We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quiet comfy rooms, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carleton of Oak Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, quiet comfy rooms, good service”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The Carleton was a top find for us. Recently redecorated, our room in the hotel (chosen over he motel for the quiet) was spacious, comfortable and quiet. We ate in the hotel (Bradley's) one night and had a great dinner. Cafe (Poor Phil's) in the front of the hotel was a great place for breakfast. The L was a quick one block walk, half hour trip downtown on the Loop. Free parking was an a nice bonus. We'd stay there again in a minute, whether traveling by air or car.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvzwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    162
    54
    17
    15
See reviews for
108
97
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed here for Lollapalooza downtown and never moved our car. Room has been updated with 50's style fabrics and prints you would find at CB2 but a bit more upscale. Room has a kitchenette, updated bathroom, etc. Beds are nice and comfy and if your forgot your toiletries they ones provided are Gilchrist & Soames. Walls are paper thin-just so you know, ahem. House keeping is a bit rude, talked to management about not respecting our do not disturb and the attempt to get me to do her job while I was getting dressed around 8:30 AM. I don't empty trash cans on vaycay in my undies. Parking is a nightmare as it always is in Chicago, be sure to get your pass. Ours was included in the rate. We hopped on the L train just a block down and were in downtown Chicago in less than the drive time and head ache for sure. We walked to breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great community to stroll in, local bookstore, cheese store and yarn emporium is marvelous. Made me want to stay more than two nights.

Room Tip: Ask for the motor lodge and if housekeeping gives you guff-inform management.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iwearblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel is located in the cute neighborhood of Oak Park. It convenient to everything.

The rooms are darling. There was separate sitting area with a dining table, microwave & refrigerator. Our young family enjoyed having breakfast there daily. We loved it!
If you like that old world (1940's) feel, you'll love this hotel:-) When you walk through the doors, you definitely feel like you've stepped into another era.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurls T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I stayed here about 12 years ago and remember they were renovating portions then. It’s beautiful even 12 years later. The lobby is nice and my room was spacious and clean. The tile floor in the bath could use a little bit of attention but it was not disgusting; it just needed a little elbow grease. My room had three portions to it: the sleeping area with a lovely desk, table and two chairs, a COMFORTABLE overstuffed chair, TV armoire, and a bed; the bath had two sinks and a wonderful shower with one wall being glass bricks; and a little room with a microwave, sizeable refrigerator, and cabinets stocked with real dishes and cutlery. It was all I needed to feel absolutely comfortable during my two-night stay. The only caution, if you are in room 202, is that the staff uses the fire escape for quick access to the dumpsters! Yikes! Glad I’m modest and had the curtains pulled as the fire escape leads right past the windows! I would suggest they take the long route!

Room Tip: Go for a room not on the street and high enough that the sound of the dumpsters and the staff on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnjoyTravelAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel's best feature is its location right in Oak Park. It is in a very old building, so the elevator is so tiny we couldn't fit in there with our luggage. It is not easy to get around for a handicapped person, there are stairs all over the place. The beds were very bouncy but pretty comfortable. The comforters were oddly cheap. As in Motel 6 crappy cheap. The room was nice, and clean, and the bathroom was modern, which made the crappy comforters stand out even more. If they changed the comforters from the 100% polyester-throw-it-on-the-floor-quick type to a duvet type, they could charge more per night.
The restaurant is OK, it gets VERY loud in there, which was hard for the older people we were with. The food was good. The server was incredibly enthusiastic, almost to a fault. We just wanted to eat and enjoy our meal in peace, which was impossible.
The WiFi was spotty and the front desk woman gave me the wrong password, and then got pissed when I had to call back. We opted to print our boarding passes at the two computers they have downstairs, and had some trouble, though it was sorted out in the end. Same woman had attitude about the computers (like I don't know how to use a computer) so maybe that's just her way, though she might consider how she comes across to guests. The parking is in several separate lots around the hotel, which was fine.

Again, the best reason to stay at this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMas820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We spent one night in the motel; loved the layout and it was very clean and comfortable. The furnishings are designed to make you feel like you're staying in a motel - they aren't really outdated. Two drawbacks for me - the walls are thin. I could hear the woman in the next room coughing during the night. Luckily, I always take earplugs when traveling, so I solved that issue. My pillow was lumpy and far too soft - there were others in the closet that I found the following day. Check in was quick and easy, parking was closeby (without an additional cost to us). The Barclay restaurant was hopping with outdoor diners on the night of our arrival (it was late evening). We popped into the little corner bar (Poor Phil's) for a night cap. The following morning we had breakfast at Poor Phil's. Loved that they had a couple of small portion plates, which we very good. The location of the Carleton is great; close enough to walk around the town.

Room Tip: The motel rooms are less expensive (not cheap) than the hotel. It's quiet on a beautiful tree-l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Staff was very friendly and the neighborhood is nice. Near shops and the L. We were in the motel part. It was large and clean and we liked having the mini kitchen (micro, fridge, sink, plates, cutlery) and the little table. It was really ugly... not the lobby which was very pretty, just our room. I don't know how much this matters to most people but it was kind of a bummer for the money we paid. Nothing was dirty or old just ugly and it kind of made our romantic night... less romantic. But that was the only flaw. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Loop
Hampton Inn Chicago Downtown West Loop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carleton of Oak Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carleton of Oak Park

Property: The Carleton of Oak Park
Address: 1110 Pleasant Street, Oak Park, IL 60302-3093
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carleton of Oak Park 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Carleton of Oak Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carleton Of Oak Park Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Of Oak Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing