We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowcher”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hallatrow
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Station Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hallatrow B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed on a Wowcher deal 1st June 2014. Wanted a place a lay our heads after a full day at Cheddar Gorge, before travelling to Bude for a few days. Room adjacent to main Pub in separate block, which was spacious, clean and very good value for money. We dined in the carriage restaurant which was more than memorable. Fabulous nod to nostalgia of a bygone era. The food was delicious and the choice was beyond generous. Staff welcoming and so pleasant. We ate like Kings and we were stunned at the relatively moderate charge. So worth a visit and could not be happier to leave such a well deserved review. Sharon Ellis, Nottingham.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Bought an overnight stay as a Wowcher deal. Absolutely amazing stay here and the restaurant is a fantastic experience! All the staff are lovely - had a fantastic warm, Welsh, welcome which was lovely; the accommodation was brilliant and the carriage just such a wonderful idea - food absolutely gorgeous too! Will be coming again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our second stay at the Old Station Inn.
Quirky decor, well kept ales, delightful staff, fantastic food, brilliant service, clean and simple rooms.
Dining in the themed carriage is a must.
Busy on a Thursday evening says it all.
We will return again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were touring the West country and this place was ideał as it was close to chedder George. The rooms were very cheap with all that you need.
The landlady was very freindly and showed us round the room and let us chęck in early.
The pub is great really quirky with lots to look around, lots of trinkets hanging from the Wallis and cieling. The staff are great and there is a great range of well price drinks also a great beer garden.

The restaurant is a train carraige in the garden that has been attached to the pub. The food is excellent with a varied menu but make sure you go hungry as the portion size are large and so good you will really enjoy.

Great effort would love to return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank farrowp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We wanted to break our journey to Cornwall and this was about halfway. We agree with other comments. Our welcome from the Welsh landlady was charming. Our room ,in a building adjacent to the pub was fine and there was a generous provision of biscuits and tea making facilities. We ate in the restaurant which is a railway carriage attached to the pub. The meal was first class with generous portions and a great choice at reasonable cost. Service was very friendly and efficient. . The pub itself is quirky with trinkets galore and even the bonnet of an old Citroen protruding from the wall ! They deserve to succeed - we enjoyed it a lot and would definitely go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My partner booked us in here for the night and a meal, based on a Wowcher deal that she had found. She was very nervous, as she did not want me to be disappointed. No risk of that whatsoever!
On arrival, we booked in at the bar and were served by very welcoming members of staff. The room was clean, cosy and had well stocked tea and coffee facilities. The mattress was a little 'springy' but I had a good night sleep on it, so it cannot have been too bad.
After we had settled in, we headed for the bar to have a pre-meal drink. The pub itself has an eclectic mix of decorations, from the front of a Citroen car, railway memorabilia to beer mats from all around the UK. It provided a nice relaxed place to be.
Soon we were called into the restaurant, which is an old railway carriage. It is not furnished like a Orient Express Pullman, it is more like a cosy room with nice relaxing wingback like chairs. The food can only be described as amazing. The portions are very generous but somehow don't leave you feel like you have overeaten, even when you have had three courses. The house special chocolate mousses are a perfect example of this, highly recommended.
The staff are lovely and give the place a lovely family run atmosphere.
Last year we were looking for somewhere to stay overnight, when we went to the Bath Xmas Market. The Old Station Inn never came up in my searches, I wish it had but we will definately be returning with the kids for Xmas shopping in Bath and/or Bristol this year and will be recommending it to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A hidden gem with excellent service, fabulous food and an amazingly warm welcome.

This is not pub grub it is top end restaurant quality food befitting of all occasions. Our stay was as a special treat for my partner and the evening couldn't have been better.

The room was clean, cosy and had very well stocked tea and coffee facilities including takeaway cups which we thought were a great option for early starts. The towels were great - big and fluffy !!

We will be coming back with the children, friends and family. Highly recommended !!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsRobinson1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Old Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Station Inn

Address: The Old Station Wells Road | Hallatrow, Hallatrow, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Hallatrow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hallatrow
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Old Station Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing