We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh....”

King And I Thai Restaurant
Ranked #90 of 132 Restaurants in Oak Park
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
Restaurant details
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Meh....”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My daughter and I used to frequent this place almost every Monday. But then we found another place that we enjoyed much more. After several months of absence, we returned to the King and I and it appears the management, cook, and service staff has changed. I was really disappointed with the food (in fact, the tofu tasted spoiled and I was sick to my stomach the next day). I don't know that we will return anytime soon. The prices are very reasonable but that's the only reason to go at this point.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ttaylor2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tasty, cheap lunch”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

This is a pleasant, clean place. A set-price meal is about $6; you get egg or spring roll, soup, main dish and fortune cookie. The soup was salty, but the vegetables in it were perfectly crisp-tender. The spring roll was small and drenched in a gooey bean paste sauce. The pad thai was basically seasoned with fish sauce - not at all complex and authentic. All in all, a decent meal for a totally reasonable price.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Typical cheap asian food w/huge portions”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Not amazing, not horrible. Huge lunch portions but a little greasy and sloppy flavors. Not a true Thai experience.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Miche60605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The worst Thai food.”
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I have had Thai food in Thailand, Scotland, Canada and in many cities in the US. This is hands down the worst Thai food I have ever eaten.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
487 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“Extremely Good... If You Order Right”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

On a hunt for the best pad thai in Oak Park, I started my search here and was not disappointed. The pad thai itself was absolutely fantastic-- great flavor, plenty of egg and tofu, tasty bean sprouts.

The other food, though, wasn't so great. We got the Pad Ped Tofu, medium spicy, and the red curry sauce didn't have very much flavor at all. It was spicy like red pepper flakes, but the tastes weren't very complex or very infused into the tofu and vegetables in the dish.

Still, for the price (about $8 an entree), it's a great deal. And the decor-- the robot made from soda cans-- in the entryway adds a nice touch of kitsch. My recommendation: come here for fantastic noodle dishes; don't expect too much from the vegetable-based menu items.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King And I Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to King And I Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing