We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fit my needs at the last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Yakima
Level Contributor
126 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Fit my needs at the last minute”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a reservation issue at another hotel and drove my rental car down to this Holiday Inn. They fortunately had a room available. I'm a Holiday Inn card carrying member and they gave me the nice little gift pack for premium members with a bottle of water and other goodies which I really appreciated. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was nice and courteous and knowledgeable for the immediate area. My internet worked quickly and a nice flat screen television. There was some sort of conference and meetings going on at the hotel which had a lot of people at the property. It is on a pretty busy street. If I was to stay again, I'd ask for a room not facing the road, although the noise didn't disturb me. There are a couple of restaurants and sandwich shops within walking distance. The Bar Louie on the property was surprisingly crowded on a Tuesday evening with a lively and interesting group. The rate was quite reasonable. I would stay there again on a future trip. The overall layout of this Holiday Inn does feel a little odd the way you approach it from the street, not bad, it makes it seem like it isn't as nice as it is when you get inside.

Room Tip: I'd get a room not facing the road if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExpeditionMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear ExpeditionMan,

Thank you for your comments and thoughts from your hotel stay with us. We value all of our guest's opinions especially our loyalty members like yourself. Good or bad they help us improve our hotel and let us know how we are doing. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, staff, and the amenities in the room. Even though it wasn't the best entrance for you to get into the hotel it looks like you enjoyed everything else! We are happy, happy, happy for you.

Hope we can host your next stay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    92
    58
    39
    23
See reviews for
58
48
35
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
211 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Robert Wood in banquets does everything right! He moved our group to a larger meeting room so we'd be more comfortable and he moved my box full of supplies. Ghino checked me in, gave me free breakfast coupon (the salad in the restaurant was a great dinner); the room was very nice and warm (and had hot water on the coldest night of the year); the only thing the hotel could have done better was snow removal. This was during an extreme cold snap (temps were well below zero, but high-piled snow made it a little slick and the walks were not as clear as they should have been). Mary in the restaurant is charming in the morning and they let meeting participants pre-order meals.

Room Tip: The rooms are fine. If you're using Apple's map feature, you will not be able to find it. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Professordoctormom,

Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments and value them with high regard. We are really happy that you had an accommodating and satisfying stay with us. Robert, Ghino, and Mary are all in management and portray what the hotel is all about. We are committed to great customer service and it looks like they all displayed that with you. That is great you encountered our great service. Unfortunately, you were not happy about the snow removal process. We had an issue with the company who plows and that hurt the satisfaction of our guests. We are in the process of fixing our snow removal processes so that does not happen again.

Once again thank you for kind review and we hope you continue to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I very much for the purpose of the things that make sense to be in room. Clean and comfortable enough for me. Best beds in the world where there are many different types of pillows. Coffee in the morning at my room was just as good as it is home. Refrigeration was also a great deal if needed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loopedelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Loopedelou,

Thank you for submitting a review in regards to your recent stay with us. We value your opinions with great regard. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our beds and coffee. We will pass on your comments to our staff so they are appreciated for making your stay great.

We hope we get to host your next stay sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have stayed there a few times only because of Priceline and getting that on a 3 star bid. This particular review is due to Sept 2013 when I stayed two nights. I had dinner with a client and became sick after eating their meatballs. I did call them the next morning just to avoid anyone else becoming ill as well. She said she was sorry and that was it. This was not the problem.
I check my statement a couple weelks later to find the hotel charged me a bar bill. I called and waited another two weeks for a call back, or simply to remove the charge. I call again, disppointed, mid Oct..talked to manager who gave me the bookkeeper. He was rude and accused me of buying booze on my room charge..I said how could the bar charge me when they didn't know I was staying there..they had no room number or charge card to do so...I do not drink alcohol ever and neither did my client who was NOT staying there and paid the bill with her charge card.. He yelled and said you just said you had dinner so you probably ordered booze..I was angry at this guy and told him he was acting like a ***. He screamed and said listen I am a christian and I do not like swearing words..lol
Okay..just do your research and remove the charges from my bill...I am not paying from someone elses booze.
He did remove the charges but didn't call to explain whose bill they paid with my card...
I called and sent many messages to Priceline..they said they cared but couldnt do anything about it..
I have not received an apology and wish to never step foot into this nasty hotel. Just be careful and check your bills..I have a few issues with them so it was nothing new..it is far from a decent hotel I'ts dirty, smells bad, dirty carpets, no closet doors, or counter space, parking lot can be a good place to get broken into..falls more into a 2 star hotel. Too bad Priceline can't omit certain hotels from customers who stay in hotels nearly 200 nights a year.
Oak Brook has many nice hotels, this is not one of them. Be careful and make sure your bill doesn't include someone else's charges.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel..many others in area I would highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pharmtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear pharmtravel,

Thank you for submitting a review from your September stay with us. We value your feedback and take it seriously. We try to satisfay all our guests but unfortunately we did not satisfy you. We do want to persoanlly apologize that you were charged for a bar transaction and that it took a while for it to get resolved. We are also sorry that you thought our carpets were dirty and that the hotel in general was dirty and smelled among other things. How you were treated with the bar service was not appropriate. We are continually striving to make our hotel better and your comments help us do that.

Again, thank you for feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The hotel was clean and in a great location. Very close to shopping and the interstate. Our room was spacious and very nice. Staff was friendly, and the free breakfast buffet was really good. Had a really good visit there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Cneiss,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Oakbrook. We appreciate you taking the time to do that and value your opinions. We are glad you liked your room and friendly staff and thought our breakfast was really good. We will pass on your very nice opinions to our staff so they know they did a great job.

We hope to see you again sometime in the future as we would love to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I got a room at a real bargain rate on a "no name" deal, so was hoping for something a bit better than the motels I usually stay at in the same price range. In that I was a little disappointed. The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable, but no better than in many mid-price motels. Breakfast would have been extra, but was eye-wateringly expensive (as was the in-house restaurant) - better to walk through the parking lot to one of the alternatives nearby.

The pool was OK, though I felt a little self conscious waling back to my room in a dripping costume, and there were signs prohibiting swimming alone (which I am afraid I ignored). The fitness room marked as being next to the pool in the information brochure in the room had been converted into a space with a table and a couple of chairs; it was only when I commented on this when checking out that I was told it had been moved to the second floor. Not very useful to know then...

So if you can get it for a great price then go for it, but I wouldn't want to pay the rate it's normally advertised for on the main booking websites.

Room Tip: Although rooms on the front overlook the main road, they are quite well sound-proofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear MKMapman,

Thank you for letting us know how your stay with us was. We appreciate you taking the time to do that. I am sorry that your stay was not exceptional as you wanted. I apologize that you did not like the wet walk through the hotel from the pool, pricing of our restaurant menu, and the information brochure not being updated. Your feedback helps us out by letting us know how we are doing. We take all feedback with great value and we will improve our hotel with feedback like yours.

We hope you choose to stay with us again if in the future you need a hotel in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed here in Oct 2013 when I was visiting Midwestern University for a pharmacy school interview. Aside from my GPS not being able to find the hotel (I called and they gave me the Costco address across the street) I had a great stay. From the time that I stepped in the lobby to the time that I got to my room was mere minutes. Check in was so easy and I was recognized as a rewards member. They upgraded me to a king executive suite from my standard king room which is on the 7th and top floor. I could hear the car traffic on the street when I had the drapes open but I suspect that once I close them I will not hear the traffic at all. There does not seem to be a lot of people here at this time but Im sure that will change since it is coming into the weekend. I also received a voucher for breakfast. I intend to order it and have it delivered to my room.

Room Tip: If you can it seems that the rooms on the top floor are very quiet. I cannot say about the ones on l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Becky870,

Thank you for taking the time to review your hotel stay with us. It looks like you enjoyed it and were really taken care of. We value all of our guests but even more our IHG Rewards Club Members like yourself. You reward us with your business and loyalty and we reward you by taking care of you the best we can such as the complimentary upgrade and breakfast voucher. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again in the near future if you need hotel accommodations in the Oakbrook Terrace area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
980 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
719 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
2.0 mi away
The Drake Hotel - Oak Brook
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Property: Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing