competition.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
2.6 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
1.9 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 201 Broadway, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-3200
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Normal
#4 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only AAA Four Diamond Hotel between Chicago and St. Louis. We have two concierge floors with a private lounge for your most important clients. Four Diamond service as only Marriott and John Q. Hammons can provide and a location directly between uptown Normal and Illinois State University. We are also within walking distance of the Amtrak station. The only hotel in town to provide covered parking and a skywalk from the town's adjoining garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington - Normal Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Bloomington - Normal Marriott Hotel Normal
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing