We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real home from home experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumfries House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real home from home experience.”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Enjoyed an overnight stay in this very comfortable accommodation. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and obliging. Breakfast was excellent, a real treat.
I have just read a comprehensive report by Sielah who described a previous stay in Room 2.
I concur fully with her description.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a reasonably sized ensuite with excellent facilities. Quality extras, coffee/tea maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macbee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
thank you for your review. It was our pleasure looking after you both. Mark and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    10
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
173
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were unlucky enough not to realise that this beautiful, comfortable, luxurious accommodation was available when we started organising our trip. On the other hand we did spend one night in Room 4 in the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The Lodge is an 18th century building, refurbished with stunning attention to detail. The room we had was huge with a lovely large bathroom. Both rooms were exceptionally clean and furnished very tastefully. We have spent holidays in Spanish Paradors and until now had considered those historic buildings to be the best hotels we had ever stayed in. Dumfries House sets a new standard for the use of historic buildings as hotels. Mark was the perfect host and cooked us a lovely breakfast. We also enjoyed the Grand Tour of Dumfries House. We will try very hard to visit the Lodge again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPVTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward to meeting you again here at the lodge. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hubbie and I stayed here for one night while visiting family in Cumnock.

The area has only a few hotel options, of varying quality. They are either good but quite expensive, or so-so but quite expensive. Dumfries House Lodge is a much needed and welcome addition, and will definitely be our base for future visits.

The Lodge rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished - the perfect combination of comfort, luxury and elegance. It's not stuffy or intimidating though - very laid back and welcoming. From what I could see, the bedrooms are in separate areas of the house with no shared walls, so they have good privacy.

We booked into room 2, which is on the corner overlooking the entry drive and the main road. We were initially worried about road noise, but I can honestly say that I barely heard it.

The room is not huge, but has everything you need - storage space for clothes, LCD TV and a coffee tea maker. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, and the sheets were the softest I've ever slept under - I should have asked where they buy them from!

The en-suite bathroom is also beautifully decorated, and equipped with an amazing rain-head shower that I could have stood under for an hour.

The price includes breakfast, which provides everything from fruit and yoghurt to the full cooked Scottish, which is made there and then in the adjacent kitchen. It's a great arrangement, because you can chat to Mark and his staff while they potter about - very personal and friendly.

I think the little things make or break a hotel, and they have all been taken care of here. Proper china cups, proper coffee and tea in the rooms, being given a thermos of fresh milk instead of having to use UHT, handmade jams at breakfast, and so on. My mother would approve!

The Lodge provides two living rooms for guests to use. One is a quiet room for those who wish to read. The other has a TV, and a large table that would be good for games etc. Both have real fireplaces, and are very cozy.

We will definitely stay here again whenever we go back to Cumnock.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sielah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
thank you for this wonderful review. its good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the lodge. Hope you come to stay again soon Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Staying at the Lodge is a wonderful experience. The rooms are superb, the ambience of the house is that of old-time elegance but with all modern facilities and beautifully furnished. Mark is an excellent host and his breakfast is a delight. A tour of Dumfries House is itself rewarding and topped off with a stay at the Lodge makes it really memorable. Overall a very special experience to be remembered with much pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review. I hope to see you again soon here at the lodge. Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed in the lodge for a night with friends to celebrate my birthday. We had full use of the Lodge and had a tour of Dumfries house followed by dinner in the Library Restaurant.
Rooms are fantastic,the estate is well worth exploring and the staff were warm and welcoming. Particular mention should be made of Mark who provided superb service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aitchpluseight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
A big thank you for your great review. We were all pleased to be apart of your special day and we hope you come back for many more. mark and the Team here at the lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A wonderful place for anyone to visit. The bedrooms are superb and the bathrooms were sublime ! Especially the room with the four-poster bed! Mark was a lovely host and he put on a lovely breakfast for us all.

We also visited Dumfries House for the second time and would definitely return again. We had lunch in Dumfries House Library which was delicious and the tour of the house is a must see.

Anyone visiting the Lodge will definitely wish to return !!

Room Tip: The four poster bed room was fantastic - the bathroom was amazing / huge and the bedroom next to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alis0nDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you so much for your Kind words in this review. I hope to see you again very soon..Mark and the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
768 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 809 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Lodge is located within the Dumfries House Estate, near Cumnock (and not near Coatbridge as showing on the TA interactive map at time of writing). On arrival it’s best to use the signposted coaches/goods vehicle entrance off the A70 as the Lodge is located there (a little further along from the cars access to Dumfries House itself). Parking is available alongside outbuildings next to the Lodge.

This was a return visit for us and although we were again staying in room 3 our hostess welcomed my wife and I by showing us to the room on the first floor. This features an 18th century Alexander Peter four poster bed and a 19th century press and drawers which were apparently from Dumfries House, together with a large ensuite bathroom with roll-top bath, a walk-in rainfall style shower and Thomas Crapper & Company toilet fittings (similar to those at the House). The more mod-cons include a flat screen television with multi-channels, a Tassimo coffee machine and fast free wi-fi access. The bed is extremely comfortable and the soft furnishings very tasteful. We also liked the Arran Aromatics toiletries and the soft towels and robes which are provided.

On our last visit we thought the press and drawers had a “historic aroma” however this has been sorted as has the provision of a shaving mirror although we noticed there still isn’t a toilet roll holder in the bathroom. Another change is the price which is probably more reflective of value at £125 per night for B&B (when last here it was presumably an introductory/“let us test the waters” price of £95 per night).

The room overlooks the countryside and receives early morning sunshine (if you’re lucky). To soak in a deep hot bath with sunlight streaming in was the perfect start to the day. Although there is some distant background noise of vehicles travelling along the A70 this is not really a disturbance - when we were there the road was closed off for repairs on the second morning so there was no noise at all! The good water pressure allows for quick filling of the bath - and a lovely shower when utilising these facilities.

There are two lounges on the ground floor for guests to use for relaxing - one with a television, the other without. It’s all very homely, comfortable and cosy by the log fires. Remember to take your favourite tipple as they do not have a drinks licence at the Lodge. There are glasses in the kitchen.

Breakfast is served in the kitchen/diner on the ground floor. Both mornings we stayed we opted for porridge which Mark made to our differing tastes - although this did not extend to small portions! We also tried the full Scottish breakfast, scrambled egg on toast and Eggs Benedict during the stay which were made to order and delicious. The attention to detail is such that even the jam and marmalade are Dumfries House products available to buy at the shop in the House (they are very good).

The guests are made to feel relaxed and for a few days you can do so in comfort.

We only visited Dumfries House itself on this occasion to dine at the Library Restaurant one evening (separate report) and to have a stroll through the estate to see the latest developments and walk-off the breakfast. Based in the Lodge you can just about get the grounds to yourself early morning or evening when other visitors are not around.

Progress is being made with the walled garden and sawmill and the projects involving the culinary/hospitality school and outward bound centre were recently opened. The 17th century doocot has also been restored and works on the gardens have progressed.

The Lodge is a good base to visit other attractions in Ayrshire and self catering accommodation is also on site for minimum three night stays. The one-bedroom cottage we requested a look around was very spacious and styled in the same manner as the Lodge. There is a three bedroom cottage next door. We’ll perhaps try these out on a future occasion (breakfast can still be obtained at the Lodge by arrangement and a supplement). Our other evening meal was at Lochside House Hotel, near New Cumnock and it was excellent (taxi approx £11 each way).

If you are looking for an “escape to the country”, switch the television off and try out the facilities at Dumfries House Lodge.

Room Tip: The website gives a flavour - #3 has 4 poster bed and large bathroom, #4 is very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rantin rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
Thank you for such a comprehensive review, it is always good for me to read such in depth reviews as yours. Yes, you are right! we did open last year with an introductory price on all rooms. We ran it for 3 months just to test the water so to speak, most people commented that we were we were too cheap. However, we want people of all walks of life to come and stay with us here at Dumfries House Lodge and that's why our prices range from £60 - £125 for a room bed and breakfast. Which I think represents great value for money.

Thank you for also mentioning the coach/ delivery entrance as the lodge is so much easier to find if you come into the estate using that entry. Its just on the left as you pull into the estate.

So on behalf of all the staff here I want to say thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
5.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,101 reviews
15.8 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries House Lodge

Property: Dumfries House Lodge
Address: Dumfries House Dumfries House Estate, Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dumfries House Lodge was officially opened by HRH The Duke of Rothesay, Prince Charles on 4th April 2012. Sitting on the edge of 2,000 acres of the Dumfries House estate and only a few hundred metres from Dumfries House itself, Dumfries House Lodge is an exclusive country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Built in 1750 and in use a few years prior to the completion of Dumfries House, the ‘Garden Cottage’ as it was known in the 18th century, became the Factor’s house and remained so for over 200 years. We encourage our guests to think of their stay as a home-from-home and to make good use of our facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing