We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want peace and tranquility in the real Vietnam GO HERE !!!”
Review of Mekong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mekong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If you want peace and tranquility in the real Vietnam GO HERE !!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

From the moment you are met at your hotel in HCMC you are given the feeling of something different. The smiles, the care and the attention to detail is second to none. Enjoy the 2 hr approx car ride to Cai Be where you will be met by your guide who will take care of you your whole stay. If you can request Khoa (pronounced Kwa), as your guide, do so. He is very knowledgable, very welcoming and just a great guy. Sit back and relax on the 10 min boat ride to the Mekong Lodge.
If you want to stay for a short stay on the Mekong, then the 3 day / 2 night package here is the one. Yes it is regimented in the times for meals and tours but you always have time between to relax and do nothing or go for a walk. The new wing has a plunge pool in front of your room so also request one of these. Please keep in mind that the plunge pool is filled with clear and safe bore water from underground and that the water is warm to hot so if you are there in April like us, you get very little relief from the heat. The air con in the room is really cold so that's where you can cool down.
As this is in the middle of the Mekong Delta, it is set up so that you get the whole feel of the place so no TV and no mini bar or coffee/tea making facilities in your room. Nevertheless, the staff will go out of their way for you to get you anything. Free wifi is available in the restaurant but doesn't reach your room but hey, you should be there to relax.
All I can say is that from Mr Tung down to the local workers, nothing is too much trouble and the staff can do no wrong.
If you haven't visited Vietnam before, know this, the beds are hard so get used to it and don't complain. The staff here are only local villagers so treat them the way you want to be treated and finally, tell them if there is something they can improve on as they take your careful, considerate recommendations on board.
Overall, the experience is so good that we will be going again to see our new friends.
Thank you Mr Tung and a big thank you to Khoa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with plunge pool in front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hunted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    376
    181
    41
    11
    2
See reviews for
162
298
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Living now in HCM CIty, I am used to go there when I need a 2-3 days break.
Place is nice and confortable. Service is at the top. And food is OK, yet not exceptionnal.
Choose a room in the garden since the riverside might be noisy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We enjoyed our time at mekong lodge however I think they are trying to deliver what they think tourists want to see and sometimes miss the mark. They appear to follow the same set formula re timing for dinner, times for trips etc without flexibility. They totally overdeliver on the food with 5 course lunches and dinners. Perhaps a buffet may work better?

The highlights were the bike rides through local villages and fruit trees. Mr Khoa was an excellent guide.

If you were a first time visitor to Asia then you will be impressed by mekong lodge and what it has to offer however if you a well travelled then you may find some of the activities a tad kitschy eg vegetable carving.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank queenminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We decided to start our Vietnam and Cambodia four week trip with two nights here to ease us into travelling with a relaxing couple of days, but ended up a little disappointed.

We were initially taken to a riverfront room, despite having requested a garden room due to the noise. We were then given a garden room right at the back of the complex, unfortunately there is a road with quite a bit of motorbike traffic behind the complex which we could hear, and we could also sometimes hear the music the security guard was playing in his hut, so it was not as peaceful as we had hoped. The room itself was fine, nothing special but perfectly adequate, though the hot water in the shower was a bit hit and miss. We did like the nice terrace with comfy seats in front of the room, and the grounds are beautifully landscaped. We also enjoyed sitting on the waterfront terrace in the sun and watching the river life. It may be that we erred in staying in the cheaper rooms, perhaps the newer pool rooms are better, and better value.

Food - we explained in advance we are fish-eating vegetarians, and again on our arrival, but we were still brought meat. Once we had made clear again we don't eat meat, we were simply served the same meals as everyone else, but without the meat. At the evening cookery class, it hadn't occured to them that we might not want to cook with meat, and so even thouh it would have been super-easy for them to put together some vegetarian dumpling and spring roll fillings, they didn't, and so we basically spent the class watching others prepare food. That said, the food we did have was nice. The atmosphere in the dining room was a bit weird; I think the newer rooms have their own dining area, perhaps that has a better atmosphere.

The afternoon trip we took to a music performance was quite cringeworthy, really touristy.

After all this we decided to only stay one night, and on the second night instead took the Mekong Emotion boat overnight trip to Can Tho, which we loved. You can board the boat right by the hotel, and they didn't penalise us for switching package.

Overall, if you're looking for a package trip to the Mekong Delta, don't have any dietary requirements, and can spend the extra money on the better room, then maybe come here. If you're looking for a more authentic experience, or have any slightly unusual requirements, maybe look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Beautiful grounds, pleasant professional staff make this a very nice break from the city. A four hour bus ride arriving to the lodge in time for lunch and a lovely bike tour. The meals were very well prepared and plentiful. The quieter bungalows are set back off of the river as there is traffic though much of the day and early evening. We were on the two night package as thought an 8 hour round trip would take away from a one day plan for relaxing. Second day bike tour off the beaten path was charming and easy riding as long as there wasnt much scooter traffic sharing the narrow paths. Our guide was caring and engaged. Would recommend to anyone seeking a nice side trip from Saigon.

Room Tip: Garden view to the back of the property is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piggoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Relaxed and quiet and everything I expected . Staff are happy and obliging. Sits right on the river and the visit to the local village and markets is an eye opener. It's a shame the waterways are getting so polluted I think this will start putting tourists off . The river traffic runs all night and its busy but not intrusive. It's certainly worth the visit. My surprise was you can only practically get to it by boat I assumed it was a drive to the front door ?... Note to self , read all the details next time !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for the one night package having booked from Ho Chi Minh City. We were collected from our hotel arriving late morning then returned to HCMC the following afternoon. Mekong Lodge is unique, the rooms thatched bungalow type, set along or back from the river amongst gardens. The iteniary was led for us by Khoa. He was a wonderfully nice, helpful guide who clearly cares about his community. He took us on bikes, boats, markets and local villages. The only slightly disappointing thing was the floating market at Cai Be. There's not much left of it compared to the past. However all the activities were very interesting. The food was all included at the resort and was of a high standard. Any mosquito problems are addressed with staff putting nets over the bed at night time. It was such a unique experience and made especially memorable by Khoa.

Room Tip: We were away from the river and slept soundly
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CWDilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cai Be
17.3 mi away
The Island Lodge
The Island Lodge
#1 of 10 in My Tho
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
21.8 mi away
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
#2 of 10 in Ben Tre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ben Tre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.2 mi away
Happy Family Guesthouse
Happy Family Guesthouse
#2 of 12 in Vinh Long
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coco Riverside Lodge
Coco Riverside Lodge
#1 of 12 in Vinh Long
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Lodge

Property: Mekong Lodge
Address: Dong Hoa Hiep | Cai Be, Cai Be, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Tien Giang Province > Cai Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place for those who love nature and wish to discover a real Vietnam that is left untouched by modernization. Mekong Lodge was built in typical housing architecture in Mekong Delta: bungalows with thatched roofs, complete with private terraces and gardens. A stay at Mekong Lodge to take a pause from busy life, to refresh soul with fresh air and pure nature, and to live like a local without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mekong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing