We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cumnock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dumfries House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Cumnock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Well signposted. Friendly helpful staff who genuinly seem to care about the place and are a credit to the area. Well tended and areas clearly marked with additional information. Stunning views and well worth visit. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting ayrshire.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

An excellent place to stay. The facilities excellent breakfast was one of the best we have had. Staff very friendly and showed you were everthing was. Could not find anything wrong and would thoroughly recommend this accommdation to anyone. Would definitely stay here again and for more than one night the next time. The bathroom had everthing you would need and you have everthing you need in you room including bottled water, shoe clean kit and shoe horn these little extras mean a lot. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 8 which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank ga_campbell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A wonderful find....I found it on the internet and was drawn in by the many good reviews about this property. I was very delighted when I arrived after making a mistake with my booking (I booked the wrong date) after contacting them they were very accommodating and were able to chance my booking with short notice. We arrived a little later than the normal check in time but I was still made to feel welcome and was shown to our room. The standard is very high with lovely decor, very comfortable bed. The gardens were lovely to walk around after a great breakfast. Certainly would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Beemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were visiting the Commonwealth Games for several days and wanted to find some good, sensibly priced accommodation south of Glasgow. Dumfries House near Cumnock fitted the bill and was a great choice. A beautifully decorated and spacious bedroom and bathroom looked out over the delightful spacious gardens. The public areas including two lounges are also very tasteful. The service was very personable, efficient and of a high standard. The breakfasts were delicious using mainly high quality local products. There is a local railway station at Auchinleck and the surrounding countryside is of a rolling pleasant nature - with easy access to the Coast, rural Ayrshire and Glasgow. A real winner !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lawrence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We decided to visit Dumfries House, and as it was our anniversary we decided to stop at Dumfries House Lodge on the estate. We chose Room 4 which was described as "This bright and spacious room features a grand wraparound cushioned and linen covered headboard bed and 19th Century cabinets from Dumfries House. The exclusive bathroom features a double basin vanity unit, large bath and separate shower unit."

The real thing looked even better than the description.

Very tired we went to bed at 11.50pm turned the TV and lights off, and there it was almost directly above my head, a smoke alarm with two Red flashing lights, but even worse was the blue light from what I think is something to do with the Wi-Fi (CISCO A.P.3) which illuminated the walls floor and my side of the bed. After what seemed like hours (it was 70min) still could not get to sleep, I got up and put 4 pieces of A4 paper over the unit. I could still see the blue light through the paper but it stopped it from lighting the surrounding area. Promptly fell asleep, woke in the morning to the two flashing Red lights above my head.
Breakfast was nothing special or could it be I was not feeling my best because of my disturbed sleep.
Dumfries House Lodge claims it is an exclusive 4Star Country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Room 4 cost me £130 for 1night B&B was it worth it, it was not just my sleep I was robbed of.
Go and see Dumfries House it's great but if you stop at the lodge give room 4 a miss.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Lodge isn't a hotel, but has beautifully furnished bedrooms (and bathrooms!), and staff are on hand to welcome you in, to provide breakfast in a very gracious room, and carry out normal chamber-maiding duties. Two fascinating and cosy lounges are also available, and the walls throughout are hung with traditional and modern artworks. And then when you step outside, you have the whole of the Dumfries House gardens to walk in, from the beautifully planted Rothesay Garden with its extraordinary, modern, covered timber bridge, to the walled garden recently opened by the Queen, the newly planted arboretum, and woodland walks. There's a pleasing visitor centre and tearoom, and the House tour is well worth doing. For a whole day at least, you don't need to move your car out of the car park. Everything here has been done so well, and is an asset and source of jobs for the whole area.

Room Tip: Go for a "superior room" if you want a lot of space, but the ordinary rooms are ample for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Dumfries House Hotel: A small hotel (soon to be enlarged) in the grounds of Dumfries House. Accommodation beyond excellent, comfortable six foot + bed, lovely furnishings and fittings, extremely high standard. Huge bathroom with shower and large bath. Double washbasin. Antique prints and pictures on he walls. Very attentive staff. Excellent breakfast. If you are visiting Dumfries House it will be the best place to stay the night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gustav53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
1.7 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
501 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
129 reviews
12.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,148 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
87 reviews
7.8 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dumfries House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dumfries House Lodge

Address: Dumfries House Dumfries House Estate, Cumnock KA18 2NJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cumnock
Price Range: £60 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dumfries House Lodge was officially opened by HRH The Duke of Rothesay, Prince Charles on 4th April 2012. Sitting on the edge of 2,000 acres of the Dumfries House estate and only a few hundred metres from Dumfries House itself, Dumfries House Lodge is an exclusive country Guest House offering luxury accommodation. Built in 1750 and in use a few years prior to the completion of Dumfries House, the ‘Garden Cottage’ as it was known in the 18th century, became the Factor’s house and remained so for over 200 years. We encourage our guests to think of their stay as a home-from-home and to make good use of our facilities during their stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing