We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad customer service, incovenience, etc”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Certificate of Excellence
Salem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad customer service, incovenience, etc”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel, since it was within reasonable distance from Midway Chicago Airport. I was disappointed about staying here, there was construction going on inside the lobby of the hotel and close to the front desk, and they had dust all over the floor that you carry on your shoes to your room. They had a problem with the electronic cards, so they did not give us a key, but instead the front desk girl had to open the doors for us. We were a bit hesitance about it, since we left our Ipad’s and luggage in the room, but they were there when we came back and the lady had to come back again and open the room for us. I was not impressed with their breakfast is more of a continental breakfast than anything else, and the space it’s small so when there is people in the place where you get you food it can get crowed it quickly.

The customer service was bad, they did not clean our room even after we set up a time and told them we wanted someone to take the garbage out, and do a light cleaning. They told us that the lady who clean was sick; well that is not my problem, they should have a contingency plan and deliver their promises; so that was bad customer service in my opinion, the same as bad service from a guy at the front desk who I called to request more toilet paper since we run out of it. I told him if he can deliver some at our room, 1 hour later still no toilet paper, I just went to the front desk and asked the guy for toilet paper and he gave me one roll. Speaking of bathrooms they do not have a fan in the restroom, so when we entered our room I kept smelling some musky odor that I did not like. The bed was kind noise, and not very comfortable, the only good thing this hotel has is a good location in Oakbrook terrace IL where other nice hotels are, and the insulation in the rooms is good because you don’t here other people in other rooms but you can hear them in the hall way. If you want maid service for your room this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler22Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I know a lobby renovation can be very frustrating for our guests and we have attempted to minimize the impact, but during some stages it has been difficult. The guest room key issue was also unfortunate but also very uncommon. The system did have an issue but is fully operational now. I want to apologize for the guest service issues you experienced. We set expectations and did not meet them. We also made excuses for why services were not provided and you are correct, that is not your concern. All these comments are being reviewed and addressed with our team see we can improve our guests experience moving forward. We do hope you will give us another opportunity next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    42
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
40
12
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Free breakfast each day and a light dinner four days a week
Great location near mall
Great, friendly, helpful staff

Let me note - I see a review of this hotel on the side panel that mentions loud construction during renovation. Well, there is a cost for progress. If a hotel never renovates, then there are complaints about it being old and out of date. But then if a property renovation, there are complaints about the temporary discomfort that comes with change or improvement... but I digress. Just injecting some unsolicited commentary into my review :-)

In any case I stayed at the property as the renovation was beginning and also during renovation. I didn't experience any loud construction noise, but I noticed a big big difference after the renovation. New fixtures in the kitchen and bathroom and new cabinets, furniture etc.

I'm already partial to Staybridge Suites, but the major upgrade to the interior of the rooms is very nice.

No complaints at all in any areas over about 10 stays in the course of 2 months or so.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the hotel, especially in regards to the renovation. The process can be challenging but the end result will be well worth it.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a great hotel that is in the process of being refurbished. My suite on the 3rd floor was recently done and looks beautiful and is very spacious -- more like a small apartment with a full kitchen. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable -- not too hard and not too soft. The room also has a nice large flat-panel TV in the living room and a comfortable large sofa. Their is also free Wi-Fi and a two-line phone. Just be sure you know how to use the phone by pushing one of the buttons to get a dial-tone. Each room also has its own a/c and heat so it is easy to adjust the temperature (there is a little muffled wind noise when the unit is on, but nothing annoying). The staff were also friendly and very attentive. The buffet breakfast served from 6:30 to 9:30 that is included in the rate is full spread including eggs, bacon, sausage, make-your-own waffles, fruit, cereal, English muffins, yogurt, orange juice, apple juice, and a lot more. The hotel is tucked away from traffic and is very quiet. However, make sure you have a detailed map and driving instructions as you might find it hard to find. The hotel is beautifully situated next to a small pond and has a nice patio on its shore. On Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights, the hotel also offers complementary appetizers of hamburgers, hotdogs, and more from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. and includes complementary drinks. The hotel is also close to the I-88 (East-West Tollway) and I-294 (Tri-State Tollway) south of O'Hare Airport and straight west of downtown Chicago. I would not hesitate to stay here again when I am in the area.

Room Tip: Get a suite on the 3rd floor if possible if you want lots of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ptadin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your very detailed review of the hotel. It sounds like we were able to meet your expectations but if there is anything we can do to improve it going forward please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff.They are remodeling and I requested to move due to an allergy to paint fumes. The desk clerk responded immediately. Great warm breakfast. Kitchen has full size fridge and microwave and coffee maker for people on business trips that can't get to restaurant You can cook, many near by deliver. Through the week,Tuesday thru Thursday they offer snacks at dinner time.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear that are staff was able to accommodate you after the first room was not to your liking. I am also glad to see that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Property is undergoing renovation, loud construction started at 9am and rooms are very outdated. Front desk clerks lack customer service skills except Christina. Location is not bad since it's next to the joint commission, oakbrook center, and highway. Very quiet at night and not walkable to anywhere.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_OhioState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. We want to apologize for the inconvenience of the renovation. We are in the process of finishing the complete room refresh which includes new carpet, tile, counter tops and furniture but we know it can be loud at times, but the good news is it’s also addressing the outdated rooms that you mentioned in your review. I also want to thank you for pointing out Christina's excellent customer service. She is a good example of what are staff is striving to be. We appreciate your feedback and we hope you will choose us again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This property is just behind some business properties which helps give it a quiet setting. Nice décor & spacious public areas as well as rooms. Good breakfast & snacks in evenings and the Staybridge staple a fountain pop machine & juice at the ready.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyre926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed are services and amenities. We also thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

The Management Team of the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

This hotel offers large 1 & 2 bedroom suites with full kitchen appliances & delicious hot breakfasts. It also offers a manager's hospitality night with complimentary dinners & drinks every Tuesday - Thursday. The hotel's location is also conveniently close to the Oak Brook Shopping Center & the Yorktown Mall. The hotel staff is extremely friendly & catered to all my needs, including offering me an early morning check-in, room upgrade & a late 2PM check-out. I will be sure to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralMgr60181, General Manager at Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and service during your visit. Thank you for taking the time to share and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely

The Management Team at the Staybridge Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
1.6 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago - Lombard/Oak Brook
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
#5 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace

Property: Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Address: 200 Royce Blvd, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181-4836
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
#4 Family Hotel in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Staybridge Suites Chicago-Oak Brook is an all suite upgraded hotel located ideally in the heart of the new renaissance business district of Oakbrook. Each suite, features fully-equipped kitchens complete with pots, pans, dishes and utensils. Double bed sofa sleeper in each suite. Work area is well lit with an expansive desk and ergonomical chair, free high-speed WiFi Internet in suite & throughout entire hotel. Two phone lines with a direct dial phone number and personalized voice mail. Free bountiful hot breakfast buffet is offered every morning. Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday evening a Sundowner Reception offers a lite dinner entree with free beer, wine and sodas. Library, business center, board room, free guest laundry, fitness center and whirlpool tub. Located 20 miles from downtown Chicago/McCormick Place. Negotiated Corporate rates available. Headquarter hotel for: Joint Commission, MicroTek, SAP, Exelon, McDonald's Corp, IBM, Crowe Horwath, GE, Elkay, & BrainLab. Favored hotel for patients and visitors to Loyola Medical Center in Maywood. Free shuttle to & from office and area attractions. Free ample Parking. Motorcoach Tour groups most welcomed. Close to popular attractions Brookfield Zoo, Morton Arboretum, numerous Golf Courses, two extensive shopping malls. Pet friendly hotel (pet fees & restrictions do apply!). Guaranteed check in time is 3:00 PM daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Chicago Oakbrook Terrace Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Staybridge Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing