We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good as Broadway”
Review of Drury Lane Theatre

Drury Lane Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just as good as Broadway”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have seen some real good shows here. I laughed, cried, and cheered.
The prices are so reasonable, you can't believe it.
I currently have "season tickets" front row and I feel like a million bucks.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KAREN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    73
    14
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Can you spell "funny?"”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee currently playing at Drury Lane in Oakbrook Terrace is spot on! The cast is amazing. The play includes people from the audience and this cast can improvise the situation as it presents itself during the play. For the matinee performance today, one audience member kept spelling words correctly even though the cast expected him to miss the words. They played it to the hilt and had us in stitches! They even were able to add a reference to the World Cup which was being played at the same time. Now that is fresh, professional and well done!
Can you spell "triumph?" T - R - I -.........

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MaryEllen926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Sweet Place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a great place to see some class act shows. The entertainment and service while in-between is top notch. If you are smart-stay at the Hilton next door and leave the keys to the car in the room-makes for a nice get-a-way.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great theater but ticket office needs help.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We love attending this theater. The shows are great! The staff in the ticket office, though, needs better training and needs better attitudes. Sad to see, since this is such a great spot to dine and see great shows. They should all be happy and smiling. They get to see great theater!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank barb777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Dreary Lane”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

First let me say that I am being kind about my average review, as the cast of Les Miserables really did give it their all. But the venue rates below average. Let me explain.

The theatre is located outside Chicago in the middle of nowhere necessitating a long car ride over boring interstate roads at rush hour, or alternatively through dodgy neigbouhoods at rush hour, you choose, but you have to drive as public transport is nil and a cab would be ridiculously expensive.

When you finally get there, in the middle of generica, you are at a large complex which includes a small conference center, theatre and hotel.

Once there, you have arrived at a destination totally devoid of charm, we found ample parking (unlike another reviewer), and managed to get same day tickets for about $50 which was fair value. We got there a little before 7 and hoped to eat after purchasing our tickets. There was absolutely nowhere within walking distance so we reluctantly chose to eat there. There were 2 choices, a prix fixe menu that is often sold as a package with the tickets or a so called lounge menu, both located in the cavernous space that is the foyer of the theatre. We never were able to find out the price of the prix fixe, but not being particularly hungry opted for the lounge menu.

Our waitress came promptly and we ordered drinks and a dish each, a sandwich, 2 burgers and some tacos - it sounded quick and simple, it was now around 7.05, so we expected to have time to kill. Our kind waitress soon brought us the drinks and some bar snacks while we waited for the food, and waited for the food, and waited for the food…. then the sandwiches and burgers came about 7:40 but no bugers. The poor waitress kept circling back and apologizing, finally at 7:48 the burgers arrived. 2 bites into the burger the lights started to flash indicating we should take out seats, 4 bites later the second set of flashing lights called us more insistently. We left half of our burgers on the plate and got up to take our seats.

The Theatre decor is camp, red velvet and chandeliers, but not camp enough to be fun. The shape of the theatre is such that many of the side seats are quite restricted views. The sound quality was abysmal. When the singers got louder, the volume not only increased exponentially, but got quite distorted. Not good at all.

The actual performance was good but not great, so an OK place to take your aunt for an evening out, but not a good place to take a more sophisticated friend. The cast did work hard but the sound system did absolutely nothing to help them. The choice of show is an old crowd pleasing classic, and the staging was somewhat predictable.

Considering you can get last minute tickets to excellent theatre in downtown Chicago for about $30 ( these were mexxtix at the Goodman theatre) I would not say this was particularly good value, and it was certainly not convenient.

If your old aunt Lizzie loves Les Mis and wants to go take her and have a good time - leave lots of time for dinner, and be prepared to be stuck in traffic on the way out.

After the theatre no where to linger for a night cap, or interesting cocktail - just bite the bullet and drive home 30 min to the city, so just as well you never had that post theatre drink.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drury Lane Theatre also viewed

Downers Grove, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Lisle, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to Drury Lane Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing