We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had booked a king room. When I checked in, I was given a double bed room. Upon mentioning that to the front desk, I was told "We dont have any king rooms available for the night". This was in spite of I paying extra to book a king room. I was told, "please talk to the general manager tomorrow morning".
Next morning, when I spoke to the general manager, I was told "We guarantee the room, but not room type". It was a very rude response to the problem I had faced. So, don't trust these guys to give you what you have booked.

Overall also, this hotel is bit outdated and the rooms are very small. There are many better hotels in the area. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Shalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Shalind,

Thank you for submitting a review on your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how it went. We are sorry that you had an issue with your room type. The GM explained the situation best we could as you mentioned and unfortunately that was the type of reservation you had. We are also sorry that overall you had a disappointing stay and though the hotel was a bit outdated.

Thank you again for the comments and we loved hosting your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

Traveled by car and plane, selected location as it was right down the road from my first meeting in the AM. Arrived during rush hour, imagine my surprise to find a Bar Louie at the location! No need to go back out in traffic simply go down have an ice cold drink and a meal. Everyone from the front desk to the bar staff were very pleasant. As with other reviews the property could use a rehab and upgrade ... in room A/C units are noisey at night and lack of bathroom ventalation results in ceiling mold that can't be removed. Beds while comfortable could use an upgrade in sheets they were scratchy. Nice stop for a quick trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank londa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Londa R,

Thank you letting us know how your stay with us went. We appreciate your comments as they let us know how we did hosting your stay. That is awesome that you chose our hotel. Sounds like it was a convenient location being right next to your meeting area. Yay! Glad you enjoyed the location and the pleasant staff. We are though unhappy that you had issues with the loudness of the A/C unit, lack of ventilation in the bathroom, and the scratchy sheets. We wish we could have prevented those issues and made it a better stay for you.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with a group. My husband insisted that we had to. So we did. The staff was great. But.... The property needs some major upgrades and hit the refresh button! Great location to shopping, restaurants. The actual property just needs some updating. There are too many competing hotels in that range that offer bigger rooms, free breakfast and are newer. This one has no lobby to congregate when hosting a group. The Bar Louie was literally booming every night. It wasn't busy, but it was rocking loud, obnoxious music nightly. I wish there was a more family friendly option to utilize .
It was loud above the bar as well, some of our group members asked to be moved. The elevators are slow. Several of us experienced small bites on our legs... Scratching etc. not sure what this was from. The bathroom was very small with no counter space, toilet tan constantly. I have to say that the cleaning staff did a great job and with the rooms. They looked as good as they could. Beds were fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missouri64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Missouri64,

Thank you for submitting a review on your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking time to do this. We are happy that you enjoyed our staff, convenience to shopping, and our comfortable beds. Although, we are disappointed that you thought the property needed updating and had issues with the volume of the Bar music, counter space, bites on your legs, and the toilet. That is a list of issues. Wow. We wish we could have done a better job hosting your group. Your comments will be passed on to the appropriate departments so they know your concerns.

We would love if your group chose to stay with us again as we loved hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Robert Wood is the best when it comes to accommodating when problems arise. I got married at this hotel and started the planning of it from GA in Jan. There were several issues over 6 months of planning. The honeymoon suites (both of them) were given away to another bride/groom that weren't even having her wedding at the hotel. I was not notified of it until 2 months after booking. Robert created a honeymoon suite for me and it was beautiful. I loved it. I had more than enough room with 2 bathrooms. The room set up could have been a little different, but that was discussed in person with the hotel. There were times that Robert was not available when I needed him via phone. There were several times that meetings with my wedding planner were rescheduled. But in the end when we arrived from GA, Robert pulled everything together. He was available at all times during my stay at the hotel. If we needed anything he got it done or did it himself. The overall price of everything was amazing as well. I was completely surprised when it came to the ballroom and how amazingly beautiful it was. They went above and beyond for my wedding. I would definitely recommend this place as long as Robert is there helping you through it all. Robert was the key to it all

Room Tip: Corner suites are much larger than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdunowsemran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Cdunowsemran,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and take them seriously. We are very happy that Robert took care of you and had a great stay with us. That is fantastic that you got married here. Congratulations. We loved hosting your wedding and everything to do with it. We will pass on your kind comments to Robert as he should know what a great job he did.

Again, thanks for choosing our hotel to have your wedding at. Shall you come back to our area please keep us in mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Loved the location of this hotel. Will be on the top of my list for any trip to Chicago. Clean and affordable. Tons of restaurants around the hotel and comes with a great bar (Bar Louie) inside the hotel. Wish I had more time to check out more places to dine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear David K,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Your input is valuable to us as we want to know how our guests felt during their stays. We are glad you enjoyed the location and affordable pricing of the room. Also, happy that you got to enjoy our Bar Louie bar and restaurant.

Thank you again for the great comments and we hope we can host you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Has a great location, close to the restaurants and shopping malls. The room was just ok but clean. The only thing I did not like about the room is, it is a family room connected to another room, which means that there is somebody behind the door and there is no privacy. The best part of the hotel is the restaurant. The prices are very reasonable and has a very good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not connected to another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Arzu Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Arzu K,

Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us went. We appreciate it greatly as your input helps us in knowing how we are doing. It looks like we did our jobs and made the both of you happy customers. We are happy that you both enjoyed our great location and breakfast buffet in our restaurant.

Again, thank you for the review and hope to see you again sooner than later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our stay was great, but when we returned home we noticed a discrepancy in our statement. Immediately it was taken care of (Thanks, Jim!) and in a friendly way. I always appreciate good customer service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MKTonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony Q, Manager at Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear MKTonia,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at our hotel. That's wonderful that you had a great stay. We are glad that you enjoyed it and got to experience our good customer service and wonderful staff.

Again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakbrook Terrace
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
Comfort Suites Oakbrook Terrace
#4 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
241 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
Hilton Chicago Oak Brook Suites
#1 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
1,021 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakbrook Terrace
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago / Oakb...
#2 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Chicago/Lombard
1.1 mi away
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terrace
Courtyard Chicago Oakbrook Terra...
#3 of 8 in Oakbrook Terrace
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook

Address: 17 West 350 22nd Street, Oakbrook Terrace, IL 60181
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oakbrook Terrace
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Oakbrook Terrace
Price Range: £63 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oak Brook Hotel represents the best of both worlds by offering an upscale stay, at a not so upscale price. The Holiday Inn is a premiere full service hotel and is ADA- and FEMA-approved. Our guests are provided with an experience not found anywhere else in the city. The hotel is centrally located off I-88 between I-294 and I-355 in the beautiful Oak Brook western suburb, nestled in the shopping and restaurant district. The hotel features complimentary shuttle service to all local corporate offices. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook is centrally located for all Chicago corporate business. Nestled in the middle of the Chicago in the suburbs between Midway Airport and O`Hare Airport. The Holiday Inn Chicago-Oakbrook hotel is the best choice for lodging when working with companies alike: IBM, Com Ed, Crowe Horwath, Inland Real Estate, McDonalds, Perkin Elmer, Sara Lee, Joint Commission, Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mid America Plaza Businesses and many more in the Oakbrook, Lombard and Oakbrook Terrace Area. Our meeting rooms also come complete with audio-visual equipment. Cattails Restaurant and Lounge showcases an extensive menu, as well as a comprehensive daily hot breakfast selection, in a cool and comfortable atmosphere. All 217 beautiful decorated rooms are appointed with everything required to ensure your stay will be an enjoyable experience which includes complimentary high-speed Internet access! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Oakbrook Hotel Oakbrook Terrace
Chicago Oakbrook Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Oakbrook Terrace
Oakbrook Terrace Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing