We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Business Traveler or Shopper”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Oak Brook
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for the Business Traveler or Shopper”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I spent a night here for business. It is convenient to many businesses in the area and to the mall.

There are a number of restaurants at the mall that are quite good, which is nice because you won't want to eat dinner at the hotel. The sports bar is okay for a beer, but you don't want to eat dinner there.

My room was on the HHonors floor. It was clean, comfortable, and quiet.

Overall, this is a good place to base your operations in the Oakbrook area, but it is not a destination unto itself.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JusticeSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
JusticeSalmon,

Thank you for sharing your experience, and for being our guest. There are a couple of new restaurants that have opened, and I am going to plug one of them, try Perry's Steakhouse. It's absolutely fantastic, and our shuttle will pick you up and drop you off.

We look forward to having you back as our guest.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    336
    185
    60
    27
See reviews for
203
144
57
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saginaw, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times this year and it has gone from a hotel favorite to a dive. This place seems to not care and it has a cattle call feeling. The place is not and they seem to use every opportunity to charge for things. The executive lounge ( a much loved benefit for frequent travelers) charges for beer and wine which is not the case at EVERY OTHER Doubletree that has one.

The rooms are loud and if the hotel is busy with a conference, it can be unbearable. I am so disappointed but with all the other choices in Oakbrook, Im sure I will find one that I like. Stay tuned...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncsoo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
ncsoo7,

I am terribly sorry we did not exceed your expectations. We don't offer complimentary beverages in our executive lounge, but the food offerings we put out daily are quite nice.

Additionally, our HHonors loyalty program is one of the best in the business, and a very quick way to earn fantastic rewards like free nights.

We would love the opportunity to have you back as our guest. If you are returning, please feel free to give me a call on my cell, 630 715-9211, so we may have the opportunity to do it right for you.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The staff at the front desk seemed don't care. The worst was the staff and waiters of the restaurant which serves breakfast did not care much about the service. What I found out all other parties who were attending the meeting had same problems with the waiters/staff. I think if the staff at the front desk and workers in the restaurant get a better training and told customer service is important hotel will get advantage.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Abbas Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Abbas Q,

I am truly sorry our team did not exceed your expectations. This is extremely atypical of our folks, and we have shared this review with our entire service team in our daily meetings.

We hope to have you back as our guest, so we have the opportunity to make it right.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a one night stay in October. The room was very clean and furnishings were fine. As several people noted - the hotel is quiet and offered good night of sleep. The common areas are also well kept. I thought the room was small for this specific brand. Service was friendly and accommodating. Nothing very notable to mention. Close the the McDonald's corporate Plaza and the Oak Brook Center/Mall.

I'll give another plug for customer service. After arriving to my room, the room type was not what I reserved. A quick call the the front desk and I had a new room assignment. They ran the key up to the new room and met me at the door. Thanks :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
jra3,

Thank you for staying with us, and for the kind words about the service from the team. We do offer a number of various room types and styles. For a larger room I suggest the king no balcony rooms.

Have a fantastic holiday season!

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here many times over the past year and I always look forward to coming back. The hotel is located very close to my office in Oak Brook and directly across the street from the Oak Brook Center and some restaurants but there is no road noise. The hotel is just on the edge of being "dated", but the staff is always friendly and professional and the rooms are always fully clean. It is a busy hotel, so there is foot traffic, but the type of guests here tend to be quieter than other hotels I've stayed at (I've never heard drunk college aged or seen a child running around at this one). I enjoy all the perks this hotel has for the upper tiers of the Hilton Honors program, like free breakfast, free fitness center, and some room upgrades. There is also a running path nearby...for those 3 months above freezing in Chicagoland.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ILiveOutofaSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
jILiveOutofaSuitcase,.

Thank you for sharing the experience of your stays with us. It really does carry more weight when someone who lives out of a suitcase says such kind words about the team, the location, and the services.

From all of us here we truly appreciate your loyalty, and keeping us all working!!

Happy holidays to you and yours.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Stayed here for Thanksgiving. The Front Desk Team was very friendly and gracious - a testament to their work ethic since working on such a major Holiday. The Atrium restaurant Team was awesome. Great service and food for Dinner and Breakfast. Loved the beautifully decorated Christmas Tree in the Lobby. Also, the popcorn in the bar was a nice touch. Last but not least, the cookies were delicious. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Madeline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Madeline T,

Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving here with us, and thank you for pointing out the team who was here working on the holiday.

It's not easy to be away from family on holidays, while it seems like everyone else is home eating and watching football, and we in the business are working. That said, it's really cool when someone truly appreciates the commitment.

Come back and see us any time.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

With all the other hotels in the area, pick one with better ammenities and do your research. No refrigerator. Only 3 towels. Smelly room. Small rooms. Definitely not what I expected from a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Tony C,

I saw your feedback on our internal service scoring, and have already reviewed with the team our mistake in putting you next to rooms we were painting. We are also always happy to provide any extra towels, amenities, or anything else you might need to make your stay more comfortable. I am sorry we did not communicate that.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and truly appreciate your taking the time to give us straightforward feedback.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Brook
0.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Chicago - Oakbrook Center
1.1 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Hyatt Lodge at McDonald's Campus
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chicago Marriott Oak Brook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
Address: 1909 Spring Rd, Oak Brook, IL 60523-3923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
#3 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 428
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois' largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookie with walnuts, at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing