We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opulent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumfries House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Opulent”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The rooms were amazing, clean and tidy and equipped with everything you could possibly need.
The hospitality of the staff was second to none.
My friends and I were fortunate enough to stay at the Chester Grosvenor the night before our stay at Dumfries Lodge. I've got to say Dumfries Lodge would win my vote because off all the personal touches. Absolutely excellent. Mark was a wonderful host, such an asset to Dumfries Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeywhittake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review you have written. we all work hard to maintain the standards to the highest of levels and then to be compared to the Chester Grosvenor and to state we were better is a great accolade, thank you. We all hope to see you all again very soon. Best wishes Mark and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    10
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
173
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the self catering cottage at Dumfries House Lodge for two nights. We received a warm welcome, and the cottage was gorgeous. Very happy with our choice of accommodation, and look forward to going back some time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. we all look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed valentines night, Mark was the the perfect host and made us very welcome. Dumfries house lodge is quite a gem, room 3 was excellent with the four poster bed and an en-suite the size of most living rooms. The use of one of the separate lounges with a roaring log fire and excellent decor to enjoy a few drinks really made it quite special.
Dinner and breakfast were served in the stunning Dumfries house. The attention to detail and service provided were exceptional, produce of the finest quality is all you will receive.
Prince Charles has maintained, restored and preserved something very special in Ayrshire. Special thanks to Mark and Louis.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
thank you for this wonderful review. I always enjoy reading the reviews and when people enjoy there stay so much it makes me smile. I hope we all see you again very soon. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the Lodge and had Valentines Dinner in the House. What a lovely evening we had. Even although there is currently building work underway the staff did not let this do anything to impact on our syat. A lovely place, fabulous staff and would certainly return

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank william n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Really pleased that you love your stay here with us. We all work so hard to make sure that everyone enjoys the relaxing atmosphere here at the lodge. We all hope that we see you again in the future. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a lovely time we had, room was so comfortable and bath huge! All staff very friendly, breakfast in library excellent. Grounds extensive and will be back in summer to explore. A superb experience and would recommend for any occasion

Room Tip: We were at top of house and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank p2_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I really enjoyed reading your review and I hope that you come back and stay again very soon. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for valentines night. I must say that the cleanliness is second to none, the whole place is immaculate. The breakfast was made to order and it was first class. The staff are very welcoming and attentive. We have booked again for November and cast wait to return...

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Themacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. we all work hard to make sure that everyone enjoys there stay here with us. I hope that we see you again in the very near future. Mark and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Very warm welcome and a beautiful room with big duvet and comfy bed.
The breakfast was excellent too, well presented food and good range of choices.
Good range of hot drinks available in the room too.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
5.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
73 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
474 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,101 reviews
15.8 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
7.8 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries House Lodge

Property: Dumfries House Lodge
Address: Dumfries House Dumfries House Estate, Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dumfries House Lodge was officially opened by HRH The Duke of Rothesay, Prince Charles on 4th April 2012. Sitting on the edge of 2,000 acres of the Dumfries House estate and only a few hundred metres from Dumfries House itself, Dumfries House Lodge is an exclusive country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Built in 1750 and in use a few years prior to the completion of Dumfries House, the ‘Garden Cottage’ as it was known in the 18th century, became the Factor’s house and remained so for over 200 years. We encourage our guests to think of their stay as a home-from-home and to make good use of our facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing