We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best value for the price”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

After reviewing some of the negative feedback, we weren't sure if we should stay. Since it was the closest to the Great Lakes Naval Training Facility, we decided to stay. Glad we did, the room was clean, and we had no issues, and all of the staff were great. The building is well maintained, and there are several places to eat that are within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    26
    19
    8
    43
See reviews for
60
6
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I am suprised at the negative reviews, because for the price, we got exactly what we expected. The biggest downer was there was no coffee pot. The big plus was that it is so close to the base. The room was old and outdated but clean. If you want a 4 or 5 star hotel atmosphere, pay for it. We knew what we were getting into.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank annalee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My son was graduation from the Great Lakes Naval Training Facility and I had researched dozens of hotels in the area. Most said the area lodging was below par, gross, and dumpy. So I figured I'd have to spend 3 times my budget to find a clean and comfortable hotel. Well we found the Red Carpet Inn and loved it! It's no 5 star resort by any means but the rooms were very clean, smelled fresh, beds and bedding were clean and very comfortable! I alway ask for extra pillows and they brought them immediately! The best part about it was the free shuttle to and from the Naval Graduation. Saved us the hastle of driving in a city we were unfamiliar with, parking, and traffic. The bonus was it was only $57.00 a night!!! Definately consider this hotel if you are attending your child's graduation!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Braileys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We stayed one night the week before Christmas on our way from the south to family in northern Wisconsin. The people were pleasant enough and the stay was ok until when we woke in the morning to discover a large bug (water bug or roach) crawling across the ceiling. When we took it to the front office they accused me of planting this bug or rather bringing it with us in order to demand a free night. Then sent a cleaning person to check the room and of course didn't find any more. And then told us we were lying. We would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna2002_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I chose this hotel because it is so close to the Recruit training Command and A-school (like 2miles give or take) being from new york though it sucks that there isn't a sidewalk to walk there so you always need to call a cab or if you're lucky have a rental. Though the inn has a phone to directly call cab service (they even give you coupons so you can save $6 on local rides or $15 to the airport). The rooms are very simple, old fashion looking and the cleaning is done everyday so you always have new towels/soap etc :) no bugs or anything so that's a plus! (i always worry about those things when booking new places) so no worries! I've been there 3 different times with different rooms and the conditions are all the same! They give breakfast in the morning 6-10am its just coffee and some packaged honey buns but meh its free :p You want good breakfast go to Baker's Square near the Gurnee Mills Mall they're good :D Flannagan's (its a restaurant next to the inn & it is a bit disappointing sorry, they're coffee is good but really thats all they got going <_<) The concierge are very friendly and helpful. Overall its an ideal place to book since the rate is the least inexpensive and closest to the navy base.
Hopefully this helps with anyone curious about the place :D

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NavyWife87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I stayed here for my daughter bootcamp graduation. A good, quite and clean place. Friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anamorazan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have been staying here for about six months while searching for a new home. This is a family owned hotel so the staff is very friendly, helpful and honest. They returned a robe to me I didn't even notice was missing at least a month after I misplaced it. If I have mail at the front desk, they call me personally to tell me I have a package or parcel. I get maid service three times a week so tonight when I get home from work I will have a clean room and fresh linen and towels. The location is great close to the base, restaurants, shopping and tollroads so its easy to find and get around. If you are looking for the Ritz then pay double at one of the overpriced, national chain hotels. But if you are looking for clean, reasonable, and a great location with a friendly, honest staff then this is your place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank james o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Chicago
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
Sleep Inn at Great Lakes
#1 of 2 in Lake Bluff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Chicago Waukegan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
2.0 mi away
Residence Inn Chicago Waukegan/Gurnee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago

Property: Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago
Address: 3207 Buckley Rd, North Chicago, IL 60064-3449
Region: United States > Illinois > Lake County > North Chicago
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in North Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Carpet Inn n. Chicago Hotel North Chicago
Red Carpet Inn North Chicago
North Chicago Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn N. Chicago Lake County/North Chicago, IL

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing