We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent motel in the restful countryside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oglesby
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
“Excellent motel in the restful countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I loved out stay at this Days Inn on July 14. The room was clean, the shower very good, the beds very comfortable, the breakfast excellent (omelet, waffles, cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast, juice, coffee, ...). Situated in a rural setting with Delaney's Family Restaurant (a wonderful buffet with baked fish, roast beef carved for you, and so much more!), an Italian restaurant, a KFC, and Burger King right there within walking distance, the staff was genial. The breakfast bar is staffed by a lady who keeps it well-stocked and immaculate. The charge for the safe in the room was deducted at out checkout. I look forward to future trips to the area!

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before you take it. Go in and lay on the bed for a minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCar1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzjonz, General Manager at Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts! I very much appreciate you staying with us and am glad our neighbors (restaurants) were satisfactory, as well. The breakfast host, Debbie really puts her heart into what she does, and I am glad you experienced that. I look forward to you staying with us again! Best wishes to you! - Joanne M. Gilkerson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    142
    57
    13
    5
See reviews for
137
110
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel management was very nice and the rooms were ok but dated. The sink was not in the bathroom but located just as you entered the room. The breakfast area was way too small for the number of people that stay there and the food is very very limited. I had a Waffle and swear after the waffle was made it was almost impossible to remove it from the waffle iron. Once out and tried to eat it was a chore. Broke 3 plastic knives trying to cut it and so did my family. It was impossible to eat. I don't know if it was the mix they had bought or it was outdated. Needless to say we went to McDonalds. Otherwise everything seemed to be OK! Wifi worked very well. One thing that was spooky was as you walked down the hallways they were very dimly lit with energy efficient bulbs and they blinked on and off. Our family always commented as we walked down the hall that we were at the "Bates Motel". :-)

Room Tip: I think they are all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OMGnotU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzjonz, General Manager at Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a response. I do apologize for the area where you were not very satisfied. I take all feedback very seriously and intend to look into every one of them to see what is needed for improvement. I do hope you would stay with us again. Thank you again, and I wish you and your family safe and happy travels! -Joanne M. Gilkerson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglesby
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was fine and everything would have been perfect if not for all the noise coming from the room directly above us. I could hear the TV from the room above us and every time they walked around it sounded like they were pounding on the floor (which I don't think they were). Other than the noise the hotel and the room were fine.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzjonz, General Manager at Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am so very sorry for my delay in responding to you. I really appreciate you letting us know where improvements are needed. Since June, we did install new TV's that have high volume control, so that will help that issue. I am sorry that the other noise was disturbing. I hope you will come back and give us another try! Thank you, again! - Joanne M. Gilkerson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We happened to stop there, without knowing anything about the place. A charming hotel in the middle of no where. Kind staff, small cute pool, very clean rooms. The only bad thing i have to say is that the pillows were too big :) (and the family restaurant next to it was excellent)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzjonz, General Manager at Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for the review you made a few months ago. I apologize for the delay in my response. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope you will be our guest again. -Joanne M. Gilkerson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oglesby
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

the room needed cobwebs cleaned from the ceiling/wall corners, and the paint was somewhat dingy.. there was a plastic packaging strip in the eggs. the front desk staff was extremely courteous, and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mzjonz, General Manager at Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I very much apologize for this delay in my response. I am more sorry that you experienced some cleanliness issues. I can assure you that this was read back in May/June and we did address the issues. Please come back and give us another chance to extend our usual hospitality. Thank your for sharing your comments. -Joanne M. Gilkerson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oglesby
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oglesby Inn
3.7 mi away
Grizzly Jack's Grand Bear Resort
4.6 mi away
Starved Rock Lodge & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Peru
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Peru Starved Rock State Park
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Peru
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock

Property: Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock
Address: 120 N Lewis Ave, Exit 54, I-39, Oglesby, IL 61348-9771
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Oglesby
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Oglesby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Oglesby/ Starved Rock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oglesby Hotel Oglesby
Oglesby Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing