We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Oak Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was our 3rd or 4th time staying at the Harvey House. Everything about our stay was awesome from the cookies when we first arrived to the luxurious linens. Beth, the innkeeper, is so attentive. The breakfast was scrumptious and so were the desserts She gave us the recipe to the yummy granola she made for breakfast and helped us with activities. This is the place to stay when staying in Chicago. So much better than a hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

My Husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 5th anniversary. The house is gorgeous and beautifully decorated! Beth was wonderful! She gave us great dinner recommendations! She knows her food! Breakfast was delicious! It was a very romantic get away to celebrate our marriage. Thanks Beth!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaylebauer81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My boyfriend and I are both twenty. Our thing is to go to many different bed and breakfast places. We got lucky here. The first week of October the The Harvey House had a cancellation for the Chalet Room. I booked it right away. This house is wonderful! Beth did such a fantastic job and her cooking is very divine. She goes beyond a standard meal and creates elegant meals with the freshest produce. Oak Park is such a cute town and I couldn't be more thrilled with our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohbaby427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We have stayed at many B&B's but this one was quite different. A beautiful property just a short ride to our downtown business meeting we had each day for a week.
The Innkeeper is meticulous with keeping the inn as clean as possible. We saw her cleaning on of the bathrooms with a cleaning light which showed she really wanted to make sure the room was spotless. The morning breakfasts were very nice, The food was made from all local farms and organic suppliers. Beth and The Harvey House will most certainly be the Inn of Choice when we visit Chicago for our corporate meetings

Room Tip: Pick The Chalet Room its beautiful and the Bed is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Harvey House. We loved our room (the Chalet room) and the entire house. The hostess, Beth, was very friendly and personal. Breakfasts were delicious. Oak Park is fascinating and the Green Line to Chicago quick and easy. So we divided our time between Oak Park and Chicago. We are already talking about returning some time in the future.
Stig and Renee Karlberg
Rockford, IL

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viking13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I've stayed at Harvey House B&B at Oak Park Illinois several times in the past year. Every time I come to this hotel I feel the ultimate comfort and hospitality. Beth is an amazing hostess who takes care of her clients and caters to their special needs. I have celiac so Beth makes sure that my breakfast is gluten-free, but still exceptionally delicious. She puts the effort to prepare gluten-free muffins, waffles or pan cakes especially for me, with eggs and gluten-free bread.
Everything is so clean and fresh at Harvey House. I love it!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are special but my favorite is Jimmy Stewart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SihamSemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I booked two rooms for my brother and I returning from southern Ill to bury my grandmother. Parking was an issue for me finding a place to stay as in the city most hotels charge a lot for parking. This was within a reasonable distance to everything we wanted to do and public transportation is very close. The inn keeper is very knowledgeable about the entire Chicago area, an amazing and accommodating person.
The breakfasts were gourmet, ambiance of the inn and rooms was very nice. High recommendation!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms, we peaked into all of them, were very nice with private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park
0.7 mi away
The Carleton of Oak Park
0.5 mi away
Write Inn
Write Inn
#2 of 2 in Oak Park
181 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Chicago Hillside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chicago Airport West
7.7 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
5.6 mi away
Regal Inn Chicago-O'hare Airport Franklin Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 107 S Scoville Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302-2911
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Price Range: £153 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's most luxurious inn featuring fireplaces and oversized luxury baths with jucuzzi tubs, gourmet breakfast. Suites that are Ideal for Romantic Getaways, and also rooms ideal for the business traveler. Combines the best of luxury hotels and botique inns. Perfect location with supurb access to downtown and airports. WIFI, garage parking, great for romantic getaways, mini breaks, and ideal for the discriminationg business traveler that prefers great furnishings,great matresses and great food. Walk to dozens of shops and restraunts. Chicago Trib calls Harvey House Best Kept Secret and an architectural and design triumph! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing