We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip the chains and hit the pub”

MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Oglesby
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: MJ's Pub & Grill is where you'll have fun while enjoying the home cooked meals, indoors or on the patio. Our full stocked bar to serve you one of MJ's Specialty drinks or martinis. 5 TVs for all your sports plus a big Screen and video gaming so you can win some money while you're here. Our friendly service hours are 7 days a week, 10 am to midnight Sunday thru Thursday, 10 am to 2 am Friday & 10 am to 3 am Saturday. And we have weekend entertainment.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Skip the chains and hit the pub”
Reviewed 3 December 2011

If traveling on highway 39, hit the ogledby exit drive 1/2 mile past the chains to visit this friendly and great pub. Great food served with the small town smile. Definitely recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MNtravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty inside. Clean & well kept. Good sport tv's at bar. Large food portions.”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

You get heaps of food at great prices--and the food is pretty darn good too. Recent remodel is nice--its clean, pretty on the inside, and the bar tv's are nice. Service is quick & friendly. Would definitely come back. One of the most decent places to eat/drink in Oglesby.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Was recommended by Hotel clerk. And it definitely was superb. We had 13 in our party and they were able to accommodate us without any problem. Our waitress was super, very upbeat and always there to meet our needs. The food was so good we had the waitress ask the Chef to come out so we could thank him as well. We had a variety of things off the menu, and everyone pretty much cleaned up their entire meal. Appetizers were great as well. This is not a fancy place, it is a pub and grill, but would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The best Oglesby has to offer”
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Nice sports bar. Great baby back ribs-good sides. Friendly service & atmosphere. Very clean for a bar. Good soap & towels after eating ribs.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT surprise road trip meal”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We were traveling through Illinois with our girls (21, 13 and 10), stopped overnight in Oglesby and got MJ's through a reference at our hotel (Best Western, great also).

This is a small-town bar/restaurant, located in the "downtown" area of the town on the main strip. Not too big of a place inside but great big screens, nice local group of customers and good service overall.

Appetizers we had were fried mozzarella (real cheese, not the frozen kind) and fried mushrooms (also fresh, batter dipped), which were both very, very good. Their pizza was great, kids loved it. Crust was nothing spectacular but good, but the sauce and toppings were outstanding. My pasta was excellent, great sauce.

Drinks were wine for me, beer for my husband. Can't really mess that up, I guess. :)
When you walk in, you probably won't be super impressed, but we had a wonderful meal here. Worth going out of your way. Probably not for us (we live in DC), but if we ever drive that way again, we'll definitely stop in.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reportingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill also viewed

 

Been to MJ's Walnut St Pub & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing