We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Diamond!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hand & Diamond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a Diamond!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed in so called 4 star hotels whose management could learn a lot from this fabulous Inn. The staff are friendly, cheerful and helpful. The rooms are basic, but clean, comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast is made up from locally sourced food and is absolutely delicious. The evening meal that we had there was also the best I have ever had in a pub/inn. The portions were beyond generous, and the waiting staff knew the menu. If you're going to a wedding at Rowton Castle, having a few days break in Shropshire or just travelling to Wales, do yourself a favour and have at least one night in this great inn

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

A traditional old fashioned pub offering B&B. A little down at heel and in need of a sprucing up. But if you want friendly helpful staff, you don't get much better. Rooms are small and basic. But they're clean and functional. They also provide a free shuttle to Rowton Castle for wedding guests, return as late as you like. Breakfast was what you'd expect, usual full English but again staff go the extra mile to give you what you want within reason. For the price you wn't do much better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AVG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

arrived without a booking but no problem. Very helpful landlady. Food all local sourced and homemade, even the chips. I need gluten free diet and they supplied gluten free crackers to go with the pate. Extra marks for that. Definately on my places to go back to.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineliddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Great welcome,Friendly staff,good Grub,Clean and quirky rooms,would definetley go again and recommend it to Friends,also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Some sloping roof in bedroom but added to the quirckyness,slight stiff neck !!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wynford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

It was cold outside but the atmosphere and welcome from inside the pub was warm and friendly. We had a great 2 night stay staying in room 104 which was large and clean. We had 2 great meals sat infront of a big log fire and the breakfast filled even the biggest appitites.

Room Tip: Room 104 was large compared to some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel_TCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My daughter got married nearby on the 9th February and a number of our wedding guests stayed at the Old Hand and Diamond Inn. Additionally, about 40 guests met there for dinner on the 8th. The rooms are generally very good although some are larger than others - the larger rooms were normally classed as very good by our wedding guests, the smaller rooms as good.
The inn was pretty full of regulars/locals before our party arrived for dinner; it is obviously very popular. When our lot arrived, it became very full indeed. But the quality of the food and the efficiency and friendliness of the service did not falter. Both were excellent and the food was good value.
The public rooms are cosy, olde-worldy, very attractive and with a great atmosphere. The owners(?) Ian and Nicky were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble when we were making the wedding arrangements.
Finally, I should mention the hotel minibus service which was an excellent and very flexible facility. I really think the inn deserves four and a half stars but the assessment system won't allow that for a single review.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor rooms - the second floor rooms are a bit low and "beamy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Rowton Castle. The Pub allowed us to check in early and were very friendly and welcoming. They were serving lunch at the time and the food looked and smelt amazing. The pub has a roaring fire in the bar which was welcome in the cold weather. The room we were allocated was up in the eaves, and although it had a low celling it was of good size with the shower being nice and powerful. The pub laid on a minibus to take the guests over to the Castle which is only a few minutes away which was a nice touch. The breakfast the following morning was a good size and good quality. I would thoroughly recommend a stay in the Old Hand and Diamond as it offers good value, is welcoming and if you're attending a wedding at Rowton Castle it's very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhif7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing