We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Chocolate Cake Like Mom Made”
Review of Three Tarts Bakery

Three Tarts Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Northfield
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty Chocolate Cake Like Mom Made”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I split a piece of yellow cake with chocolate frosting and confetti on it, reminded me of a kid's birthday party. I had a good cup of coffee and my husband enjoyed his iced tea. The staff was pleasant and it was nice to sit outside under an umbrella.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmgraham200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SKOKIE
Level Contributor
226 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unique Pastries”
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a wonderful hidden gem in the Northern suburbs. They have wonderful pastries, but be prepared to pay the price ~ this place is not cheap. They have a spacious dining area and offer soups and sandwiches as well as coffee drinks. It is always packed so if you want a specific cake, come early or order ahead.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cakes”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Outstanding, beautiful cakes. They make the best banana cake I've ever had. They created a gorgeous, delicious wedding cake for my daughter's recent reception...plus four delicious "side cakes." It was one of the most beautiful (and not ridiculously ornate) cakes I've ever seen. Their decorated birthday cakes are absolutely beautiful. Very good sandwiches, salads, pastries and cookies also.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisLovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northfield, il
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best bakery around!!”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Lunch fare is unique and very flavorful. Two soups daily, one is always their famous tomato basil. Yummm. Lots of sandwiches and salads to chose from, but whatever you do, buy one of their garden cakes. Whether you buy it out of the display or custom order one, these are without a doubt the BEST cakes I've ever eaten and the most beautifully decorated, too.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank likethsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy treats”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

yummy homemade treats but definetely not cheap....but worth the occasional treat. cookies, cakes, and more. teir cupcakes weren't anything special...but everything else is yummy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank michelle9580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Tarts Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Three Tarts Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing