We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Atmosphere and Welcome”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It was cold outside but the atmosphere and welcome from inside the pub was warm and friendly. We had a great 2 night stay staying in room 104 which was large and clean. We had 2 great meals sat infront of a big log fire and the breakfast filled even the biggest appitites.

Room Tip: Room 104 was large compared to some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel_TCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2012

My daughter got married nearby on the 9th February and a number of our wedding guests stayed at the Old Hand and Diamond Inn. Additionally, about 40 guests met there for dinner on the 8th. The rooms are generally very good although some are larger than others - the larger rooms were normally classed as very good by our wedding guests, the smaller rooms as good.
The inn was pretty full of regulars/locals before our party arrived for dinner; it is obviously very popular. When our lot arrived, it became very full indeed. But the quality of the food and the efficiency and friendliness of the service did not falter. Both were excellent and the food was good value.
The public rooms are cosy, olde-worldy, very attractive and with a great atmosphere. The owners(?) Ian and Nicky were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble when we were making the wedding arrangements.
Finally, I should mention the hotel minibus service which was an excellent and very flexible facility. I really think the inn deserves four and a half stars but the assessment system won't allow that for a single review.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor rooms - the second floor rooms are a bit low and "beamy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Rowton Castle. The Pub allowed us to check in early and were very friendly and welcoming. They were serving lunch at the time and the food looked and smelt amazing. The pub has a roaring fire in the bar which was welcome in the cold weather. The room we were allocated was up in the eaves, and although it had a low celling it was of good size with the shower being nice and powerful. The pub laid on a minibus to take the guests over to the Castle which is only a few minutes away which was a nice touch. The breakfast the following morning was a good size and good quality. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in the Old Hand and Diamond as it offers good value, is welcoming and if you're attending a wedding at Rowton Castle it's very convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rhif7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding, service was great, a really nice place to stay breakfast was very good and loads of it, room was clean good nights sleep would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dazed1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This is my parents' 'local' as far as food goes - it's fairly standard pub food fare but the portions are good and the meals are well put together. There is often an offer of 2-for-1 in the evenings Monday to Thursday on a particular set of dishes. The range of beers and wine is OK - cheap and cheerful. There is a fireplace in the bar making it nice and cosy. I have heard good things about the B&B from people attending weddings nearby - they offer complimentary transport to the local wedding venues, and we even managed to get them to drop us home one night so that no-one had to drive! Not sophisticated, but friendly and more than adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband, sister and I stayed at this super hostelry on 10th October 2011 when my son got married at nearby Rowton Castle. We experienced a quick, friendly check in and the family room we were shown to was excellent. The staff were very helpful even offering to take us to and from the Castle for the wedding. The food, which we enjoyed, was freshly cooked and there was plenty of it. I would have no hesitation to returning here. Thank you for making our stay as pleasant as you could.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

It is rare that I write reviews, and am only inclined to do so if service is excellent or appalling...The Old Hand and Diamond was superb. We used this B n B for a wedding reception at nearby Rowton Castle, we called to ask if we could check in early to change for the wedding and were given a room at 11am - the rooms (although small) were charming and spotlessly clean. We were provided complimentary minibus to the Reception and collected after midnight by a charming young man. Breakfast was good, although we had booked breakfast at 9am, a small toddler's demands to eat at 7.45am were deemed no trouble at all, with other members of our party coming down at different times up to 9.20. An excellent family atmosphere, very welcoming and a delightful location. Would definitely recommend and hope to visit agian in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally-Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
9.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
467 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing