We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hilton...Should be Delisted...Stay Elsewhere”
Review of Hilton Northbrook

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Northbrook
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old Hilton...Should be Delisted...Stay Elsewhere”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hello! Loyal Hilton HHonors member with a less-than-stellar experience at this hotel.

First impression...lacking any update from the exterior should be the first warning sign. Upon entering the facility it smells like an old KFC restaurant! It doesn't get any better as you enter your room with the strong aroma of oranges apparently in an attempt to cover up the old and musty furnishings.

Check-in was not to Hilton standards. As a Diamond, I was just checked in and handed key packet. No acknowledgement of status. Despite the hotel being 80% full (as mentioned by a nearby desk clerk) and better rooms being available online same-day, no upgrade even offered (I asked) as HHonors allows for. The hotel has an executive lounge, but that was closed on the weekend. Instead they give you chits and send you to the busy public lounge for a soda and an app...not even close to an executive lounge experience!

The pathetic excuse of a business center is just that...pathetic. The monocrome laser printer bleeds toner on copies rendering them useless. Don't even both using the other computer that is attached to the color printer. Upon printing your second page (which takes 5 minutes), the machine jams up. Obviously rather than fixing or replacing this faulty machine, they hang a sign that says that it is not for use making multiple copies! The best part is the keyboard which is a cesspool of crud stuck to the keys turning them from ivory to grey....ick!

Moral of the story...save yourself the $$$ and head elsewhere where the management appears to take care of guests better than treat them as a number.

Room Tip: A good room is one at a nearby hotel and not here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JetsForFunJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We’re very sorry that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards and we apologize for all the inconvenience you experienced. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to Chicago.

Thank you,
Gary S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    206
    99
    38
    25
See reviews for
145
95
31
300
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

went for a wedding it was a very good the staff was great the day was all good seeing old friends was great we felt like it was like a second home. It was a fun weekend almost like our home in Vegas the grounds were very nice it is keep up very well

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future

Have a great day and enjoy the remainder of your summer 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

ROOM 4** has suspicious WIFI beacons round "FBI Surveillance VAN 1" , "HILTON Broadband", inducing guest to connect through by jamming to disconnect guest's own IPhone hotspot. Breakfast place credit card machine broke. Scramble egg not ...eggy

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Jia Qin X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future

We do have a hotel shuttle #1 for transporting guests and the internet is complimentary in our public space.

Enjoy the remainder of your summer 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This a clean, comfortable hotel with spacious rooms and a friendly staff.
The breakfast buffet was enormous, with a great selection to accommodate all tastes.
An ample hotel for a comfortable stay in the Northbrook area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violin-Mel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmsmith, Front Office Manager at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Enjoy the remainder of your summer 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 4 nights - room was clean and bed comfortable. Breakfast menu could use some improvement, but the omelette bar was great. Did not like the fact that wifi was not included and had to go to the lobby every time I needed to check my mail. My brother had a room on the 2nd floor and he complained about the noise the garbage truck made very, very early in the morning. We were on the 8th floor and did not hear it.

Room Tip: Non-smoking on the upper floor - Our room 824 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmsmith, Front Office Manager at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Enjoy the remainder of your summer 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This property is nicely located off of a major highway and not from from O'Hare airport. Although this is a suburban hotel, it is easy to get to any location in Chicago. The staff is very accommodating and the rooms are very clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary S, Manager at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the nice review. We are very pleased the hotel and Staff were to your liking. We hope to see you soon, and have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, tn
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We Really Enjoyed Staying At This Hotel. It Is In A Good Location. It Is Not Far Off The Interstate And In A good Area. We Enjoyed A Couple Of The Neighborhood Bars. Front Desk Staff Was Very Helpful With Directions And Other Things We Needed To Know.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank W4305QXchriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobmsmith, Front Office Manager at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.


Sincerely,

ROBERT SMITH
Room Division Director
Hilton Chicago/Northbrook
ROBERT.SMITH@hilton.com
847-509-7030
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northbrook
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
5.3 mi away
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
3.8 mi away
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Glenview/Northbrook
3.5 mi away
Embassy Suites North Shore / Deerfield
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Glenview-Chicagoland Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northbrook

Property: Hilton Northbrook
Address: 2855 Milwaukee Ave, Northbrook, IL 60062-6103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Northbrook Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Northbrook

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing