We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very enjoyable stay”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were attending a function within the hotel and decided to stay overnight to avoid the drive home.we arrived early so we decided to have lunch before checking in.Lunch was lovely and staff very pleasant and attentive.
Our room was beautiful and very comfortable.
one tiny point: lighting is very subdued so makes completing make up and hair difficult.
a beautiful breakfast was served the following morning.
I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely go back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Leanne

We are always happy to hear that our guests have a comfortable and pleasurable day. Even more so when they enjoy the food, so we are please that your stay was a successful and happy one.

We look forward to seeing you when you come back.

Warm Regards
R. Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    47
    11
    7
    7
See reviews for
43
43
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Great place to go for a meal and would def recommend it.. Food is brilliant esp the chicken tempura.friendly staff, reasonable priced and restaurant, toilets etc always clean. Also good place to go for a drink aswell

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ClairebearAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Claire.

We are very glad that you came along to our hotel for something to eat and enjoyed thoroughly. The chicken tempura happens to be a favourite among our staff and regulars.

We hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
R. Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesmahagow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the royal hotel. The room was spacious and spotless. The meals were delicious and good value. Staff and locals were very friendly. One of the nicest hotels ive had booked in scotland. Would highly recommend the royal hotel. Thanks for the great service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yardl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay in out quaint little hotel. It really is the heart of the community here and we see that you met the locals. Also very happy that you enjoyed the rooms and the food when you stayed.

We hope it isn't too long before we get to look after you again.

Warm Regards
R. Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltcoats
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Had intended to go to the Lochside Hotel for lunch but found out through recommendation that the Royal Hotel has the same owner and was worth a visit. Food was very good (would have like a few more chips on the plate !) and clean plates all round was testimony to this. Service was also very friendly and the restaurant, toilets etc were all very clean. It may not have the nice views and countryside location of the Lochside Hotel but we would go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochwoodfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guest

Its always nice to hear that one of our hotels has been recommended from someone to another. We take pride in setting a high standard across all of our hotels to ensure a first class experience no matter where the visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and hope that you come and visit us again soon.

Warm Regards
R. Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire scotland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

had Christmas dinner here with my wife and daughter, so no comment on the rooms.
this is the second time we have had Christmas dinner and I cannot fault it at all, both meals were very good and enjoyable with a good selection on the menu.
we have been in here quite a few times throughout the year for our lunch and have never been disappointed , and the service is always excellent.
if you are travelling and looking for somewhere to eat , then this is it, fully recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Five star review.

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Royal Hotel Cumnock. Feedback is most important to us it’s great to read such a fantastic review. I am delighted to hear of the high levels of customer experience you received.

Hope to see you back in the future,

Kind Regards


Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had visited here in the summer and it was not a pleasant one, the owner contacted us to resolve our issues and we returned at his expense for another meal.
What a difference !! The meal was first class with first class service, despite the hotel having two other functions on and a busy dining room.
Thank you Mr Kyle and we would not hesitate to return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doogly5262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit at the Royal Hotel Cumnock. I am delighted to hear how you enjoyed your meal.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clydebank United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed in this hotel we were attending wedding in nearvy sister hotel The Lochside , can honestly say this Hotel is clean with tea/coffee making facilities, excellent size great large bathroom also!
The staff were excellent could not do enough to help ensure you have a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was lovely, presented by once again , by very friendly staff
Overall enjoyable stay although brief
Excellent

Room Tip: We were in room 3 lovely big window overlooking town centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmanley30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert K, Owner at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for leaving such a great review of your recent stay at the Royal Hotel.

So nice to read such great feedback, delighted to hear how you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Kyle
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cumnock
3.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,110 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
76 reviews
13.9 mi away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
584 reviews
13.8 mi away
Western House Hotel
13.5 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 Glaisnock Street, Cumnock KA18 1BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Cumnock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cumnock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hotel was built in 1892 by Mr R J Barrowman, and has proven over the years to be a figurehead of Cumnock Town Centre. The hotel with it’s Victorian Façade has been extensively refurbished by the current owners, Mr & Mrs Kyle, with a few of the original features retained creating a more contemporary feel with a comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. All those who have frequented the Royal, past and present have welcomed the results. The refurbishment was culminated in 2006 with the completion of the Royal Sports Bar located on the ground floor, which has a spacious bar, area air conditioning and TVs, showing most major sporting events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing