We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay...Just a Little Bit Longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Bloomington Normal
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stay...Just a Little Bit Longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The Courtyard Bloomington-Normal has been my family's stop on many visits to Illinois State University. During these stays we have received nothing but the highest quality of service and respect from the staff. Rooms are very spacious and open for many guests, as well as the shift manager always calls up to the room to assure the room is to your standards of excellence. With being only 3 floors, there's never been a wait for the elevator as well as the pool is near always open for anyone. Hotel management have been open to allowing guests to use the lobby cafe for group get-together's and have even offered great suggestions for where an affordable meal can be delivered from. Surrounding the hotel, being in a campus town, are 2 malls( 1 large, 1 boutiques), plenty of restaurant chocies, as well as a hearty selection of nightlife bars. only bit of a downside is as a Marriott property you are paying for the name, the Comfort Suites next door offers same quality with a free breakfast for near half the price ($80 vs $149)

Room Tip: Request a room on the parking lot side, as there is a more scenic view as opposed to the back side w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler22494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnell H, Manager at Courtyard Bloomington Normal, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words about the management and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Donnell Hoengies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    33
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
10
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

just got back from special olympics bball tourney...have stayed in many hotels in the area the past 10 years...I rank it # 1 in comfort amenities and customer service..loved our balcony...loved the courtyard with the comfy chairs...caught some sun back there...all it needs is a gas firepit! rooms (we had two) were spotless, as is the entire hotel. the whirlpool and pool area spotless and the temps were just perfect. Staff was extemely nice and helpful....food was very good.
location is great...walk to walmart right through the parking lot!
Kudos to the staff at Marriott. Last year stayed at the Marriott Hotel and Conference Center which I then rated #1...which is awesome as well, but the balcony and the courtyard area at the Courtyard boosted it to my now #1 pick. Thank you staff for making our stay soooooo enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbgennardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This Courtyard is very consitent with others. Very clean, nice rooms and location is
ideal for business. The staff however, were exceptional. Very nice and consistently offered
assistance. The breakfast was ok and the fitness center a little small. Maybe add a stationary
bike for complete diversification. Other than that a great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigh11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Last time I was in Normal, I had the pleasure of staying at the newly built Marriott Hotel and Conference Center, steps away from the Illinois State University campus. Since that time, I have been unable to get a reservation, so I chose the Courtyard as an alternative.

Of course to compare the two would be ridiculous, but I have to say while the amenities at the larger property are impressive, the hospitality at the Courtyard was equal to its mother-ship.

Check-in went smoothly. I had called ahead for a discount and late-check-in and everything was noted and taken care of. I had requested a lower floor and we were accommodated. Asked for extra pillows, they were waiting for me. The front desk was warm and welcoming which, after a 3 hour drive...well it really felt good!

The Room was far more spacious than I expected. The two queen pillow topped beds were soft and comfy, and the room was spotless. My only complaint was that the vanity area lighting was on the dim side(making make-up application a little challenging), and when the the light in the bathroom was turned on, it flickered a lot. I don't know if the fluorescent bulb needed replacing, or if was just the nature of the fixture, but as an epileptic, I found it to be a bit hard to take. I had to close my eyes every time I turned on the light. In all fairness, I could have immediately called the front desk, and I am certain they would have taken care of it for me, but we were busy, and it was such a small detail I let it go until check out at which point the attendant was very apologetic.

My only other gripe (though I knew this when I made the reservation) is that considering their rates, like the neighboring hotels around them, the Courtyard should offer free breakfast. Oh well, that does not diminish the fact that this is overall a great property for a short visit to see your student or for business travel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I chose a lower floor room based on previous reviews of this hotel, but next time I will try to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mladytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

From the moment we checked in, it was clear that the staff at this hotel was the most professional and most welcoming that we have ever encountered. Everyone from the desk, to the bistro staff, and even the housekeeping staff made us feel welcome.
The rooms were very clean and updated. The pool was clean and warm.
The only minor issues were the lighting level in the bathroom. This is not a knock on the hotel, but most likely a product of the energy code and how the designer applied the ComCheck. The other item is that we miss the Marriott Breakfast. This is not a knock on the hotel, the Bistro staff was extremely friendly and the food was good, it just the breakfast was a preference for our family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chitownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

Stayed here on a weekend shopping trip to the Bloomington-Normal area. Recently remodeled rooms, affordable price, great bistro lounge with full bar. Quiet rooms, great staff and close to great shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FormerHoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

First stay at an updated Courtyard. One night after Thanksgiving. Staff was friendly and resposive. New lobby was very nice. Room was nicely done. Agree with other reviews on the low lighting in bath area. Only serious complaint was the spa/hot tub was too cold. Overall a nice hotel at a reasonable price. Would certainly consider for future stays in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWH204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Normal
2.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Bloomington - Normal
2.0 mi away
Bloomington-Normal Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Bloomington-Normal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
0.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Normal Bloomington
2.3 mi away
Eastland Suites Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Bloomington Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Bloomington Normal

Property: Courtyard Bloomington Normal
Address: 310A Greenbriar Drive, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761
Region: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Bloomington Normal 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is conveniently located in the Bloomington, Il area. The Courtyard Bloomington Normal is the perfect hotel for the business traveler and for your leisure stay. We offer free Wi-Fi and also offer a pool, The Bistro breakfast and dinner bar, fitness center, business center and meeting space. Our Normal, Il location is within minutes of: Illinois State University, State Farm Insurance, Country Financial Insurance and Mitsubishi Motor Manufacturing of America headquarters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Bloomington Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Bloomington Normal Hotel Normal
Courtyard Normal
Normal Courtyard
Normal Marriott
Courtyard Bloomington Normal IL - Bloomington-Normal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing