We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dougie and Dot its all good very clean and a warm welcome”
Review of Oakland House

Oakland House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Draycott
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oakland House
Ranked #1 of 2 Draycott B&B and Inns
Liskeard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dougie and Dot its all good very clean and a warm welcome”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had the room at the back wow its spacious and comfortable with a modern fitted bathroom with lovely views across to Glastonbury from the bedroom window ,with a harty breakfast that sets you up nice to visit most attractions from a central location ,a pub within walking distance 10mins max for an evening meal with a very good menu.

Marcia was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble ,it was 5 star service though out the stay I would highly recommend this B+B to all of my friends .

Room Tip: the double/family room at the rear of the house was quiet and spacious with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Upon arrival, we were met by the owner who welcomed us with a hot drink which we had in the conservatory. The room we were given was large and airy with views of the garden and the Somerset levels, it also has ample car parking space. The service at breakfast was excellent with a variety of locally sourced food to choose from. The owner has a vast knowledge of the area and was able to point us to destinations we had not heard of as it is so centrally located. For anyone visiting the area, we would highly recommend this B&B because of the friendly welcome and pleasant stay. All in all, this was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our room was at the back of the house with a beautiful view over the Somerset Levels. The owner made us a cup of tea which we had in the lovely conservatory at the back of the house. She is very friendly and very informative about the area.
We slept very well due to the fact that the location of our room was at the back and quiet but the house is on quite a busy road so you could hear some traffic noise (though very little late at night)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

The super friendly family that run this Bed and Breakfast will truely do anything to accomodate your needs. All the rooms are clean with stunning views of the local countryside. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Family of four arrived after a very wet visit to Cheddar Gorge. Made very welcome on arrival. Excellent room, very large, double and two singles with en suite. Beautiful views of the garden and hills. Really good full English. Can't fault our stay at all. Extremely clean and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faringdon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Family of five arrived after a long day of cycling ( LeJog ) and immediately offered tea in tyhe conservatory overlooking the Somerset levels. All really clean & homely, lovely breakfast. Marcia happy do put a load of washing through the machine & drier. And the Rodney-Stoke Inn half a mile walk up the road does FANTASTIC food - and is really pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s10erd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Extremely high standard B and B, everything is spotlessly clean. Marcia makes you feel extremely welcome and does a great breakfast. Superb views over the Somerset Levels from the room at the back of the house , and it also very spacious. Lovely breakfast, all in all great valus and as a bonus it's in a great lcoation for the West Mendip Way. Look forward to staying again

Room Tip: Not sure of the name, but one of the rooms at the back is large and has great views - you can see Gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristol-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Draycott
3.9 mi away
Wookey Hole Hotel
Wookey Hole Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wookey Hole
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nyland Manor
Nyland Manor
#5 of 12 in Cheddar
61 reviews
2.0 mi away
Westbury Cross House
Westbury Cross House
#1 of 2 in Westbury-sub-Mendip
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Oak House Restaurant with Rooms
Show Prices

Been to Oakland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland House

Property: Oakland House
Address: Wells Road, Draycott BS27 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Draycott
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Draycott
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing