We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best German restaurants I've ever been”
Review of Edelweiss

Edelweiss
Reserve with OpenTable
Edelweiss is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Norridge
Price range: US$9 - US$27
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family Fun
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best German restaurants I've ever been”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Don't expect fancy. Actually is outdated... But the food... Oh my! Excellent cannot describe it! We had schnitzels (wiener, pork and chicken) with spatzels, cabbage and German potatoes. And it was just SUPERB!!!! Not much left over even though they are generous portions.
Excellent bread and we had the chicken vegetable soup - just awesome!
Nice beer selection. We were planning to have dessert (they look awesome) but unfortunately we ate too much and couldn't handle dessert.
If you are around Chicago and like German food you HAVE to go,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleonora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K, Owner at Edelweiss, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Eleonora,
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you back at Edelweiss restaurant.

Have a great day.

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“3 lb Pork Shank Dinner WAY TOO MUCH”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great food with old world flavor. We had liver ball soup, potato pancakes, salad and hard rye bread for starters. Saw a 3 lb pork shank dinner with bread dumplings and sauerkraut on the menu. NO way this could be eaten in one sitting. Bring a hearty appetite for authentic German food

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ed-Suzi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt K, Owner at Edelweiss, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Ed-Suzi P,
Thank you for your wonderful review, we look forward to seeing you back at Edelweiss restaurant. Have a great day.

Thank you,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torremolinos, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice German Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Most of the German restaurants in the Chicago area have closed during the years and it was nice to find a good one still open. We stopped here for lunch. We had the rouladen and chicken schnitzel. Both dishes and the service were very good. We plan to stop again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sl0tta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“It's just not for me...!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I'm of German ethnicity & have never been to a "real" German restaurant. Thought I'd give Edelweiss a try. Went on Saturday during Oktoberfest...place was packed. Small, cozy bar area. I was seated in the dining room near the live band...it was deafening! My waitress was super friendly and helpful & gave good suggestions on beer selection. Ordered the Edelweiss Platter...smaller than what I expected for $25...but a good sampling. I REALLY wanted the food to be something REALLY special...for me, it wasn't. My best desciption...Simple. Nothing I tasted made me want to come back for more or try something else. I'm glad I went for the experience...but would only return (perhaps) to try the different German beers on tap.
Of note...my son & friends, who have been to other German restaurants from different regions, have all said the same thing about the food..."You don't get what you pay for...they're all overpriced".

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFFYG10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This place is amazing. Great food, great service and an amazing atmosphere!
Special thanks to your waiter Peter who provided an outstanding service the whole evening.
The only negative, if I could call it that, is the live entertainment....it could use some improvement!
Other then that, it was great!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GaeaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing