We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BEST HOTEL IN THE AREA!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Certificate of Excellence
Normal, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN THE AREA!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel made a very good first impression on us as we arrived late after a long move up from Texas. Check in was fast. There was plenty of parking space for our U-haul and trailer which was great. We arrived in the area with no place to actually call home yet so walking into our room with a full kitchen and plenty of space for us to have until we found a place was awesome. This hotel is conveniently located next to a Wal-Mart and Meijer, as well as many restaurants and shopping malls. They have a long list of all the latest movies that you can borrow at the front desk as well as a cupboard with a variety of meals, drinks, and snacks that would make for a great movie night!!! Oh, cant forget their lending locker. It had different kinds of board games as well as ladder ball and a bag set! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to feel as if they never left home. This hotel has everything you would need and MORE! The staff is very friendly and went above and beyond to meet our needs during our stay. Since our stay there we have stayed at a couple different hotels and none can be compared to this one. And last but not least, the extended stay rates are UNBELIEVABLY GREAT!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abraham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share the experience you had at the Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal. I have passed your review along to the entire team and please know that they are appreciative for the kind words you expressed about our hotel. We are proud to know that we made your transition to this new area a comfortable and enjoyable process. We want to welcome you to the community and we look forward to seeing you again when your family comes to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
15
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Extremely clean property and hotel. Rooms very nice. Staff is very helpful and accomodating. Shop and eat for nearly anything you can think of within minutes. Outdoor gazebo with Two (2) New Grills a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us about your recent visit. We always love hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay. Glad to hear that you took advantage of our amenities especially the two new grills at the Gazebo. As a team we take pride in providing great service that our guests love. Hopefully we will see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

the Candlewood Suites in Normal has the best staff in any hotel that i have stayed.The rooms are clean and comfortable. the location is surrounded by nice places to eat and shop.The airport is only four miles away and very easy to get in and out.

Room Tip: first floor double suites are near the gym and free laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for taking time to visit tripadvisor and letting us know how you felt about your stay here at Candlewood Suites. It's great to know that you enjoyed our convenient location and all it has to offer. We consistently strive for good customer service and try to help our guest " feel free to consider us home " while staying here. We were happy to have you and it is our hope that you will come back again and continue to enjoy the warm and comfortable hospitality! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danvers, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying I'm a Bloomington/Normal native (longtime) and I had a little problem finding the road into the hotel. Having said that, the hotel is excellent. I'm a Priority Club member which made reservation and check in a snap. The person at the front desk was helpful, courteous and friendly.
The room was impeccable. The little touches, like popcorn in the microwave and cold bottled water make a big difference for us. After staying at a few Candelwood Suites we've found them all to be just as great.
The cost of the room isn't unreasonable, and for what's available we won't stay anywhere else (if available) in the future. It's like staying with neat freak friends.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you Cameron for taking time to write a review about your experience at Candlewood Suties Bloomington-Normal. It pleases us to hear that you recieved great customer service while staying here and took advantage of all the little touches in our rooms. All of us here at the Candlewood Suites strive to make every guests experience delightful. Hopefully we will see you the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

I've been staying at the Candlewood Bloomington for an average of 3 nights a week, nearly every week since January 2013 and so got a good sampling of the rooms. The property is relatively new; the corridors and rooms specious, light and very clean.

The rooms are pleasantly decorated and you can open the windows a bit, which is great as there is nothing like I like better than fresh air in a room. There are transparent as well as totally opaque curtains so you can enjoy natural sunlight while it's there, and block outside light, natural or artificial, for sleep. The thermostat controlled AC is quiet and adequate. The beds are very comfortable with a selection of pillows, from soft to dense which helps a lot. There is a comfortable armchair, and the flatscreen TV is attached to the wall feeing up space.

All rooms are equipped with a fully functional kitchen: Full size refrigerator, electric stove with 4 plates, dishwasher, microwave, toaster. free). The appliances as well as the dishes are always spotless clean. Toaster-ovens and electric grill as available upon request. The hotel is very close to Veterans Parkway, but far enough and very quiet. There are several large supermarkets and a Fresh Market in a walking distance. My preference is the Jewel because I can get packages in smaller quantities. There is also a small but fairly well equipped mini-store in the hotel. Free, clean and large washers and driers, a small but acceptable gym.

The free wireless has been recently upgraded - it is fast! The rooms are equipped with a comfortable multi-purpose dining-work space and there are ample outlets. The lighting is good. The bathroom is always spotless. This is important.

Last but most important: When you stay often in the same hotel you notice the small things such as consistency of service and hospitality - This is where the staff, which has been always welcoming, helpful and flexible since my first stay is really outstanding!!! Ana, Meghan, Dan and Tyler at the front desk; Matt, the operations manager; Amelia, the guest service manager; Denise, the director of sales and last but not least -- Whitney, the general manager: Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EzraSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for such kind words about our hotel Mr. Schwartz! As an entire staff we greatly appreciate you taking time to express your experience while staying with us over the past several months. We are pleased to hear that our location is convenient for you as well as our amenities. We continue to make Candlewoood Suites a place you can consider home. We don’t stop after hearing such pleasing remarks, but rather still continue to strive for greater customer service. Your statements help us to realize that we are on the right track and we look forward to seeing you on your upcoming stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here over night what a great place to stay very nice and clean loved the outdoor grills and the sitting area very nice and also close by to stores and places to eat at . They also have moveis you can view free of charge and a suite shop for snacks to much overall a great place A+ thanks for a great stay candlewood !!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatheangel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney H, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at the Candlewood Suites Bloomington Normal. We love guests feedback so that we can continue to provide a great hotel that guests love. Next time you are in the area we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This is a very convenient yet out of the way suites hotel. It is very quiet, clean, and comfortable. Our checkin was very quick. The staff was friendly. The room was slightly smaller when compared to Staybridge or Homewood Suites but adequate. They offer free dvds including recent movies.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Normal Bloomington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
The Chateau Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal

Property: Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Address: 203 Susan Dr, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761-6188
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington - Normal's newest extended stay hotel offers a convenient location. Recognized by the Illinois Hotel & Lodging Association, Candlewood Suites is the first green hotel in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our extended stay hotel also provides premium amenities and a convenient location off I-55 near the Central Illinois Regional Airport (BMI). While lodging at our extended stay hotel in Normal, guests can enjoy easy access to area attractions like the Children's Discovery Museum, the Prairie Aviation Museum and US Cellular Coliseum. There are also a number of great shopping spots less than two miles from our Normal hotel, including the Shoppes at College Hill and the Eastland Mall. With a meeting room that can accommodate 30 guests, a 24-hour business center and free high-speed Internet access, our hotel in Normal, IL is the perfect place to base your extended business stay in the Bloomington - Normal area. Our hotel near the BMI Airport is also centrally located near State Farm, Country Companies, BroMenn, AFNI, Mitsubishi Motors North America, Illinois State University and many government offices. Our extended stay hotel in Normal, Illinois features premium amenities, including a lovely outdoor patio with two barbecue grills, a state-of-the-art fitness center and the Candlewood Cupboard convenience store where you can grab a quick meal or snack. Candlewood Suites in Bloomington - Normal invites you to consider us home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal Hotel Bloomington
Candlewood Bloomington
Bloomington Candlewood Suites
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing