We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious peace and tranquility”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumfries House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2013

we were very lucky to be gifted our break at Dumfries house lodge and we cannot thank our family enough for this. From ringing the doorbell at the lodge we experienced the excellent sevice given by staff, even though Mark was off duty and expecting visitors he took time to welcome us to the lodge. Room 1 where we stayed was front facing overlooking fields very peaceful and tranquil considering your were just off the main road, the room is very tastefully furnished,and very comfotable luxury we have never experienced before, and has everything you need for your stay.Lousie and the other lady in the diningroom(sorry did`nt get her name) both made guests very welcome and cooked delcious breakfasts for everyone, they can cook for me any day.Overall the lodge is very tastefully furnished keeping in the period of the estate. We hope to be able to stay at the lodge sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank GlasgowFireworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your room and indeed your entire stay. we look forward to seeing you again soon. Mark, Louise and Fiona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

My wife and I decided we would like to visit Dumfries House and do the Grand Tour. A search for accommodation and what better than the Estate itself. So we booked a three night stay which was one of the best decisions we have ever made. A warm welcome outstanding rooms and a real home from home. The surroundings are second to none. Mark our host made us a first class breakfast one of the best I have ever tasted. We ate in Cumnock the first night which was a big mistake. The other two evenings we sent in the fantastic surroundings of the Library Restaurant where the service and food were some of the best we have ever experienced. WE WILL BE BACK.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for this outstanding review. We all do our hardest so you don't have too. And I am pleased you enjoyed my cooking skills, the bar has been raised now that it is out there that I cooked one of the best breakfasts. However, I will make sure its the same of every guest staying.. I really do hope to see you again soon. Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Enjoyed an overnight stay in this very comfortable accommodation. Staff couldn't have been more friendly and obliging. Breakfast was excellent, a real treat.
I have just read a comprehensive report by Sielah who described a previous stay in Room 2.
I concur fully with her description.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 2 is a reasonably sized ensuite with excellent facilities. Quality extras, coffee/tea maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macbee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

thank you for your review. It was our pleasure looking after you both. Mark and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We were unlucky enough not to realise that this beautiful, comfortable, luxurious accommodation was available when we started organising our trip. On the other hand we did spend one night in Room 4 in the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The Lodge is an 18th century building, refurbished with stunning attention to detail. The room we had was huge with a lovely large bathroom. Both rooms were exceptionally clean and furnished very tastefully. We have spent holidays in Spanish Paradors and until now had considered those historic buildings to be the best hotels we had ever stayed in. Dumfries House sets a new standard for the use of historic buildings as hotels. Mark was the perfect host and cooked us a lovely breakfast. We also enjoyed the Grand Tour of Dumfries House. We will try very hard to visit the Lodge again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RPVTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful review. We look forward to meeting you again here at the lodge. Kindest regards Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Hubbie and I stayed here for one night while visiting family in Cumnock.

The area has only a few hotel options, of varying quality. They are either good but quite expensive, or so-so but quite expensive. Dumfries House Lodge is a much needed and welcome addition, and will definitely be our base for future visits.

The Lodge rooms are beautifully decorated and furnished - the perfect combination of comfort, luxury and elegance. It's not stuffy or intimidating though - very laid back and welcoming. From what I could see, the bedrooms are in separate areas of the house with no shared walls, so they have good privacy.

We booked into room 2, which is on the corner overlooking the entry drive and the main road. We were initially worried about road noise, but I can honestly say that I barely heard it.

The room is not huge, but has everything you need - storage space for clothes, LCD TV and a coffee tea maker. The bed and pillows are very comfortable, and the sheets were the softest I've ever slept under - I should have asked where they buy them from!

The en-suite bathroom is also beautifully decorated, and equipped with an amazing rain-head shower that I could have stood under for an hour.

The price includes breakfast, which provides everything from fruit and yoghurt to the full cooked Scottish, which is made there and then in the adjacent kitchen. It's a great arrangement, because you can chat to Mark and his staff while they potter about - very personal and friendly.

I think the little things make or break a hotel, and they have all been taken care of here. Proper china cups, proper coffee and tea in the rooms, being given a thermos of fresh milk instead of having to use UHT, handmade jams at breakfast, and so on. My mother would approve!

The Lodge provides two living rooms for guests to use. One is a quiet room for those who wish to read. The other has a TV, and a large table that would be good for games etc. Both have real fireplaces, and are very cozy.

We will definitely stay here again whenever we go back to Cumnock.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sielah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

thank you for this wonderful review. its good to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the lodge. Hope you come to stay again soon Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Staying at the Lodge is a wonderful experience. The rooms are superb, the ambience of the house is that of old-time elegance but with all modern facilities and beautifully furnished. Mark is an excellent host and his breakfast is a delight. A tour of Dumfries House is itself rewarding and topped off with a stay at the Lodge makes it really memorable. Overall a very special experience to be remembered with much pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for this wonderful review. I hope to see you again soon here at the lodge. Mark and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed in the lodge for a night with friends to celebrate my birthday. We had full use of the Lodge and had a tour of Dumfries house followed by dinner in the Library Restaurant.
Rooms are fantastic,the estate is well worth exploring and the staff were warm and welcoming. Particular mention should be made of Mark who provided superb service throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitchpluseight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

A big thank you for your great review. We were all pleased to be apart of your special day and we hope you come back for many more. mark and the Team here at the lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
1.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
129 reviews
12.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,148 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
87 reviews
7.8 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries House Lodge

Address: Dumfries House Dumfries House Estate, Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dumfries House Lodge was officially opened by HRH The Duke of Rothesay, Prince Charles on 4th April 2012. Sitting on the edge of 2,000 acres of the Dumfries House estate and only a few hundred metres from Dumfries House itself, Dumfries House Lodge is an exclusive country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Built in 1750 and in use a few years prior to the completion of Dumfries House, the ‘Garden Cottage’ as it was known in the 18th century, became the Factor’s house and remained so for over 200 years. We encourage our guests to think of their stay as a home-from-home and to make good use of our facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing