We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surprise”

Swingers Bar & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Swingers Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 114 Restaurants in Normal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Swingers is a fresh grille and wine bar that invites guests to discover the sensational flavors of a seasonally-inspired menu and award-winning international wine list in a casually-sophisticated ambiance. At Swingers Grille, we pride ourselves on offering our guests: Seasonally-Inspired dining choices expertly designed to excite and surprise the palate An award-winning international wine list featuring diverse wine selections that personalize the dining experience Monthly wine,spirit & beer paired dinners. Knowledgeable, approachable service that inspires confidence A casually-sophisticated adult ambiance that feels warm and inviting.
Hot Springs Village, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I wasn't too sure about this place, but my sister-in-law said she enjoyed eating here, so we gave it a shot. It was a bit noisy, but then it is a sports bar, so not that bad. The food was excellent, the service was better than average... but all in all, a very nice surprise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank The_Old_Ranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    43
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontiac, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a rehearsal Dinner here for 33”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The staff was very helpful in making sure everything went off without a hitch. all of our dinners were great . Thanks

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MCK H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MI
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We were there overnight and chose this restaurant based on other reviews. As a group we started with the truffle fires and the spicy ahi tuna ceviche. Yummy. All of the entrees were wonderful and the service was very nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marsriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Terrible experience - 8 of us will never go again”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

A few friends from work get together once a month for drinks and appetizers. We all live in the area and usually meet somewhere on the east side of town. We saw that Swinger's had a happy hour special on Thursday nights. What is advertised is drink specials and half price appetizers. The first one of us arrived at 4:30 pm and was told that she could not be seated until the rest of the party arrived. I understand this policy on a busy weekend night, but not on a week night when there are only 4 occupied tables. Once the rest of us arrived the hostess MacKenzie told us that the advertised special was only available in the bar. It doesn't say this on the website. So we said that was ok, we would just get a table and order full price appetizers. MacKenzie then told us that we had to order entrees if we were going to sit at a table. We couldn't take up a table and just have appetizers. The 20 seats around the bar were mostly full. The three bar tables had reserved signs on them. There were plenty of open tables elsewhere but it was clear that they didn't really want our business. None of us will ever go to Swingers again. We were treated so poorly by the hostess. We tell everyone we know not to go here. On previous visits we have had mediocre food and service. There are so many better places in town. Try Destihl, Baxter's or Biaggi's on the east side instead. These places have great food and understand the basics of customer service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JASamp279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good dinner!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Good food. A little noisy for a fancier restaurant. Should decide if they want to be more sports bar or fancy restaurant...can't necessarily be both. Loved the wine flights! Would eat here again. Price was good too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swingers Bar & Grille also viewed

Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
Bloomington, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Swingers Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing