We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Normal
Bloomington-Normal, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Spotlessly clean and very friendly staff. I was most impressed with the the fresh appearance and cleanliness of the facilities. The public areas were as clean as the rooms. Their breakfast bar in the morning as fresh and delicious, because of it's conveninient location it is perfect for business OR vacation.

Room Tip: Their breakfast in the morning was delicious, don't miss the cinnamon rolls!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clou_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    30
    18
    6
    6
See reviews for
81
21
20
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

This was a difficult review for me. On one hand, it is a clean, modern, HI Express, but that is what I expect. But from a service standpoint, I was dissapointed. Most hotels try to honor my room requests. In this case, I requested "top floor/non adjoining room" and was given "first floor/adjoining room". As a PC "Platinum member", no obious attempt was made to upgrade my room in a nearly empty facility. The wireless internet was among the slowest I have seen at any hotel. I stayed here a few years ago and "dinged them" for not keeping some coffee available throughout the day in the breakfast area and that has not changed per front desk staff. The lady who checked us in was very friendly however. We did not challenge her on our room assignment as it had been pre-assigned.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallywanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corpNewYork, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank You for your feedback ! We very much appreciate your staying with us ! My Guest Service Manager looked into your concerns and we apologize that you did not get the floor you requested but we tried our BEST to accomodate you on the first floor. We were in fact 100% and we do our BEST to accomodate all guest requests. Please give me a call at the Hotel 309-862-1600 anytime and please do stop by my office so I can meet you. I trust you will give us another opportunity to serve you at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bllomington-Normal, Il.
Anthony De Angelis GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2012

ISU visit: overall loved the whirlpool and decor. This Holiday Inn has stepped it up a notch. Very nicely decorated! Managers were very considerate on my lost wallet situation.

I also liked they offer continental breakfast and had a quite, a variety of breakfast item. I only could have used stronger coffee! (no deal breaker).

Thank you for being persistant!

Room Tip: Thank you, Thank you for being persistant! I would stay again also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onyxstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Barrington, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My husband and I were in town for homecoming weekend at ISU. We were met with Midwest pride, service and attention to every detail from the moment we checked in. In addition to being given our room keys at check in we were given water bottles. The whole hotel was recently updated and very tastefully done. The suites were beautiful and the rooms were spotless. We slept well and loved the soft and firm pillow options. Breakfast was an unexpected cut above the typical continental offering. We had our choice of hot or cold and it was surprisingly great! We have stayed at many hotels over the years, and we are happy to say that one of the finest sits right at home here in the Midwest at Holiday Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal. Go Redbirds!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My boyfriend and I were in town for a wedding a couple weeks ago and decided to stay at your hotel. We booked fairly last minute and it wasn't a problem at all! When we arrived at the hotel the woman at the front desk had our room keys ready! I was completely blown away! usually it takes five minutes just for the keys, not including checking-in paper work. The rooms were spotless and the hallways were impeccable. When we were heading out for the wedding the young woman addressed me by name, and wished us a fun night. This hotel knows customer service in every aspect! Obviously, we will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week when I visited by daughter at ISU. I was by myself and felt so safe. The staff at the hotel was so nice and helpful. The rooms were super clean and very comfortable. I will definetly be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBpalatine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We arived late and tired. The girl had our reservation ready, that was so great! Room was like brand new and I loved the hot tub!!! Having a great free breakfast is alwasys a big help. The pancake machane is very cool. Can't wait to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomcortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Normal hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
1.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomington Normal
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Bloomington Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Address: 1715 Parkway Plaza Dr, Exit 167 I-55, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bloomington Normal Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Whether you come by way of the Central Illinois Regional Airport or by train, make the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bloomington Normal, Illinois your home away from home. We are centrally located to all of your destinations including: Illinois State University, Redbird Arena, Illinois Wesleyan University, US Cellular Coliseum, the Children's Discovery Museum, and the Illinois Shakespeare Festival. If you are traveling on business, you cannot find a better place to begin and end your business day. We are centrally located near State Farm Insurance, Country Companies, Bridgestone/Firestone, Mitsubishi, OSF St. Joseph Medical Center and Bromenn Medical Center. If it is shopping you want, we are less than 1 mile from the Shoppes at College Hills, and only 2 miles from Eastland Mall. Wal-Mart and Meijer are within walking distance and are open 24 hours. Dick's Sporting Goods, Borders, and Bed, Bath and Beyond are just on the other side of our property and several restaurants and movie theaters are within walking distance. So please join us for our Express Start breakfast buffet, our tropical pool area with Jacuzzi and fitness center. Hot breakfast buffet free! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Normal
Holiday Inn Normal
Holiday Inn Express Normal
Normal Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Normal, IL - Bloomington-Normal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing