We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor staff overall and dirty sheets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Clarksville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor staff overall and dirty sheets”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upon arrival the clerk Adam was nice and knowledgeable. I unpacked and dialed "0" to ask a question. I hear upon answering "they killin me today, UGH, hello". Someone doesn't like their job obviously. When returning from dinner I get ready for bed around 9:45pm. Pull comforter back to find STAINS on middle pillow and all over the comforter. Plus MULTIPLE hairs. Beyond disgusting. I dial "0" and ask for the sheets to be changed. 30+ minutes later housekeeping decides to finally come and says "it ok it chemical". Well I don't think it's ok and the hairs indicate this bed wasn't cleaned after the last guest. She replaced the sheets but placed the newly clean pillows ON THE FLOOR. I was so tired I gave up and slept without pillows. Next day housekeeping cleaned but left the pillows on the floor. Next day I asked for additional shampoo, twice, each time it was going to be brought up but never was.
HORRIBLE SERVICE AND CLEANLINESS. Lobby decor is amazing tho.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSpalding33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear KSpalding 33,
Please accept my sincere apologies for this unacceptable experience. As you can see from the previous reviews posted on this site, this is not a common occurance and I am appalled that it happened to you. It is my understanding that we have already refunded that night's room charges to you, after you brought this situation to the attention of our Customer Care team.

Upon investigation, we have found that the room you were checked in to was used by a guest who departed a day early. Because we don't change sheets every day for in-house guests unless requested, the bed was simply re-made. When that guest left later in the day, the room was re-cleaned, but the bed was not stripped and re-made.
Proper communication and re-training of staff is underway to prevent this from recurring.
Regards,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    218
    82
    34
    24
See reviews for
130
103
26
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in August. Very reasonable rates for the quality of the hotel. The lobby is modern and the front desk staff very efficient and friendly. The room was nicely appointed, very clean and modern. King bed was comfy! Nice towels and linens. There is an on-site restaurant and room service, however we were not there long enough to use it. We did however, on the evening we checked in, go to Ruth Chris Steak House and had a great dinner! It is connected to the hotel. Free parking is always a bonus!!! If we were ever in the area we would definitely stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B3achLov3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear B3achLov3r,
Thank you for the compliments! I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed both our service and facilities... even for such a short stay.
I will pass on your praise to the manager of Ruth's Chris, it is also my favorite restaurant in the area, and you can't beat the convenience!
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, AZ, United States
Level Contributor
121 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I checked in last night and wow! Cute, comfortable, and connected to Ruth Chris steak house! They even have a nice souvenir shop onsite for trips. I have a king room on the 6th floor. I slept great, I have a window view, and ordering room service! They have a nicely decorated restaurant and bar! Swimming pool and hot tub is a plus! I have four more nights to go! So far, so good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Jennifer M,
Thank you for such a prompt, up to the minute review! I trust that the remainder of your stay was also very enjoyable?
Please let me know if you will be returning to the area, we'll make sure to give you a repeat performance!
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Clean hotel and great staff. Will stay again with work.

Beds were comfy. Rooms a good size.

Food was good with the catered meal for business

Bar was swanky and had a good singer w piano.

Gym is a bit small.

Like the driver that drove me to shops nearby.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shonna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Shonna M,
I greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your Renaissance experience with me! I was happy to see that our facilities and staff made such a positive impression on you and I hope you are able to return again soon.
Thank you,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel doesn't look like much from the outside, but the interior is completely stunning. It has obviously been renovated recently, and every surface is impeccably clean. My 10-year-old daughter was very intrigued by the art-design of the lobby, and that design carried into the corridors and rooms as well.

The rooms had some of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. Bathrooms were perfectly clean.

The pool was clean, spacious, and the pool room has a ping pong table. Lots of fun.

We didn't try the restaurant, but I hear it has received critical acclaim with local magazines.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel and intend to spend a lot of time in downtown Chicago, drive from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortablynumb79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear comfortablynumb79,
Wondering if you are a fellow Pink Floyd fan? Thanks so much for your very kind comments and observations. I was happy to read that you loved our new decor and am happy to share that the exterior is getting a facelift next year as well!
Your recommendation to take the train into the city is spot on and I am glad you discovered this easy and fast method of enjoying all that Chicago has to offer.
We hope to welcome you back again soon...
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my family reunion in Chicago, we stayed 3 nights. Lovely accommodations, bed was very comfortable. The room was cleaned everyday, parking was easy (no fee), wi-fi. It's a bit far from the city but not too bad, there was a bit of traffic to and from.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kala J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Kala J,
Thank you so much for your positive comments about your stay! Although we are about 18 miles north of the city, many of our guests take our 5 minute shuttle to the train station and can zip into the heart of Chicago in no time at all...
We hope to welcome you back again for the next reunion!
Regards,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I recently took a vacation with my husband and young sons and one of our destinations was a five night stay in Chicago. We chose the Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel based on a friends recommendation and could not be more thrilled with our decision. The staff was phenomenal from start to finish. Friendly, thorough and efficient. The rooms were beautiful and welcoming. Our daily cleaning service was always done meticulously.
The shuttle service was very helpful for the whole week. The atmosphere in the lounge was always friendly and I loved the "library" for some relaxation and down time. The kids and I loved the pool and hot tub facility!! The boys especially loved the Ping pong matches
at the end of our fun, busy days.
We had the pleasure of meeting the GM, Rik, who was handing out ice cream in the lobby, supporting a children's charity. What a kind hearted host. We were all very impressed and will definitely be staying here again.
Thank you to all of the staff and Rik for making this one of the best vacations we could have hoped for.

Room Tip: I suggest the suites if staying for an extended trip, gives everyone a little more room to relax. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kari A,
Thank you for the glowing review!
I'm especially happy that you were able to make some great family memories, that is what travel and new experiences are all about! It was a pleasure meeting you, you certainly have your hands full with your 3 boys...
I am hopeful our paths will cross again, either here or in another location!
All my best to you and your family,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
Hilton Northbrook
#1 of 4 in Northbrook
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#2 of 189 in Chicago
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel

Property: Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
Address: 933 Skokie Blvd, Northbrook, IL 60062
Region: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel offers refined luxury and superior service moments Fortune 500 companies and Northwestern University. Our Northbrook, Illinois hotel's location is ideally situated a short drive from beautiful Chicago Botanical Garden as well as Ravina Park. We invite you to stay with us in our AAA 4-Diamond award-winning accommodations, which include stunningly appointed guest rooms and guest suites. Each of our rooms features ultra-plush bedding, premium bath amenities and high-speed Internet. On our property, guests enjoy lavish gathering spaces, 2 full-service restaurants and a lounge showcasing cocktails and live entertainment. If you are planning an event in Northbrook, we can host you and your colleagues, friends or family for an elegant function or gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Northbrook
Northbrook Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing