We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably tasty!”
Review of Poor Phil's

Poor Phil's
Ranked #10 of 157 Restaurants in Oak Park
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Our family has been going to Poor Phils for years. Great variety of beers and seafood offerings. Definitely try the fish tacos, the lobster roll, the crab bisque soup, and the oysters. Plus, do yourself a favor and get the tater tots!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 16amyb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Stopped here for Dinner when in the area which was recommended to me to try.

The atmosphere is good and everyone seemed friendly. They have a nice outdoor seating area but ate inside because of the rain.

I sat at the bar and the service was good. The bartender was good at recommending items on the menu since I had not been here before.

I ordered the lobster roll with a side of Gumbo soup. While waiting for my food I was offered popcorn which was good. The lobster roll was a little pricey but good and a large portion. The Gumbo I would recommend it was very good.

Overall I would eat here again the only negative thing I would say is that the seating inside seems packed in and is hard to walk around the tables without bumping into someone. This would not keep me from visiting them again when in the area.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Dragons30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Good breakfasts and a nice casual bar. The patio dining is great when the weather is good. Casual fare at good prices.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Roberta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

Disappointed with almost everything that was served except for the popcorn.
Wanted good seafood but the tartar sauce had no flavor, the fish and chips were disappointing. The one who had the lobster sandwich did not feel well the next day. In general would not recommend this place.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank yetta52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Nice place for lunch and dinner. Crab legs are decent for a good meal. Sweet potato fries are decent. All in all a good place for couples or a group!

Each meal was prepared well and eatable. Good stuff.

Will go again!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank W4923PZlorenzoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Poor Phil's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing