We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Show”

The Tempel Lipizzans
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lipizzaner Stallions have been enchanting audiences for 450 years. Witness art and history come to life at one of our Matinee or Evening Performances or during a Behind-The-Scenes Tour (available by appointment only). From the playful bounding of new foals to the strong, precise jumps of our stallions, the whole family will be captivated by the strength, beauty, and intelligence of these horses. Each performance, to music, is a study in classical horsemanship which has been practiced in Europe since the 16th century; the Lipizzaners have been performing at the Spanish Riding School in Vienna, Austria since the 1500’s. There are very few places in the United States where such an art can be observed. We offer a taste of Vienna, Austria right in your back yard. Performances begin mid June and run through mid September. See our website for a full calendar.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Show”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Gorgeous animals that perform leaps that look impossible. Have never seen horses that could perform such feats.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love these horses,”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Was many years ago, but still remember how wonderful they were, There is a lot of history with this farm and it needs to be publicized.

Helpful?
1 Thank Indiesmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Lenox, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The horses are great”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Horses are great and the trainers are outstanding, but they didn't train the younger horses soon enough so there was some talent lacking in the show. Someone really screwed up because the older horses couldn't perform any more and the younger ones weren't ready. Hope this has changed as they used to put on a really good show.

Helpful?
Thank quietnites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plain, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We drove over three hours to see this show because my mother had seen and enjoyed it in the past. They told me it was a two hour show - it was really only 1 hour & 15 minutes. Mostly they just brought in young horses in training - not very exciting. One horses who was well trained did a few high kicks, then when they finally brought in the last four well trained ones we were expecting a great big end to the show, but they just walked them around - no jumps! My mom said it was much better in the past - she said she would never come again & I agreed - mot worth $25.00!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful horses”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

The grounds are well kept and beautiful. The horses are totally magnificant. The riders are top of the game. A good place to visit.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank mssrfoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tempel Lipizzans also viewed

Gurnee, Lake County
Gurnee, Lake County
 
Wadsworth, Lake County
Waukegan, Lake County
 

Been to The Tempel Lipizzans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing