We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta Ga
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost Like Home”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Candlewood Suites is the go-to place to stay for my family. I made reservations for another hotel in Bloomington/Normal, because when planning my trip, I could not get reservations at Candlewood. We went right over to Candlewood the night we checked into the other hotel, after seeing the condition of the other hotel, and asked if they had openings for the next 4 nights, and they said yes, so we made the reservation, and eagerly checked in the next day. You can read how our stay went at the other hotel, from my posted review. We have stayed at this Candlewood property 10 times, and we have never ever been disappointed in our room, location, staff, or the cleanliness of the property. The beds are quite comfy, and having the full refrigerator, stovetop with 2 burners, microwave, and cooking utensils and suppllies, we are able to feel a bit more self sufficient, and not depend on restaurants for all meals while traveling. You won't be dissapointed in this location, and I will be booking another stay quite soon.

Room Tip: This property is in a quiet location, and we have never had a bad room here, ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
15
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

A friend booked this hotel for a girl's weekend of shopping and relaxing. It was very clean, quiet, friendly staff and good value. We did not use the kitchenette, other than to store a few drinks in the frig and make coffee the next morning. The workout room is small but treadmills were of good quality and not busy. The laundry room has at least 2 washers and dryers and is free, a great benefit for those that are there for longer stays. One of the local chain Italian restaurants will deliver to the room. Would stay there again for our next girls weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

No breakfast, although Panera Bread is literally next door, the A/C smelled musty and old, and my "king" bed was barely a double. The rooms are designed for long-term stay, complete with dishes, a toaster, microwave, full-size fridge, etc., but unless I had no place else to go this wouldn't be my first choice for an extended stay. The sheets and quilt didn't look quite clean, and there is no counter space at all in the bathroom. The internet is free but it's very slow at peak times. VERY slow. On the plus side, it was quiet at night and there are plenty of towels. There's a large desk to work at and plenty of electrical outlets. Lighting is adequate and the cable in Bloomington-Normal is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romancewriter_tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear romancewriterTN,

Thank you for your review of your stay. I am sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. We strive to provide the best guest experience possible, and may use some of the feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. I hope you will consider us again when in Bloomington. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

The front desk associate told me the hotel had been open for several years. I am certain that my room was brand new. This was a great value, they even put some popcorn in the microwave for me. I was just staying one night but if you have to be in the area for a while this is a great property. Beds are comfortable, staff is well trained. I had no problem parking our boat. I highly recommend.

Room Tip: There is an excellent breakfast restaurant about 3 blocks away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flycast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I have never stayed at a Candlewood hotel so I didn't know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised. The location was perfect as we were attending a function at ISU. The hotel was kept really clean and the room itseld was comfortable. Check-in was quick and efficient. I was excited about that as we worked all day and then drove two hours to get there. I do not have a suggestion on rooms but the hotel itself is conveniently located to shopping and restaurants. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Normal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KSCoolBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

A large Candlewood that actually has several rooms with separate bedrooms and several 2 bed suites. Rooms are clean and spacious. Staff is friendly. Priority Club members can get late checkout and they get to spin a wheel to win prizes at checkout.

Even on a Friday night with college in session, rooms were quiet and sleep was great. Definitely the top choice in Bloomington/Normal!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LEGGROOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
780 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Relatively new property - a big plus. Great location near many restaurants and shopping opportunities. Quiet, comfortable, clean and affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Normal Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal

Property: Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Address: 203 Susan Dr, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-6188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington - Normal's newest extended stay hotel offers a convenient location. Recognized by the Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association, Candlewood Suites is the first green hotel in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our extended stay hotel also provides premium amenities and a convenient location off I-55 near the Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI). While lodging at our extended stay hotel in Normal, guests can enjoy easy access to area attractions like the Children's Discovery Museum, the Prairie Aviation Museum and US Cellular Coliseum. There are also a number of great shopping spots less than two miles from our Normal hotel, including the Shoppes at College Hill and the Eastland Mall. With a meeting room that can accommodate 30 guests, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access, our hotel in Normal, IL is the perfect place to base your extended business stay in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our hotel near the BMI Airport is also centrally located near State Farm, Country Companies, BroMenn, AFNI, Mitsubishi Motors North America, Illinois State University and many government offices. Our extended stay hotel in Normal, Illinois features premium amenities, including a lovely outdoor patio with two barbecue grills, a state-of-the-art fitness center and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store where you can grab a quick meal or snack. Candlewood Suites in Bloomington - Normal invites you to consider us home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal Hotel Bloomington
Candlewood Bloomington
Bloomington Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing