We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Terrible service!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The facilities in this hotel is okay but the service is completely terrible. The manager is rude and kind of impatient. I have booked a two beds suite for three nights a month ago. But the hotel did not contact me to updates the reservation. When I arrived there, they told me there is no two beds suite for me. What they offered was upgrading the suite with $100/night fee or staying in the one bed suite. The manager refused to cancel the reservation and charged the full price. What makes me very uncomfortable is their attitude is terribly arrogant and they only cared about money instead of the feeling of customers. That maybe how they run their business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Zege,

I am dissappointed we did not meet your expectations. Sometimes when you book through a 3rd party website it can be confusing. I suggest the next time you book a reservation to go to the hotels website or call the hotel directly to avoid any misunderstanding. Thank you for the feedback and we will communicate to the 3rd party websites to try and make it more clear for our travelors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    42
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
12
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Until this morning, I would have said that this property was a near perfect place for my husband, daughter, dog, cat & I to stay during a move. Moves are stressful, but the hot breakfast daily, great coffee, FREE use of washers and dryers and convenient location added up to a great place to stay. Then I woke up to find my cat missing and panicked. I went to the front desk, and they told me that yes, they'd found her. They took me to a vacant hotel room, where they'd set her up with a litter tray, food and water. She was still scared and hiding under the bed, BUT I was so appreciative of their great care of her. Thanks Staybridge for your amazing staff! and a TOP RATED stay!

Room Tip: This is a quiet "office park" sort of area, so all the rooms are find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bctravels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
bctravels54,

We are so glad you love our hotel and our staff. This is exactly the kind of culture we have created and love to hear we are delivering it. We are happy you were reunited with you cat, as we know our pets are like our children. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

It's hard to formulate an appropriate review considering the conflicting circumstances. Where do I start, I know, with the positive.

This hotels had to have one of the best group of staff members that you could EVER ask for! Everyone was extremely nice, friendly, and helpful... I mean, above and beyond helpful. That was a pleasant surprise. Now for the cons.

My room (#218) had to be one of the most pitiful rooms that I've ever stayed in at a 3 star joint. The carpet looked wet, like it had just been cleaned earlier that morning, but it wasn't. There was this huge red stain in the middle of the living room floor, and it reeked of sourness (is that even a word) or wet dog maybe. I know that families with kids tend to get the crappier rooms, but we weren't given the crappy room discount. We actually paid a premium I believe.

Then, to make matters worse, there was this huge pee stain on the couchbed mattress. I had to get several plastic trash bags to cover it up and use multiple blankets from the closet before I let my kids go to sleep on it. The icing on the cake was the manager's reception. The guy that was cooking the burgers, dogs, and links was super nice. But he unintentionally got my wife and I sick. I was on the plane early the next morning nauseated from eating undercooked meat. Apparently he made my family and I some brats on the grill outside. They were pretty seared, so I assumed that they were done. Only after breaking off the third link as I was eating did I notice that the meat was still RAW in the center. But of course it was too late by then. At least I didn't have to puke it up.

That, and the only other thing was that it took an hour to get to the airport (MDW) from this hotel, so plan accordingly. Oh, and there's no pool... but even if there was, you'd probably want to stay indoors due to the shear number of bugs and critters that call this area home. There's this marsh area across the street that seems to just attract them.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rabalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Rabalicious,

I am sorry to hear we did not deliver the quality we strive to give each of our guests. Cleanliness is obviously a very important part of our business and we take pride in delivering that to each guest. Would you please contact me directly, as I would like to talk with you personally about this situation. I can be reached at 630-953-9393.

Chris Mowry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Rooms are clean, breakfast is OK (better than average 3*). Front desk is very attentive and friendly. Sofabed in our room was broken. They moved us to another room and waived one night fee. Location isn't close to anything, but it works if you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
CanRu,

I am dissapointed to hear about the sofabed. I will have maintenance look into that immediately. Happy to hear the front desk took care of you and I hope you were satisfied with the resolution. I hope to see you again soon and I appreciate the feedback.

Chris Mowry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is one of my favorite hideouts. It's conveniently located, the rooms are quite spacious, and the prices are usually very reasonable. Also the staff is accommodating and the breakfast is excellent. I would recommend, and have recommended, this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
DMMcBride,

I am happy to hear you love our hotel. Our staff is trained to meet your every need and it makes us proud to hear they have been meeting your expectations. I appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you stay again.

Chris Mowry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

I have a family of 7 and the kitchen was a plus., The front staff and breakfast and social staff were Amazing!!!!! Laundry is a huge plus tooThanks guys you made our 2 week stay easy. Only down side is no pool or hot tub any more

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merroz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Merroz78,

I am happy you were able to take advantage of our many ammenities during your two week stay. Thank you so much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My Husband, myself and our two grown sons stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June. The downtown hotels were mostly booked up and crazy expensive. We were a bit worried about being too far from the main attractions and driving and parking, but it worked out great. We were extremely pleased with the hotel and the amenities it offered: free parking, great breakfast, two rooms with two TV's, a well equipped kitchen and even a shuttle to the nearest train station (which we never had to use). Driving to town was no more than 30 minutes and fairly easy. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the location nice and quiet, yet close to a main highway and many shops and restaurants. Also free high speed internet which worked very well. All in all a great place to stay and a great value.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a view to the pond was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lsabina11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
LilianSW,

I appreciate the great feedback. I am glad you found many of our amenities to be usefull. I will pass on the great service Elanor provided to you and your family. We enjoy hearing the success stories.

Sincerely,
Chris Mowry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
1.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
#5 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace

Property: Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Address: 200 Royce Blvd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-4836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#4 Family Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Chicago-Oak Brook is an all suite upgraded hotel located ideally in the heart of the new renaissance business district of Oakbrook. Each suite, features fully-equipped kitchens complete with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. Double bed sofa sleeper in each suite. Work area is well lit with an expansive desk and ergonomical chair, free high-speed WiFi Internet in suite & throughout entire hotel. Two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voice mail. Free bountiful hot breakfast buffet is offered every morning. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening a Sundowner Reception offers a lite dinner entree with free beer, wine and sodas. Library, business center, board room, free guest laundry, fitness center and whirlpool tub. Located 20 miles from downtown Chicago/McCormick Place. Negotiated Corporate rates available. Headquarter hotel for: Joint Commission, MicroTek, SAP, Exelon, McDonald's Corp, IBM, Crowe Horwath, GE, Elkay, & BrainLab. Favored hotel for patients and visitors to Loyola Medical Center in Maywood. Free shuttle to & from office and area attractions. Free ample Parking. Motorcoach Tour groups most welcomed. Close to popular attractions Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, numerous Golf Courses, two extensive shopping malls. Pet friendly hotel (pet fees & restrictions do apply!). Guaranteed check in time is 3:00 PM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Staybridge Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing