We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly remarkable and special place”
Review of Mekong Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mekong Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Certificate of Excellence
Birkerod, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable and special place”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had only one night at Mekong Lodge, and only wished we had more time!
The unique scenery at the Mekong River and the friendly staff, made it a special stay on our trip.
Especially our guide, mr Hau, did a fantastic job and helped us during our stay. His knowledge and personal touch was unique. Can be highly recommended, but don't be afraid of spiders and other insects!

Room Tip: Choose river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lene3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    184
    43
    11
    2
See reviews for
169
303
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mellor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From being met at the bus drop off, through all the activities and meals, the staff were friendly and attentive without being "in your face". The room was comfortable, bordering on luxurious, each having its own plunge pool within the flower filled garden. My family enjoyed the activities laid on which included a cooking lesson, a visit to a floating market, a cycle ride through the Delta countryside and a paddle in a San pan type canoe.

I see that a new swimming pool was being constructed, which will further enhance this venue.
We were made to feel special!

Room Tip: Other visitors say that the lodges next to the river are noises with the engine noises from river tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alvin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Mekong Lodge is a simple but beautiful little lodge on the Mekong River. The lodge itself is very pretty and nicely laid out...the rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable enough. Don't expect feather pillows and absolute silence - this is, after all, a rustic, country lodge by a working river. What you may expect though, is excellent food. We stayed here two nights, had all our meals at their restaurant and each meal was carefully prepared, well presented and delicious!

Service was impressive. We were picked up at our hotel in Saigon via private car, then met at Cai Be by a lodge manager/ guide, Mr. Qa, who was always on hand for the duration of our stay, coordinating our activities and answering pretty much any questions or requests we had.

Being a guest here was like being a guest of the entire surrounding village. When it suddenly rained very hard while we were in the middle of a bicycle ride, our guide knocked at a nearby house and we were quickly admitted inside, and soon we were chatting with and watching the homeowner peeling a huge basket of longan fruit. We enjoyed the visits to the various home-factories, a restaurant where we were entertained by a small troupe of singers/actors, and of course, the floating market. The cooking and fruit/ vegetable carving classes back at the lodge are also quite fun.

It was a great experience over-all, and I would recommend the Mekong Lodge to anyone interested in eating Vietnamese cuisine, exploring the Mekong and enjoying the warm hospitality of it's people. :-)

Room Tip: Choose a room with a private plunge pool - it's perfect after the end of a busy day outdoors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chimenebelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed only one night at the Mekong Lodge in two side-by-side huts with plunge pools. The rooms are simple and clean. The outside bath/toilet facilities gave a feeling of African lodges. Everything was in good working condition. The food for vegetarians is average. We absolutely loved boating, biking and walking in the area. We could see so much more than through the windows of our tour van. Be aware that the roosters crow nearly all night long. We slept poorly due to their crowing so ask where they are caged before selecting your room. A cup of tea before viewing the floating market would have been very nice but unfortunately service closes from 9pm until 7am and there is no tea pot in the rooms. Don't come here only for the floating market; it was rather disappointing as it was so small with very little "shopping" going on. We were, however, the only tourists viewing the market at 6:30am and that was great. Overall, I'd give 4 stars for the biking experience but only 3 for the overall stay at the lodge.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a fab time in this ecological resort. It was fantastic to discover the area around the lodge whith a guide. The guide, Khoa, was very friendly, humurous and showed a lot of details during the bicycle and the boat tour. In a cooking class and a carving class we learned about typical southern Vietnamese specialities. The trip to this lodge is worth its money and therefore highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quakers Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Mekong Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The facilities are fantastic, staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is absolutely amazing.
We really enjoyed our stay here and our tour guide Mr Hau was second to none. He is full of information and happy to share, he speaks very good english and gives a great insight to the everyday lifestyle of the local people of this area. I can't thank him enough for the time he spent with us and the knowledge he shared. I will certainly be visiting the lodge next time I'm in Vietnam and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrippa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked at the Mekong lodge for a relaxing stay - and that is exactly what we got. After a 2 hour drive we arrived from HCMC. The room was fantastic. The pool was bath water warm - which I loved. The bike ride was the highlight. I also enjoyed the morning tour of how they made wine rice, rice paper, and poprice. The brick making and sugar cane were okay, as was the island visit. Most importantly, there was no pressure to buy anything at these places.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cai Be
1.7 mi away
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
17.2 mi away
The Island Lodge
The Island Lodge
#1 of 10 in My Tho
284 reviews
21.8 mi away
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
Ben Tre Riverside Resort
#3 of 11 in Ben Tre
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Mekong My Tho Hotel
Mekong My Tho Hotel
#2 of 10 in My Tho
20 reviews
22.7 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#2 of 11 in Ben Tre
294 reviews
4.3 mi away
Happy Family Guesthouse
Happy Family Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Vinh Long
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Lodge

Property: Mekong Lodge
Address: Dong Hoa Hiep | Cai Be, Cai Be, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Tien Giang Province > Cai Be
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cai Be
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mekong Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place for those who love nature and wish to discover a real Vietnam that is left untouched by modernization. Mekong Lodge was built in typical housing architecture in Mekong Delta: bungalows with thatched roofs, complete with private terraces and gardens. A stay at Mekong Lodge to take a pause from busy life, to refresh soul with fresh air and pure nature, and to live like a local without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mekong Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing