We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and clean room!”
Review of Gateway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
“Great Service and clean room!”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Just would like to thank the owners of the motel for being very accomodating. We stayed there this past weekend and the room was very nice. The flat screen tv and cable, air conditioning, bed, and bath were clean. We will gladly stay there the next time we are here visiting our Chicago family.

Room Tip: If you need a first floor, make sure you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iowavisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
33
22
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Western Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

In February 2012, I had to attend a training event which was being at the hospital which is located very near this motel. I needed to stay two nights. I chose this motel due to location and price. I was not disappointed.

This motel is not fancy--and I have absolutely no problem with that. I wasn't looking for a spa or resort. I was looking for a place to sleep that was "easy on my wallet". The overall design and decor are probably closer to 1972 than 2012--BUT I found my room to be well-maintained, clean, and reasonably quiet (especially for being located on a busy street and near a hospital). There was a microwave and refrigerator in my room. There was an adequate channel selection on the flat screen television. The bed was clean and comfortable.

The front desk staff members were very pleasant and helpful The continental breakfast was very small--but adequate. It snowed a few inches on my second night there. Once the snow stopped, the space all around my car was shoveled out for me. There are a few fast food restaurants, a convenience store and a small "strip mall" located within easy walking distance.

If I ever need to stay in Oak Lawn again--and I want a nice, inexpensive, place to sleep, I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prain4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This quaint, family owned motel was the perfect choice for my visit. I was looking for a convenient location close to my daughter, reasonably priced, safe, and clean. The Gateway met my requirements perfectly. Very sweet and helpful owners and staff, coffee and pastries in the office every morning, clean and safe. Free wifi, flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwave, cable, and air conditioning that kept me cool during a heat wave in July. Located on 95th, I expected to hear the traffic, but not so. I couldn't even hear the baby in the room next door. It was the perfect choice.

They gave my daughter the key to the room the day before, as my flight came in very late, and when my laptop would not pick up the wireless signal from one of the end rooms, they moved me to a closer spot with no hesitation.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatG7227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

Staying at the Gateway was convient and was almost like being at home. Each room has a convient refrigerator and microwave. The air conditioning worked great. And the bathrooms were a great size. As for cleaniness, it was also like being at home. Close to expressways, shopping and restaurants galore, we will make Gateway our "Home away from home" next time we come to visit family.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank w_james
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Lawn
0.2 mi away
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
Hilton Chicago/Oak Lawn
#1 of 4 in Oak Lawn
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midway Inn & Suites
Midway Inn & Suites
#4 of 4 in Oak Lawn
18 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Inn & Suites - Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago / Alsip
4.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Chicago/alsip
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago Midway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Inn

Property: Gateway Inn
Address: 4657 W 95th St, Oak Lawn, IL 60453-2529
Region: United States > Illinois > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, super clean and affordable. Great location near Advocate Hospital, Little Company of Mary Hospital, Midway Airport, downtown Chicago, metra station. We offer a free breakfast, HBO, ESPN and more....we are a great stop as a real at-home Mom and Pop inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing