We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Very accommodating”
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Our experience is a little different from most. We had crews working on storm outages and needed many rooms for an unknown length of time. We needed to provide rooms for them to sleep after their long and tiring work day. The Crowne Plaza was able to get our workers taken care of and accommodated. The sales manager went above and beyond helping us with our out of the normal criteria. She kept me informed of all the details and worked with us on this situation which was no easy task. Appreciated all of the help and assistance provided. Glad that they were part of our team.

Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JS4946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    92
    41
    12
    13
See reviews for
41
31
25
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We ended up in this hotel due to overbooking by the airline. We got one free night, meal vouchers and complimentary transportation between the airport and hotel.
First problem was finding the shuttle at the airport since there wasn't any information desk or schedule, just lots and lots of different shuttles arriving and leaving from the same place. If we wouldn't have had our cellular and the hotel's phone number on the voucher, we wouldn't have found the right shuttle. One of our companions on the shuttle had called the hotel multiple times and waited almost an hour for the shuttle to come.
After visiting multiple crowne plazas we were surprised how small the place was. It is in the middle of NOWHERE. We thought we would have been able to see some of Chicago, but no. There is no place to go around the hotel and a taxi to downtown costs about 60 dollars and takes about an hour.
The only thing for us to do was to eat at the hotel with our meal tickets which were for 3 meals per person. However the restaurant was pricey, so we had to pay extra on every meal despite having just 2 meals. Despite the food being ok, service was extremely slow.
This visit would have been saved by even of glimpse of Chicago, but unfortunately we just wasted a day at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NM2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked this hotel for its value, not really knowing the Chicago landscape. It's a little far from downtown, but it's in a very nice suburb. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and we had a very nice and comfortable room. It has a small fridge/microwave combo which made things more convenient for us. Very relaxing stay for us. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

After a 13 hour flight delay and a seven hour flight delay on our trip from Dublin to Chicago, my family and I were very tired. The night clerk welcomed us with a warm smile, and assigned us to a room near the elevator which I appreciated because I use a cane for walking.

The third floor room was very clean, quiet, and the bed was sleep number adjustable. The bathroom was small but there were towels for everyone and plenty of hot water.

The breakfast buffet was just over $20 a person. My family and I liked the variety of fruit: oranges, bananas, watermelon and cantelope. There was cereal, hot oatmeal with brown sugar and raisens, a choice of juices, scrambled eggs, fried potatos, bacon, sausage and biscuits and gravey, toast and bagels with jam, honey and cream cheese.

Although the hotel is about 20 minutes from O'Hare, I would certainly stay here again when I am in the area.

The hotel is handicapped accessible.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLStanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent a night at the hotel, but was very impressed by the friendly and helpful staff. It was only an overnight stay due to a canceled flight, and with our bags already checked in, the front desk was able to provide us with the basic needs such as toothpaste, toothbrush, shaver and shaving cream, aside from the basic toiletries already in the room. They did not forget to ask what time we wanted to catch our shuttle back to the airport, and they even made sure everyone who said they wanted to be on the 4am shuttle was accounted for the next morning - what great service.

There is a restaurant where we (me and the other estranged passengers from the canceled flight) ate. The food was good, and service was excellent.

The overall surrounding looks like it is in the middle of some warehouses, but the hotel looks relatively new. I don't think we would venture out on our own without a car.

Room was clean, with sleep number bed. If I have the chance to be in the area, I would definitely consider this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheeling, IL
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

When our corporate office lost power for 3 days and we were recruiting, we needed a location for private interviews. Unfortunately, we waited until the last moment to see if our power resumed but it didn't. I frantically called the Business Travel Sales Manager at the Crowne Plaza who graciously interrupted a business lunch to schedule a meeting room for us. This type of customer service is what makes the Crowne Plaza stand heads above other hotels in this area. Our business travelers appreciate the service, comfort, restaurant, etc. provided at the Crowne Plaza. We feel that they are truly a "business partner" with us -- keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeWheeling_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Planning meetings for our 6 state Sales Team can be difficult, but working with the staff at the Crowne Plaza Northbrook has been great. I have worked with Rachel for hotel stays and Kelly for catering and room rentals both have been amazing to work with. The Hotel rooms are newly remodeled and the conference rooms are great. The AV department and the restaurant staff are great too! It's nice to have such a friendly group that can accomodate my ever changing needs! Thanks and we will see you back in August!

Midwest Regional Sales Manager

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LT9182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
0.1 mi away
Hilton Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
3.9 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Prospect Heights
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#1 of 2 in Prospect Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
Address: 2875 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-6103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook, located 20 minutes from downtown Chicago and 9 miles from O Hare International Airport (ORD). Business travelers to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will enjoy our proximity to the headquarters of companies such as Allstate, ITW, AON, Combined Insurance, Kraft, Walgreen's, Siemens, Caremark and Anixter. With 15,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is well appointed to accommodate your Chicago area meeting, wedding, banquet and seminar groups. Our facilities and seasoned sales staff are prepared to offer an outstanding meeting experience to groups and conferences of 12 to 250 people. Leisure and business travelers alike will love the convenience of our hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet, full service restaurant and bar, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business center and 24-hour fitness center. Don t forget to take time out during your visit to enjoy our outdoor pool. Visitors looking to experience the Chicago attractions such as Great America, Wheeling s famous Restaurant Row, and all the delights of Downtown Chicago will find the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook ideally situated for an easy and accessible overnight stay. In addition to our hotel s location, guests of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will be enthralled by our personal service, spacious guest room accommodations and special attentions to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Northbrook
Northbrook Radisson
Crowne Plaza Northbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing