We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old hand and diamond” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Hand & Diamond

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coedway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Hand & Diamond
Ranked #1 of 1 Coedway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“old hand and diamond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

just had a great weekend at this historic pub,2 nights b and b.we were visiting the iron bridge gorge and some of the mueums in that area and thought the location was just perfect.the in was lovely and the staff were very helpful and polite.if you plan to eat in the inn i would advise booking your table when you book your accommadation as the place gets really busy as people come from miles around to eat there.the birdlife around the inn was a birdwatchers delight,too many species to mention,well worth taking your bins and camera with you.if you like the thought of staying in historic innsthis is the place for you...just mind your head when going up the the stairs to bed....

Room Tip: rooms above the main entrance get a lovely sunrise with stunning bird song..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    46
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
41
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Staying in the area with family we re-visited this pub yesterday (Monday) evening. We'd reserved a table in the main room near the fire; a proper large open log one comensurate with the age of the building. Took drinks to the table to study the menu (e.g. haddock chips and mushy peas £10.50, butternut squash the same price; salmon £12.95). A local brew (bonfire brew) was £3.30 while a large glass of wine £5.60. Was not "horrified" by the prices as an earlier reviewer was as other than at Wetherspoons these costs seemed to me to be about the going rate these days. Food was well presented, plentiful and tasty and served with a smile. They do get extremely busy at weekends (sunday lunch £13.95 for 3 courses) and at holiday times so delays must be expected but while you're able to sit in a lovely old pub with a drink in front of a roaring fire? does it really matter? Well done to all at the Old Hand & Diamond.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S_n_D_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed in this B & B with my bridesmaids and friends the night before my wedding (7th Sept 2013) at Rowton Castle. We had taken up 5 of the 7 rooms availiable. I have to say the staff were extremely welcoming the rooms were very clean and the evening meals and the breakfast the next morning were excellent, hot with quick efficient service. I would definitely stay here again if ever in the area. Also wanted to add my brother was let down with his accomodation in a campsite down the road and the owners of The Old Hand & Diamond really came up trumps they allowed all five of the girls to go into the very large family room (big enough to sleep a very large family) and let him stay in one of the other rooms and they didn't even charge us for the extra breakfast. I would 100% recommend this B & B and I really hope they read this review.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleandFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Visited as a party of 4 adults and 4 children for Sunday lunch (following a walk up nearby Rodney's Pillar) and enjoyed a pleasant and reasonably priced 3 course lunch. The pub was lovely and warm with a lit fire and we had a very comfortable afternoon there. Service was very efficient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MmeBarbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this pub for a family meal, originally for 27 but 4 days before confirmed as 18. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We arrived early to set the scene and was asked if we needed blu tac or anything. We could decorate this corner of the resteraunt as we wished. The service was fantastic , everything was served promptly but we never felt rushed. The food was delicious and they could even find us candles and a lighter when we needed it. I would definitely come here again. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were pleasantly suprised to find such a good pub and restaurant so far out of the way.
Food was excellent, especially the home made pie, and the service was superb. Priced as pub grub, and therefore excellent value. They also run a taxi service which made life very relaxing after a long day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susiefage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Our party of 12 was amiably shipped in by Mike the driver and the food that followed was great. The pub is in a very nice location and was perfect respite from our own camping cooking! The lift back was equally well received, particularly after eating so much!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coedway
2.7 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Bear Lodge
Big Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Melverley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Wollaston Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hand & Diamond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hand & Diamond

Property: The Old Hand & Diamond
Address: Main Road | Coedway, near Shrewsbury, Coedway SY5 9AR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Coedway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Coedway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hand & Diamond 3*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing