We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for ISU, Very Clean, Issues out of their Control...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location for ISU, Very Clean, Issues out of their Control...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a fine overnight stay at this location for an event at ISU. The proximity to the ISU Bone Center is outstanding, and was a short walk in great weather- to avoid paying the parking fee as ISU.
The hotel itself was very clean, with an efficiently run front desk. The dining location was excellent for dinner- great portions, tasty and fairly priced. The breakfast buffet was mediocre, and not worth the $13.95 per adult. The fruits and cheeses at the buffet were not replenished, and we did not receive any drinks until we were nearly done with our meal.
The room was spacious and clean. Pool was indoor- clean- but very chilly. Hot tub was out of service.
Just a thought- for $189 per night, might breakfast be included in our stay? Thought it was odd that there was nothing complimentary about this hotel.

Just a few issues:
1) Parking- It's an $8 fee to utilize the parking for this hotel. To my knowledge, no other Bloomington hotels have this fee.
2) The train is VERY close to this location; we were woken each time the train came through town- several times close to midnight, and again starting at 530am. It was LOUD- and woke us all from a sound sleep, including our child. Patrons should be made aware of this issue- especially when traveling with small children. The train really did cause a poor night of sleep.
3) Walls are very thin; there were many large families at the hotel and they were obviously having a good time. We heard everything.

Room Tip: Request a room furthest away from the train location
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelinaD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for the kind comments and the details of the items that were not as great. Our new Chef is quickly bringing up the quality of the breakfast buffet and now has oversight of the restaurant team as well. The town is working on making Normal a quite zone so the trains will not bother future guest. The next time you stay if there are noisy neighbors be sure to call the front desk we will send our security team up immediately to make sure you get a good nights rest.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    100
    33
    20
    8
See reviews for
102
32
16
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

The rooms are new, clean and a little on the smallish side. The service from everyone we interacted with was excellent. I was a little surprised to pay $8/day for parking in a college town but the parking was convenient. The food was below par for other Marriott properties I have visited. We had some snacks at the bar and breakfast buffet on Saturday morning. Both had us wishing we had eaten elsewhere.

So my recommendation would be to stay here and find a place to eat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your visit with other TA members. Our new chef is working on menus and training with the entire F&B team and will have these upgraded to our expectations quickly. The parking garage is the only covered parking in town for a hotel and is leased from the town of Normal, which is why there is a minimal charge for it.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel. Everything feels clean and new. When I called to confirm our reservations, I was told as a platinum elite member, they put us on the top floor where the concierge lounge is. Therefore we were surprised to find out that the concierge lounge was closed for the weekend. Why would they mention that we were on the concierge floor if use of it was not available to us for the weekend. They gave us a couple of vouchers for the breakfast buffet. The restaurant is scheduled to open at 7am. We decided upon breakfast at the hotel based on this timeframe. I had to go ask the front desk about the delay when they did not open at 7am because we did not want to be late for our event. The only difference between the breakfast buffet and typical concierge lounge breakfast is the made to order omelets. We were not able to partake in the made to order omelets because the person was not there to make them until 7:25. They would not give vouchers for our 2 children to eat breakfast.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allworksomeplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
My apologies that our team did not give you breakfast vouchers for your children as well. On the weekends when the lounge is closed this is what they should have done. They also should have told you about it when you confirmed your reservations. I will address with both teams and make sure they understand the importance of this. Our new Chef as of mid May will also make sure that the other concerns are addressed as well.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden Prairie
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having an athlete at ISU, we travel to Bloomington Normal a number of times a year for games and visits and have stayed at every Hilton and Marriott property in the area. There is no contest. . .this hotel trumps them all in terms of property and service. On my most recent visit, Jesi was fantastic in helping me to get into my room a few hours early so I was able to get some work done while I was there. The hostess in the concierge lounge was pleasant and clearly took pride in her work. . .so nice to see these days. And the bellmen/valet are just great. I only have a couple of criticisms. . . Housekeeping was adequate, but much below what I have seen in other hotels (I travel quite a bit). I always tip housekeeping and we came back to find pillows still on the floor, bed was made, but rumpled, wrappers still laying around. . .just those things that you would expect to be taken care of in a hotel of this level. In addition we noted that dishes sat in the hall for very long periods of time (usually all day or all night). You would expect someone to be walking the floors periodically to catch that. Also the parking rate is ridiculous for a town this size. Don't bother with the Hiltons in this town. . .stick with the Courtyard or this hotel. . .you will be much happier!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Catherine, thank you for your letter. Housekeeping is usually better than what you experienced and I will be sure to make sure your comments are shared with them. You are also correct that the Room Service trays should be cleaned up more frequently, our new F&B team has this as one of thier top priorities as they can quickly clutter up our hallways.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We stayed over Thanksgiving and had a great time! The hotel is ideally situated near shops, restaurants, and our favorite, the Children's Museum. The room was a perfect size for my husband and I and our 3 small children--everything was clean, the staff was kind, and the parking was free. After having stayed at a variety of hotels in Bloomington over the years, this is definitely in my top 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kendier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Great review, not many people know just how close we are to the Children's Museum. The town of Normal built an incredible museum for kids and we are glad they are here.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

The good news first. This hotel is very convenient because we use it to make visits to ISU. The accommodations are lovely. The rooms are nicely sized and comfortably furnished. All the staff members we encountered were friendly and welcoming (shout out to Elice, LaShon and Brittany). Our major complaint, though, is with the food. It just isn't very good. We ordered room service for breakfast and to be honest, with the exception of the bacon, everything tasted as if it was made from freeze-dried ingredients. There are plenty of restaurants in the area but for the rate we paid, we expected higher quality food. We also wish that the hotel would consider becoming pet-friendly. We plan on making frequent visits to our ISU student and we want to include our dog. This will now be a major factor in future plans.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
We too noticed some concerns with our culinary team and we now have an entirely new management staff in the kitchen. New menus are on their way and our prior executive chef has returned from the Walnut Room at Macy's to take us back to our prior greatness. As a dog lover and owner I wish I had better news about pets, but maybe in the future full service Marriotts will make the change as a brand and we will be able to accept them.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove Village
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Location, location, location! Uptown Normal offers several restaurant and shopping options and across the street from ISU -- there's no better location for ISU parents when visiting campus. The rooms are comfortable although not overly spacious (haven't seen rooms with pullout beds, for example) -- but two queen beds is enough for most families. The lobby, pool, restaurant and fitness center are also better than many other properties in the area. The staff are always professional and polite. Parking deck is very convenient and connected to hotel. My only frustration is that the room price fluctuates by as much as $80-100 depending on when you visit so be sure to pay attention to the rate. At times it is quite high which may prohibit some from staying here. It also fills up quickly when there are popular events on campus so be sure to book early if you want to stay here for parents weekend or Homecoming!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeffPritts, General Manager at Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Great picture and great review. Thank you for taking the time to review us. The big ISU weekends definitely fill us up and fluctate our price, so great advice to those looking to stay on the big weekends.

Sincerely,
Jeff P
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
0.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
2.6 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
3.4 mi away
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington
1.9 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Address: 201 Broadway, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-3200
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Normal
#4 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only AAA Four Diamond Hotel between Chicago and St. Louis. We have two concierge floors with a private lounge for your most important clients. Four Diamond service as only Marriott and John Q. Hammons can provide and a location directly between uptown Normal and Illinois State University. We are also within walking distance of the Amtrak station. The only hotel in town to provide covered parking and a skywalk from the town's adjoining garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomington - Normal Marriott Hotel And Conference Center
Bloomington - Normal Marriott Hotel Normal
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing