We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works because not many other options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carleton of Oak Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Stayed here for work a few times. Primarily could use new carpeting. Rooms are all unique layouts. Not deep in amenities, but good beds, bath and facilities. Haven't eaten at places in hotel, but they look attractive and have a steady crowd.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank spanlaketraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for The Carleton of Oak Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was our 3rd or 4th stay at the Carlton. Our first visit was great. We had an enormous room (almost a suite) that was clean and neat. The size of the room given to us has gotten smaller with every visit. The service has also become hap-hazard over time. The prices, on the other hand have hit the roof . We paid 200+ including taxes etc. for a very small room. The next weekend we stayed in a suite at a Hyatt Regency for 160 + taxes. The Carlton has been the go-to place for us and other family members because we thought it was clean, had great service and the price was right for an older hotel without all the amenities of a Hyatt or Hilton. We may not choose The Carlton next time we are in the area. It's not awful, but it certainly not what it used to be.

Room Tip: Ask how big the rooms are when you book
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TomiH459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very large, well appointed rooms (once a residential hotel). Super clean and spotless bathrooms. Attentive staff. Reminded me of the fifties. Relatively few amenities, no room service other than dinner. Located in a great district, fun to walk around. They provide coffee maker but no creamer. Nice bars and restaurants on site and in vicinity.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Mikeinmotio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This is the third time staying at this welcoming and convenient hotel right in the heart of Oak Park. This time suite 412 had been superbly refurbished and felt very luxurious. The decor is smart and comfy but still fits in perfectly with the age and ambiance of the hotel. They haven't tried to make it into an "Anywhere In The World" place. The hotel staff are very helpful and brought more hangers straight away, and couldn't do enough to make my stay perfect.
I didn't eat in Poor Phil's diner this time. What put me off was the awful smell of food frying when you walk through to exit the hotel. Of course if you exit from the other side road, you would avoid this but it's not so convenient if you're being picked up by car. I don't know what could be done to minimise this unpleasant waft, except perhaps having a more efficient extractor fan fitted. Funnily enough I don't remember it being as bad as this on my previous two visits. However, this would never stop me staying here again. I felt so comfortable and at home. Well done, Carleton, I shall return!

Room Tip: I would always ask for a higher floor, and the suites are very good value. But all the rooms look p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam_Shapiro_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is close to the el, restaurants, and Frank Lloyd Wright houses. Upon first checking in, I was wary of staying in the single floor out buildings, but upon entering my room it was really cute. King bed, table and chairs, fridge, microwave, plus the usual items. The front desk people were really accommodating and I had no issues with wifi as others had noted. We used the parking for just one night and I'm glad they had lots, because it can be difficult finding street parking. Tons of great restaurants are within walking distance, as is the main reason we were there - FLW homes. I'm glad they let us reuse our towels and linen, but still came in and cleaned the rooms.

Room Tip: Lower cost rooms are in the "out buildings" that are a single floor and they were quite cu...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarletonHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Carleton of Oak Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review and for being our guest! We truly appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Carleton of Oak Park. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was one of the many hotels we stay in as we traveled across country this summer. It did not serve breakfast like the franchise hotels but did have a refrigerator, dishes and a microwave in the room. It offered free parking and It was only 2 blocks from the 'el' transportation into Chicago via the Oak Park stop so we were able to get into the city about 20 minutes away very easily everyday of the vacation. It was located in a nice neighborhood so we felt safe returning late in the evening.
The wifi was free but we had better luck connecting to it in the morning than at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ellen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel is a scam, they lure you in with gorgeous online photos, attached restaurants and a beautiful entrance/lobby but dont be fooled they will give you a musty dingy smell filled room in the main hotel or a sketchy tasteless room with paper thin walls in the attached motel. At least the rooms in the motel are exceptionally clean wish I could say the same for the main hotel. Its overpriced on top of that

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oak Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
O'Hare
Renaissance Chicago O'Hare Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carleton of Oak Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carleton of Oak Park

Address: 1110 Pleasant Street, Oak Park, IL 60302-3093
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oak Park
Price Range: £106 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carleton of Oak Park 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Carleton of Oak Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carleton Of Oak Park Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Hotel Oak Park
Carleton Of Oak Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing