We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumfries House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

We arrived on Saturday evening to a very warm welcome from Mark the Manager. We were shown to our room (room 6) it had a lovely four poster bed and huge bathroom with a roll top bath, twin sinks and shower. The whole place is decorated lovely and is made to feel like home from home. Downstairs there are 2 living areas where guests can relax in front of the fire, watch a film or just chill. Breakfast was in the new kitchen dining area. The food was delicious. We were very lucky as we were the only ones staying that weekend so we had the run of the place and sneakily checked out each bedroom. I have to say no matter which room we had been given we would not have been disappointed. All in all a fantastic place to stay and we are planning to go back later in the year.

Room Tip: the rooms are the end of the corridor 5 & 6 I think are the ones to choose. but all are very nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. I am pleased we made your stay so enjoyable. I look forward to seeing you both again in the very near future. Kindest regards Mark and Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    10
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
30
172
14
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is without doubt the best b&b I have stayed at. It was perfect in every way. With the magnificent Dumfries house as the backdrop, the setting of the lodge is superb. There has been no expense spared with the internal design of the lodge and the bedrooms are stunning. We had bedroom3 which has an Alexander Peter 4 poster bed. Our host Mark could not have looked after us any more than he did. His full Scottish breakfast (especially his fried egg) was the perfect way to start the day. I can't wait to book in to the lodge again soon.

Room Tip: I only saw bedroom 3 and 4. Both were magnificent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It was wonderful to read your comments. I hope that you return soon and enjoy another short break with us. Thank you for your kind comment regarding your breakfast and especially my fried eggs. I am pleased you enjoyed the full package that is on offer here at Dumfries House. Kindest regards Mark and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

What a great formula, friendly helpful and very hard working staff, beautifully decorated and furnished, spotlessly clean, delightfully comfortable bed and to top it all excellent breakfast. cannot be faulted.

The Lodge is current having a lot of work done to convert attached buildings at the rear to a number of new bedrooms, moving it from B&B to small hotel I suspect. I hope the standard they have achieved so far is maintained.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teenagerfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again once the renovations have been completed. We work hard to keep the high standards. And when the new rooms open we will work just as hard to maintain them. The new rooms will be just as stunning as the lodge and I cannot wait for the opening day. We always enjoy reading the reviews and we hope you will come and sample the new rooms soon.

kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed for two nights,room 3 was lovely with the four poster and amazing bathroom.After a long drive a relaxing bath in the free standing tub was just what was needed.Mark gave us a warm welcome and a good dining recommendation (the Loch Side) as the restaurant at Dumfries House was not open on a Monday evening. The breakfast choice was good and I enjoyed the full Scottish.We were not disturbed at all by the building work and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 for the bathroom and Four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
thank you so much for this lovely review. I hope we see you again in the future. Kindest regards Mark and Louise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

What a superb place. They have thought of everything you need to have a great break and the hospitality is second to none. We had to travel over 300 miles to get there, but it was worth every single mile. Make sure you save plenty of room for breakfast, it's one of the best I have ever had.

Room Tip: Have dinner in the Dumfries House restaurant. Bit pricey, but the food was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJH1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the lodge. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here and we hope that you return soon. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The rooms were amazing, clean and tidy and equipped with everything you could possibly need.
The hospitality of the staff was second to none.
My friends and I were fortunate enough to stay at the Chester Grosvenor the night before our stay at Dumfries Lodge. I've got to say Dumfries Lodge would win my vote because off all the personal touches. Absolutely excellent. Mark was a wonderful host, such an asset to Dumfries Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeywhittake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you so much for the review you have written. we all work hard to maintain the standards to the highest of levels and then to be compared to the Chester Grosvenor and to state we were better is a great accolade, thank you. We all hope to see you all again very soon. Best wishes Mark and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the self catering cottage at Dumfries House Lodge for two nights. We received a warm welcome, and the cottage was gorgeous. Very happy with our choice of accommodation, and look forward to going back some time.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark r, Manager at Dumfries House Lodge, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. we all look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindest regards Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
1.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.8 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
15.8 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries House Lodge

Property: Dumfries House Lodge
Address: Dumfries House Dumfries House Estate, Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dumfries House Lodge was officially opened by HRH The Duke of Rothesay, Prince Charles on 4th April 2012. Sitting on the edge of 2,000 acres of the Dumfries House estate and only a few hundred metres from Dumfries House itself, Dumfries House Lodge is an exclusive country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Built in 1750 and in use a few years prior to the completion of Dumfries House, the ‘Garden Cottage’ as it was known in the 18th century, became the Factor’s house and remained so for over 200 years. We encourage our guests to think of their stay as a home-from-home and to make good use of our facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing