We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Modern and comfortable in pleasant village”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Ripponden, Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Catherine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable in pleasant village”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

I chose the place because it was accessible for my 83 yo father. It worked well, although he was less keen on the minimalist nature of furnishings ( no bedroom cupboards, drawers, but hanging rack in second room). He slept well in main bedroom. I found the bunk bed comfortable enough. No wifi a bit of a disadvantage, but a good reason to spend time in The Fox, which serves excellent meals ( see great value deals Monday- Thursday nights). Angela very welcoming. Happy to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2015
Thank you for your 5 star review. I noted what you said about the limited hanging space and we have now added an additional wardrobe to complement the hanging rails and have bought some new bedside tables for the main bedroom. We have also made an arrangement to supply wifi where it is requested. We hope to welcome you back when you are next in Yorkshire. The decor remains very modern, so not sure your father will like it any better next time! But we will do our best, should you return, to discuss what might make him most comfortable as, at 83 years old, we would like him to enjoy his holidays to the maximum! All good wishes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for your warm words. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and would be more than happy to welcome you back for your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margot V
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We loved staying at Silk Mill Chase. The flat was simply furnished but included everything we needed--and more--for our 8 day stay. The owners were extremely friendly, helpful, eager to please, and available to answer any questions we may have had. Being greeted by a bottle of wine (as well as a container of milk) in the fridge was an extra special touch. Ripponden is a lovely town, and Silk Mill Chase is within walking distance to several cafes and restaurants, grocery stores, and other amenities (including a library). The townspeople were also very welcoming and helpful. Since on this trip we were especially interested in hiking in the beautiful countryside, this was the place to be--many 5 mile (or longer) walks begin just at the end of the driveway! We highly recommend this rental!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2014
Thank you for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You were both a pleasure to host! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy D
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peace and quiet in a gorgeous apartment with the Yorkshire countryside and everyting you could need on the doorstep.o”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for a short break to ditch the car and enjoy the walks and couldn't have been more delighted. The apartment is bright and modern well equipped and welcoming. It was exactly as described and we wanted for nothing . The location is superb - everything is within easy walking distance and you are perfectly placed to enjoy some of the more serious walks of the stunning surrounding area. We will be back !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and got out and about in the glorious countryside that we are lucky enough to have on the doorstep. And thank you for the repeat booking - we'll see you again in Autumn!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyndaP_11
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Immaculately clean, modern apartment”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Perfect base for touring the Ripponden area, the apartment is clean and modern, warm and very comfortable, with its own dedicated parking bay. We were welcomed personally by the owner even though we arrived late. Accommodation is close to the village centre with it's many restaurants and bars. There are wonderful walks close by. A place to visit time and time again. Will certainly come back to Silk Mill Chase when we visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2014
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we are so glad you enjoyed our lovely little area of Yorkshire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marja P
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Onthaal met ontbijt
Liked least: De temperatuur is moeilijk constant te houden (snel te warm).
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday and it was a pleasure to welcome you to our lovely part of Yorkshire!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing