We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for Weddings at Rowton Castle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Handy for Weddings at Rowton Castle”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here the 17th July the night before my wedding at nearby Rowton Castle. Other guests, not staying at the Castle on the 18th July, also stayed here as we block booked the place. All the arrangements were incredibly easy and the team were very patient with us as we sorted out the details.

The Team at the Old Hand & Diamond could not have been more helpful to us with everything. They let me and the guests staying the night before have a late check out to take time to get ready for the wedding. Guests staying here were given a lift to the Castle and then picked up by the mini-bus at the end of the night. We had a nice quite night in the pub the night before with a hearty meal and a decent pint. The locals, well used to the carnival of wedding visitors the place attracts, all greeted us and made us feel welcome. The breakfast was hearty and plentiful and set us up for the day ahead. The rooms were clean, the woman responsible a real character and the bed and room was very comfortable. Ok the wi-fi is a bit haphazzard but then we are in the middle of the country here and a day without facebook did no harm.

So thanks to the Management and the Team for looking after me and my guests at what was a special time for us. We will be back sometime soon just to enjoy staying with you and seeing a bit more of the beautiful area nearby.

Room Tip: It is a pub so if you are early to bed you can expect some noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    51
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
44
63
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I'm glad it wasn't just me that noticed the sticky tables!
The beer was well kept and there were guest ales available.
The food was big farm-labourer portions and very tasty.
The decor is a pleasant country pub and the outside seating area is smart.
The staff were friendly and service was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinsley_S_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Went for meal for two on our anniversary and the beer and food were first class, as was the service.
My only gripe was the horrible sticky tables in the restaurant (this is a pet hate of mine, and while they were clean the fact that they were sticky was a bit of a put off)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordhire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a Roast dinner here on the 12th may we only had one course but it was delicious would go bk again! We had a look in the family room it was tidy and had lovely views, but not recommended for disabled people as lots of stairs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Really quaint pub in the middle of nowhere. Very friendly staff and good accommodation. Pros - mini van to Rowton Castle, cheap price, convenient for Rowton Castle. Cons - toilet was dirty, breakfast appeared warmed up, tinned mushrooms and hard bacon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked our stay for a friends wedding, and after a wrong turn, small detour and an extra 20 mins on our journey, what a welcome! Friendly staff, perfect views, fantastic room. We couldn't have asked for more, but we got it, they provide transport locally and even picked us up from rowton castle after the wedding. Breakfast was fab, hot and the service was brilliant, a little diamond, thank you xxx

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tq45ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We only stayed here for a meal. I had often said to my partner what a fantastic place this had been in years gone by and we'd always promised each other we'd go. This Easter we decided was the right time so we booked a table.

It was busy in the restaurant and after waiting a considerable time at the bar to be seated, we were not given any welcome but waited until the woman behind the bar had finished serving to ask where we should sit and we were told rather briskly"Wait a minute", shortly followed by 'that's your table'. We ordered and waited 25 minutes for our meal which when it arrived was acceptable but not special in any way. Dessert was again acceptable but a bit limited. We finished and went to pay for our meal only to see an elderly gentleman getting the rough edge of this woman's tongue too! I know it was busy and we all have off days but found she was really off putting. The only redeeming factor in the service at the Hand and Diamond was that the waitresses were very polite but I don't think we'll go back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnBraiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
9.8 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
462 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Sweeney Hall Hotel
#3 of 6 in Oswestry
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing