We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Shropshire For Sunday Lunch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

The Hand and Diamond is one if Shropshires hidden secrets when it comes to Sunday Lunches. Located kn the Shropshire/POWs border and only 20 minutes drive from Shrewsbury, it certainly captures the history of the area with its decor and food. The lunches are excellent with a Cavery to die for and the selection of food is great. Lots of veg and a choice of 4 meats on offer with different sauces. The general menu is also very good with an excellent vegetarian option and salmon dish. The wine list is varied and has a good choice of wines from around the world. Service from the staff is good and all are polite and friendly. Te area ad building is steeped in history and the bar area has lots of info in the famous local battles hundreds of years ago.
I thoroughly recommend this pub to anyone new to Shropshire and wants to taste local food and produce in a very typical British setting. Great pub, gret food and the best Cavery for miles around. Well done guys!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shropshire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

I have stayed in so called 4 star hotels whose management could learn a lot from this fabulous Inn. The staff are friendly, cheerful and helpful. The rooms are basic, but clean, comfortable and welcoming. The breakfast is made up from locally sourced food and is absolutely delicious. The evening meal that we had there was also the best I have ever had in a pub/inn. The portions were beyond generous, and the waiting staff knew the menu. If you're going to a wedding at Rowton Castle, having a few days break in Shropshire or just travelling to Wales, do yourself a favour and have at least one night in this great inn

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

A traditional old fashioned pub offering B&B. A little down at heel and in need of a sprucing up. But if you want friendly helpful staff, you don't get much better. Rooms are small and basic. But they're clean and functional. They also provide a free shuttle to Rowton Castle for wedding guests, return as late as you like. Breakfast was what you'd expect, usual full English but again staff go the extra mile to give you what you want within reason. For the price you wn't do much better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

arrived without a booking but no problem. Very helpful landlady. Food all local sourced and homemade, even the chips. I need gluten free diet and they supplied gluten free crackers to go with the pate. Extra marks for that. Definately on my places to go back to.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineliddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Great welcome,Friendly staff,good Grub,Clean and quirky rooms,would definetley go again and recommend it to Friends,also reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Some sloping roof in bedroom but added to the quirckyness,slight stiff neck !!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynford F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It was cold outside but the atmosphere and welcome from inside the pub was warm and friendly. We had a great 2 night stay staying in room 104 which was large and clean. We had 2 great meals sat infront of a big log fire and the breakfast filled even the biggest appitites.

Room Tip: Room 104 was large compared to some of the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel_TCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My daughter got married nearby on the 9th February and a number of our wedding guests stayed at the Old Hand and Diamond Inn. Additionally, about 40 guests met there for dinner on the 8th. The rooms are generally very good although some are larger than others - the larger rooms were normally classed as very good by our wedding guests, the smaller rooms as good.
The inn was pretty full of regulars/locals before our party arrived for dinner; it is obviously very popular. When our lot arrived, it became very full indeed. But the quality of the food and the efficiency and friendliness of the service did not falter. Both were excellent and the food was good value.
The public rooms are cosy, olde-worldy, very attractive and with a great atmosphere. The owners(?) Ian and Nicky were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble when we were making the wedding arrangements.
Finally, I should mention the hotel minibus service which was an excellent and very flexible facility. I really think the inn deserves four and a half stars but the assessment system won't allow that for a single review.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor rooms - the second floor rooms are a bit low and "beamy".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dolphinAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing