We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've been staying at the Candlewood Bloomington for an average of 3 nights a week, nearly every week since January 2013 and so got a good sampling of the rooms. The property is relatively new; the corridors and rooms specious, light and very clean.

The rooms are pleasantly decorated and you can open the windows a bit, which is great as there is nothing like I like better than fresh air in a room. There are transparent as well as totally opaque curtains so you can enjoy natural sunlight while it's there, and block outside light, natural or artificial, for sleep. The thermostat controlled AC is quiet and adequate. The beds are very comfortable with a selection of pillows, from soft to dense which helps a lot. There is a comfortable armchair, and the flatscreen TV is attached to the wall feeing up space.

All rooms are equipped with a fully functional kitchen: Full size refrigerator, electric stove with 4 plates, dishwasher, microwave, toaster. free). The appliances as well as the dishes are always spotless clean. Toaster-ovens and electric grill as available upon request. The hotel is very close to Veterans Parkway, but far enough and very quiet. There are several large supermarkets and a Fresh Market in a walking distance. My preference is the Jewel because I can get packages in smaller quantities. There is also a small but fairly well equipped mini-store in the hotel. Free, clean and large washers and driers, a small but acceptable gym.

The free wireless has been recently upgraded - it is fast! The rooms are equipped with a comfortable multi-purpose dining-work space and there are ample outlets. The lighting is good. The bathroom is always spotless. This is important.

Last but most important: When you stay often in the same hotel you notice the small things such as consistency of service and hospitality - This is where the staff, which has been always welcoming, helpful and flexible since my first stay is really outstanding!!! Ana, Meghan, Dan and Tyler at the front desk; Matt, the operations manager; Amelia, the guest service manager; Denise, the director of sales and last but not least -- Whitney, the general manager: Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzraSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for such kind words about our hotel Mr. Schwartz! As an entire staff we greatly appreciate you taking time to express your experience while staying with us over the past several months. We are pleased to hear that our location is convenient for you as well as our amenities. We continue to make Candlewoood Suites a place you can consider home. We don’t stop after hearing such pleasing remarks, but rather still continue to strive for greater customer service. Your statements help us to realize that we are on the right track and we look forward to seeing you on your upcoming stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    21
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
15
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here over night what a great place to stay very nice and clean loved the outdoor grills and the sitting area very nice and also close by to stores and places to eat at . They also have moveis you can view free of charge and a suite shop for snacks to much overall a great place A+ thanks for a great stay candlewood !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatheangel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Bloomington Normal. We love guests feedback so that we can continue to provide a great hotel that guests love. Next time you are in the area we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very convenient yet out of the way suites hotel. It is very quiet, clean, and comfortable. Our checkin was very quick. The staff was friendly. The room was slightly smaller when compared to Staybridge or Homewood Suites but adequate. They offer free dvds including recent movies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this property before and not had any issues. This time was not the case, and I will probably think about NOT staying at any IHG branded hotel. After driving 5 hours, and just wanting to go to bed, I show up with my reservation only to find I have been bumped, "sorry we are full" Did I make a reservation yes, did the hotel keep it no. Did someone else check in while I was leaving, YES! (Why didn't they get bumped?) The hotel was nice enough to get a room next door at the holiday inn, for the same rate, however the rates at the HI were cheaper than the candlewood. Thanks candlewood for allowing me to stay at the holiday inn for more money! You could've handled this situation a lot better. How about a free stay at any property OR enough priority club points for the same. Thanks for the 1000 points, but that is not acceptable, nor the way this was handled. Ask yourself, how would you want to be treated in this situation...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMFfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Candlewood Suites Bloomington Normal. Guest feedback is the best way for us to continue to grow as a team to provide the quality service our guests deserve. I want to apologize for the way our team handled your reservation. We want all of our guests to enjoy their experience with us. To that end, please give management at the hotel a call so that we can rectify the situation and help us to ensure that this does not happen again. We do apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused you and we hope you will remain loyal to IHG.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for some State Farm training. First and foremost, this is a well run establishment. Upon checking in we learned we where in for a training session. Seems a new guy named Adam was being trained; we don't know where to start with him. For being new we thought it was going to be trouble. Nope! Great guy, and even helped with luggage which shocked us as this is an extended stay hotel and declined our tip since he wasn't sure about house policy on tipping...lol

Our only major complaint was all the drunks in the hallway, loud noises, etc etc. I understand this is an extended stay but they could really get a handle on this. One of the front desk clerks named Matt seemed to fix the issue in a very professional way which was very surprising seeing as he appeared to be the only one there to deal with all the afternoon issues???

Overall the hotel is great, and the staff we met could not have been nicer.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for taking time to respond to the questionnaire and to share your thoughts from your last visit to Candlewood Suites Bloomington Normal. Responses such as yours help us maintain the level of satisfaction our guests expect. We were sorry to hear that you experienced noise issues while staying at our property. We try to ensure that all guests respect the privacy and comfort of the others staying at the hotel. Should this happen again, please mention this to one of our Team Members and they will handle the issue in a quick and professional manner. It makes us pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful. This is one of the goals our team strive for. Your comment lets us know that we are doing our job. We hope that when you plan future trips, that you keep us in mind and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed there 4-4-13. Room was great and the staff was very friendly. Given a late (2pm) checkout at my request. Room was super clean and bed was very comfortable. Elevator was malfunctioning due to a technical matter, service man was there next morning making the repair. Features a loaner library of DVD's and a nice assortment of snacks for sale in the pantry.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CP H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed at the Candlewood for a recent business trip. The staff were friendly and greeted us as we came and went every day. The room is what I would expect, with a full size fridge, sink, two burner electric stove, microwave and full size dishwasher which makes it nice for extended stay. The bed is decent and the pillows were ok. The hotel provides free washers and dryers to use, you only need to supply your own detergent which is sold in the hotel pantry pretty inexpensively. The hotel is still pretty new, only a few years old I think, so everything is in pretty good condition. I did report a water leak in my bathroom when I left which I am assuming was handled promptly. I prefer Marriotts or Hilton, though it's a good place to stay and pretty cost effective.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Cindy P,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I certainly appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal

Property: Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Address: 203 Susan Dr, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-6188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington - Normal's newest extended stay hotel offers a convenient location. Recognized by the Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association, Candlewood Suites is the first green hotel in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our extended stay hotel also provides premium amenities and a convenient location off I-55 near the Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI). While lodging at our extended stay hotel in Normal, guests can enjoy easy access to area attractions like the Children's Discovery Museum, the Prairie Aviation Museum and US Cellular Coliseum. There are also a number of great shopping spots less than two miles from our Normal hotel, including the Shoppes at College Hill and the Eastland Mall. With a meeting room that can accommodate 30 guests, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access, our hotel in Normal, IL is the perfect place to base your extended business stay in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our hotel near the BMI Airport is also centrally located near State Farm, Country Companies, BroMenn, AFNI, Mitsubishi Motors North America, Illinois State University and many government offices. Our extended stay hotel in Normal, Illinois features premium amenities, including a lovely outdoor patio with two barbecue grills, a state-of-the-art fitness center and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store where you can grab a quick meal or snack. Candlewood Suites in Bloomington - Normal invites you to consider us home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal Hotel Bloomington
Candlewood Bloomington
Bloomington Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing