We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much trouble...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble...”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It is rare that I write reviews, and am only inclined to do so if service is excellent or appalling...The Old Hand and Diamond was superb. We used this B n B for a wedding reception at nearby Rowton Castle, we called to ask if we could check in early to change for the wedding and were given a room at 11am - the rooms (although small) were charming and spotlessly clean. We were provided complimentary minibus to the Reception and collected after midnight by a charming young man. Breakfast was good, although we had booked breakfast at 9am, a small toddler's demands to eat at 7.45am were deemed no trouble at all, with other members of our party coming down at different times up to 9.20. An excellent family atmosphere, very welcoming and a delightful location. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit agian in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    48
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
57
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I had a fantastic steak here, but the service was just beyond belief. The woman serving behind the bar seemed to make it her business to be difficult. Firstly I asked if they had wifi access in the pub and she said they did but they didn't like people using it because it created the wrong atmosphere. I was directed to a table close to two large TV screens so how my small laptop would have spolit the atmosphere there I don't know. The table I was given was right next to the entrance to the toilets so I asked if I could eat outside instead (where there are several tables) but was told that they couldn't serve meals outside. I was told that my order would be taken from my table, but after 20 minutes no-one had come to take it so I had to go back to the bar to chase them. Then finally when I went to pay I was overcharged. I complained and the bill was corrected, but without a word of apology.

So eat here by all means but be prepared to have to push the staff hard to get proper service, and double check your bill.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Only living a few miles from The Old Hand & Diamnond, we don't use it as often as we should. However a Xmas dinner with some village friends really did make us think we should be popping in more often and especially to eat the carvery. Normally Xmas meals and also carveries can be a bit hit and miss and for me the majority of time a miss. I must say however this was one of the best roast dinners I have ever had eating out. The meat was tender, the veg fresh and appealing looking and the roast potatoes were perfect. Not an easy task when catering for large numbers. As has been mentioned in other articles, its the welcome and the atmosphere which really make the difference. I would strongly recommend to anyone. And as for the review on here that says they didn't feel they were welcomed or looked after well, all I can say is are you sure you were at the same place as all the other reviews!?
Have also rated rooms as we did stay here when we were house hunting and it was lovely.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Last Saturday we had a special family party for 30 cvrs, at The Old Hand & Diamond, nothing was too much trouble, the service was excellant and the food wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lashl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have stayed here before and our experience was a bit mixed, but after our last visit I have no hesitation in recommending this place to anybody. There are about seven bedrooms all with interesting features you will not find in modern "boxes". the same goes for the friendly staff who made us feel so welcome. We ate in one evening and can recommend the homemade fishcakes and the fillet steak. The place is obviously well run, the room was clean and the check in was very civilized. The prices seemed reasonable but the real attraction for me is the friendly atmosphere.

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank a1al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We stayed here one night during a wedding at nearby Rowton castle (seems to be a common theme in these reviews). The staff were extremely friendly, and as soon as we arrived offered us tea / coffee / snacks / etc.

We opted to wait for the Carvery to open (it was a Sunday), and it was certainly worth the wait. The meat was deliciously cooked (I had Pork, my wife had beef), tender, moist and the accompanying vegetables were also varied, perfectly cooked, and surprisingly good. The carvery is, to my opinion, not to be missed. The 50+ locals who all turned up for carvery would seem to agree... the place was packed.

After the Sunday wedding we came back late Sunday night. The staff were very friendly (they had offered to come and collect us, but we didn't need the lift), and gave us bottles of water in case we had hangovers the next day, a really thoughtful gesture.

We slept like logs (nothing to do with the alcohol, I hadn't even been drinking), but the bed, room, country air, and friendly staff just made us so relaxed. When we woke up for an early start the next day the manageress who had got up even earlier (after wishing us good night late the night before) and cooked us a delicious full english breakfast, with fresh orange juice and fresh brewed coffee.

Our room (105) was spacious, extremely clean, light and airy. It was very comfortable, and surpassed our expectations. Had we known just how nice it would be, we would have booked an extra night. It was honestly the best night's sleep we've had in ages!

For the (relatively) low price they charge, we simply hadn't expected such a nice B&B. We thoroughly recommend it (in fact, I'm recommending my parents pay a visit sometime soon). The place should be renamed to just "the diamond," it really is!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjg101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2010

Had our large family reunion here. Very disappointing. Our group had to wait nearly and hour for two alternative vegetarian meals as there was only beef on the carvery. The staff were quite rude. When asking for anything we were met with sighs and slamming food down! A small party of us stayed overnight with the B&B facility, only to be met by a surly teenager who grunted " full English"! As a positive comment I can only add that the rooms were quite big and had plenty of space. However - generaly very poor and wont recommend it to anyone>

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank bagpus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
453 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
444 reviews
9.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
238 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing