We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best B&B we've stayed in”
Review of Wick House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wick House
Ranked #1 of 3 Stogumber B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 December 2013

It is rare you find a B&B that exceed all expectations but this is truly one of them, we had a one night stay in this fantastic part of the world. We were greeted at the door by both Philip and Sheila and from that moment on we were treated to the warmest of welcomes. we were shown to our rooms and then welcomed downstairs to Tea/coffee and some cake , how good does it get. The rooms were warm,spacious and full with all amenities that you could require. The offerings for breakfast were fantastic and fresh. It is without doubt one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had and if you are in somerset or north Devon you simply MUST visit wick house.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Was walking the Coleridge Way last weekend and stayed in Stogumber (which is slightly off the route) with Sheila at Wick House. She'd even booked a meal in the local pub for us. What a friendly lady, and what a lovely traditional B&B. Quiet, spacious rooms, with parking for a number of vehicles, smack in the middle of a quaint village with a great pub just up the road. Of special note - Breakfast! You can pre order almost anything you could possible want - and as we on a walking holiday we did. Needless to say the food was superb. PS Please don't tell anyone else how good this place is...I want to make sure there are rooms available when I go back!

Room Tip: All seemed great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We stayed at Wick House in July. Our welcome was warm, with tea and cake. Our ground floor room was spacious, dual aspect, with a DVD player as well as free view TV. The washing facilities were a magnificent wetroom.
The breakfast, with multi-choice, was magnificent- the best ever enjoyed in many years of international travel.
Being set in beautiful rural Somerset, Wick House must be as good as it can be!

Room Tip: Ask for room 9 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed in Wick House for 3 nights in August 2013, whilst attending a wedding in the area. Philip and Sheila gave us a great welcome with a pot of tea and some lovely home made cake - very much appreciated after our journey. The room (Room 8) was extremely comfortable and well appointed with a big bathroom. The breakfasts were superbe - everything you could want was on offer and beautifully cooked. Sheila and Philip were very helpful with things to do in the area. We wanted to walk and they were able to provide us with a map and helpful advice. All in all a thoroughly good bank holiday experience!

Room Tip: Room 8 was one of the cheaper rooms, but very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Wick House for one night earlier this week and cannot recommend it highly enough. Situated in the delightful village of Stogumber, this accommodation was ideally situated for our visit to Williton the following day.
Philip met us on arrival at around 3pm and we were treated to a wonderful tray of afternoon tea which included some of Sheila's scrumptious 'Rocky Road' and fruit flapjack slices. We relaxed in the wonderfully sheltered garden in the afternoon sun and lazily nattered as we swung on a comfortable lounger.
Our room, Room 3, at the front of the house was tastefully furnished leading into a spacious en-suite which was generously offered with excellent 'Eden' bath products surrounding a powerful shower and large bath.
The tea/coffee tray was well stocked and the additional treat of a few 'Celebrations' chocolates was a lovely touch!
We spent a very comfortable night in our four-poster bed and looked forward to breakfast which we had ordered the previous evening. Both Sheila and Philip go to a great deal of trouble to ensure their guests have exactly what they want and the range of muesli, cereal and yogurts was impressive. However, for us, the 'piece de resistance' was the full English breakfast which contained bacon, eggs, black pudding, succulent sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms and fried bread.......a veritable feast! I really appreciated the extra hot water supplied with every jug of filter coffee and the attention to detail in covering our toast selection in a rustic basket meant that it stayed fresh whilst we munched our cooked food!

Sheila and Philip offer a welcoming and hospitable stay, summarised succinctly in their advertisement as, 'a friendly informal atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation'. We will definitely return and thank both Sheila and Philip for an outstanding stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Spent our honeymoon at Wick House and it could not have been better. Lovely welcome - tea and homemade cake in the beautiful peaceful garden. The room was lovely, clean and bright. Sheila and Philip were so welcoming and friendly and made us feel at home. The cooked breakfast in the mornings set us up for the day. Cannot recommend Wick House highly enough, thank you to Sheila and Philip for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We had room 1 - bright and airy and a humungous bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at Wick House as part of a small group of photographers, the first time was two years ago and this time was just as good as then!

Lovely rooms in this delightful hodge-podge of a house (Tudor/Georgian and other bits!). Clean, tidy and comfy with excellent service from Sheila and Philip, including a proper West Country cream tea upon arrival. In case that doesn't fill you up there are chocolates and biscuits to have with more tea or coffee in your room. Then there are the breakfasts... Still, you're in good walking country to burn off the calories!

Can thoroughly recommend Wick House and it's a great place to base yourself for further exploration of this lovely area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Batti66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stogumber
4.9 mi away
Castle of Comfort Country House
2.9 mi away
Masons Arms Hotel and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Windmill Inn
The Windmill Inn
#11 of 53 in Taunton
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Combe House Hotel
Combe House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Holford
698 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#4 of 14 in Watchet
66 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wick House

Address: Brook Street, Stogumber TA4 3SZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Stogumber
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Stogumber
Price Range: £76 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wick House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wick House is a charming old family house in a picturesque West Somerset village.Situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty, Stogumber nestles between the Quantock and Brendon Hills of Exmoor National Park. A warm welcome awaits you from hosts, Sheila and Philip. We offer a friendly atmosphere and a high standard of accommodation.Disabled accommodation with wheelchair access is available.Breakfasts and evening meals are cooked on the premises using the best local foods available. Try Wick House for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wick House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing