We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mekong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quite Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Relaxed and quiet and everything I expected . Staff are happy and obliging. Sits right on the river and the visit to the local village and markets is an eye opener. It's a shame the waterways are getting so polluted I think this will start putting tourists off . The river traffic runs all night and its busy but not intrusive. It's certainly worth the visit. My surprise was you can only practically get to it by boat I assumed it was a drive to the front door ?... Note to self , read all the details next time !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    179
    41
    10
    2
See reviews for
158
292
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for the one night package having booked from Ho Chi Minh City. We were collected from our hotel arriving late morning then returned to HCMC the following afternoon. Mekong Lodge is unique, the rooms thatched bungalow type, set along or back from the river amongst gardens. The iteniary was led for us by Khoa. He was a wonderfully nice, helpful guide who clearly cares about his community. He took us on bikes, boats, markets and local villages. The only slightly disappointing thing was the floating market at Cai Be. There's not much left of it compared to the past. However all the activities were very interesting. The food was all included at the resort and was of a high standard. Any mosquito problems are addressed with staff putting nets over the bed at night time. It was such a unique experience and made especially memorable by Khoa.

Room Tip: We were away from the river and slept soundly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CWDilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Had a very good recent stay. Tour guide from hotel good and very flexible as I didn't cycle. Meals are 5 courses and excellent.Cooking class and carrot carving fun. Rooms with the small pools are the best and worth it.There is noise from the river as it is a busy river.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VickiUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the lodge for one night and we would be glad to stay there for another week. Friendly atmosphere, very hoping standards of professionalism and quality, spacious rooms, amazing gardens, bicycles and more... But boats passing the whole time outside the room and karaoke nights organized in those boats make life really difficult especially at nights..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EMICH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krapkowice, Poland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Luxurious resort located at the river bank. Nice small houses, some of them with smaal private swimming pool. This is Mekong so you can observe live on the river but remember it is noisy all the time. Exteremely friendly staff can arrange everything you want: biking, boat, dinner, ...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JarekMk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We travelled to Mekong Lodge with car service from Saigon, arriving there from a big city. No words can explain the beaty and calmness walking into this resort. The garden was covered plants and flowers, our bungalow had a little private pool and the only noises you heard were from the nature! The bathroom was outside but discrete, We had two nights there and one on Le Cohchichine cruise, we asked the hotel if they could help us with transfer to a bus station that could take us to Rah Gia, they actually arranged everything! Private driver to the busstation, and tickets to Rach Gia, also trasfer from there to our hotel, yes we was surpised! We had our own guide, shared with another family of four who took us on bisycle trips around the village, and to the the floating marked. Seeing the way people lived there, and the nature of this place was unforgettable!! Also the guide did all he could to make our stay perfect, his name was Hau.
We had five courses every day, both for lunsj and dinner, included in the bill, amazing food! And the drinks was really cheap. Our trip on the cruise is also recommened, we shared a cruise with only 6 other people, the boat was beautiful, and the crew and guide, Khuu Tinh Kiet, was more than helpful! Even had a free footmassage on the top of the boat after an advanture around the river.
We can highly recommend this trip to everone! I never seen anything like this, and have memories for life.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

After cycling the whole day we were staying at the Mekong Lodge. Nice room with a lot of space and a very nice view on the river. People are friendly but a little laid back. Dinner as well as breakfast were a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Detlef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cai Be
16.9 mi away
The Island Lodge
The Island Lodge
#1 of 10 in My Tho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
#2 of 10 in Ben Tre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Happy Family Guesthouse
Happy Family Guesthouse
#2 of 11 in Vinh Long
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Riverside Lodge
Coco Riverside Lodge
#1 of 11 in Vinh Long
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
6.2 mi away
Phuong Thao Homestay
Phuong Thao Homestay
#2 of 15 in Vinh Long
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Lodge

Property: Mekong Lodge
Address: Dong Hoa Hiep | Cai Be, Cai Be, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Tien Giang Province > Cai Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place for those who love nature and wish to discover a real Vietnam that is left untouched by modernization. Mekong Lodge was built in typical housing architecture in Mekong Delta: bungalows with thatched roofs, complete with private terraces and gardens. A stay at Mekong Lodge to take a pause from busy life, to refresh soul with fresh air and pure nature, and to live like a local without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mekong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing